Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)
In addition to Japan and Korea, these Central Intelligence Agency records also concern Australia, Burma, Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines. The records are mainly in the form of intelligence memos and there are a number of biographical reports. In the Far East section, memos from 1949 on Communist methods and vulnerabilities contain information on Indochina and the Malaysian Insurgency. The Indonesia section contains information on the confrontation between Indonesia and Malaysia from June 1950 to April 1951. Also concerning the Korean War are memos on the use of the atomic bomb and on the probability of direct Chinese intervention. The latter memos chart the Chinese build-up in Manchuria and suggest, before the event, that some form of Chinese intervention was likely.
FILM BOOK 0065 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
CIA research reports : Japan, Korea and the security of Asia, 1946-1976 ; [guide] 
The collection is arranged by country and then chronologically. Also available under call number DS518.8 .C2 1983.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
11 reel(s)
Dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports originating in the various United States diplomatic posts in Japan are included in this collection. The documents are arranged first by year, then chronologically under subject headings for that year. The subjects include commercial relations, relations of state, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics covered include: trade policies between Japan and other countries, German interests in China, neutral rights, financial conditions in Japan, agriculture, industry and transportation development in Japan, Japanese seizure of German possessions, and Japanese relations with China and Russia. These records are part of the National Archives record groups 59 and 84. Related National Archives collections available are Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29 (M 422), Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-1929 (M 423) and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29 (M 424).
FILM BOOK 0067 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 1, 1914-1918 [guide]
The guide contains a table of contents and a list of documents filmed. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C6 1983.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
50 reel(s)
The material in this collection is arranged by year and subject. Subject headings include relations of state, internal affairs, congresses and conferences, and commercial relations. Specific topics include agriculture and animal husbandry, Kellogg-Briand Peace proposal, relations with China, economic and financial conditions, relations with Canada, France, Germany, and the Soviet Union, and railroad development in Manchuria. The documents originated in the various diplomatic posts in Japan. These records are part of National Archives record groups 59 and 84. Related National Archives collections available are Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29 (M 422), Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-29 (M 423) and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29 (M 424).
FILM BOOK 0068 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 2, 1919-1929 [guide]
This guide contains a table of contents, a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C62 1983.
Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1984
80 reel(s)
This collection contains dispatches, letters, telegrams, and reports generated by United States diplomatic posts in Japan and on file in the United States Embassy in Tokyo. The material is arranged by year and then under the following subject headings: congresses and conferences, commercial relations, relations of state, protection of interests, and internal affairs of state. Specific topics include: agriculture and animal husbandry, financial conditions, foreign relations with Australia, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Mexico, the Philippines, the United States, and the Soviet Union, the Kellogg Pact, the Four Power Pact, Manchuko, the League of Nations, military and naval affairs, railways, trade relations, and the Washington Naval conference. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.
FILM BOOK 0069 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Japan. Part 3, 1930-1941 [guide]
The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E183.8.J3 C63 1984.
London: Public Record Office, 1967
9 reel(s)
Correspondence to and from British ministers to Japan dates from the relaxation of Japan's isolation policy through World War I. As the Japanese expanded their territorial influence, Great Britain and Japan forged a strong Anglo-Japanese alliance. England supported Japan in its bid against Russia for Korea and Manchuria. As an ally, Japan declared war on Germany in 1914, seizing German islands in the Pacific region. The relationship cooled after World War I as Great Britain and the United States formed a new coalition and Japan was not allowed to annex the seized German colonies. The correspondence deals with the establishment of a British consulate in Japan, the progress of trade agreements, commercial treaties, tariffs, the protection of British subjects, the relationship of Japan with other nations, and other diplomatic concerns.
The letters are arranged in chronological order. A list of correspondence at the beginning of each volume indicates the subject content.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
FILM 10:13 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951
3 reel(s)
The IMT series is a selection of titles from the complete file of documentary evidence at the International Prosecution Section, General Headquarters, Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers (General D. McArthur). The selection was made with the object of showing both the internal and external conditions and personalities that brought Japan into her disastrous war for the control of Asia. Holdings at Ellis include the Prince Konoye memoirs, the corporation law of the Central China Development Company, regulations of the South Seas Development Company, circumstances surrounding the Tripartite Alliance, principal reasons for the commencement of hostilities against the United States and Great Britain, a directive from the Vice-Minister of War, Kimura Hyotaro, concerning the disposal of enemy property in China, circumstances surrounding the establishment of the Wang Ching-Wei government, and Privy Council Proceedings dealing with the Manchurian incident and Bulgarian participation in the Tripartite Alliance. Most of the documents are accompanied by an English translation.
Selected microfilm reels (no. 6, 15, and 27).
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
FILM 10:10 - Request access
Guides:
Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951
The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951
123 reel(s)
This series contains documents of the Meiji and Taisho periods (1868-1912 and 1912-1926). It contains day-to-day correspondence and communications between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and its officials. Official despatches, additions, and confidential opinions reveal the Japanese perceptions and reactions to world events. They also illustrate the process of Japanese policy-making. Documents in Ellis Library's holdings relate to the balance of power of the East Asian countries, Korea after the Sino-Japanese War, a severance of formal negotiations with China as a result of the abdication of the Emperor at the time of the Chinese Revolution, negotiations between Japanese consuls and the British government from 1902 to 1905, diplomatic relations between China and Korea, United States and British relations, Russo-British negotiations, declarations of Russia regarding Manchuria (1898-1901), political conditions in Europe, the neutrality of Manchurian railways, a Sino-Japanese peace treaty in 1895, and maneuvers of the United States Navy in the Pacific (1923-1926).
FILM 10:6-8 - Request access
Guides:
Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951
11 reel(s)
Matsumoto Tadao, who served several times as Parliamentary Vice-Minister, ordered copies made of important documents for his own use during his term of office in the Meiji and Taisho period. Ellis Library's holdings include documents on the supplementary Sino-Japanese treaty of commerce and navigation, attitudes of various countries toward China at the time of the Chinese Revolution, new agreements between China and Russia concerning Manchuria, neutrality problems of the Manchurian railways, neutrality of various countries during the Russo-Japanese War, Japanese-British relations, and the Chinese Eastern Railway problem.
Reels 5-14 and 43
FILM 10:9 - Request access
Guides:
Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951
The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951
12 reel(s)
This series consists mainly of printed and mimeographed studies prepared by members of the Ministry for desk use. Although secondary studies, they contribute to an understanding of the development of Japanese policy. In some cases they contain quoted material no longer available in archival form. Subjects in Ellis Library's holdings include a history of Japanese-American relations up to 1924, a history of Russo-Chinese negotiations relating to the restitution of Manchuria, problems of the international control of Chinese railways, the consolidation of an anti-Japanese front by the Communist Party in Manchuria based on Russian sources, an account of political parties and groups in China, and a directory of Japanese people employed by the Chinese government.
(no. 1-12 of a series of 185 reels)
FILM 10:9 - Request access
Guides:
Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951
The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951
The telegrams are communiques between Foreign Service officers in the field and the Minister in Tokyo. With only a few breaks, they present a continuous record of Japanese diplomacy from 1873 to 1917. In the earlier period the telegrams were written in English longhand. Later, they were written in code, and finally they were typewritten in Japanese characters. Ellis Library has reels covering the period from 1909 to 1912.
Reels 113-158
FILM 10:9-10 - Request access
Guides:
Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951
The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1951
13 reel(s)
The Treaty Series consists of reproductions of the original treaties. The series contains four subdivisions: Russo-Japanese treaties, Manchoukuoan-Japanese treaties, Sino-Japanese treaties, and a miscellaneous collection. The various documents include the agreement of 1898 between Japan and Russia concerning the Korean problem, a memorandum concerning hydro-electric enterprises on the Yalu and Tumen Rivers, a treaty of commerce and navigation concluded in 1903 between Japan and China, notes concerning Manchurian railway loans, and a protocol between French Indo-China and Thailand establishing the border.
FILM 10:10 - Request access
Guides:
Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945 : microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951
The guide provides a document checklist with reel references.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Special Studies Series
4 reel(s)
Forty special studies commissioned by the federal government from extra-governmental “think tanks” comprise the collection of studies. The papers discuss political, economic, and military matters regarding Japan, Korea, and East Asia in general. The papers were all written between 1970 and 1980, but a few are concerned with the implications of prior events. The papers are divided into three discrete sections: East Asia, Japan, and Korea. Topics covered include the Japanese economy, Japanese nuclear weapons, Korean reunification, and security issues within the region.
FILM BOOK 0086 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Japan, Korea, and the security of Asia, special studies, 1970- 1980 [guide]
The annotated guide provides author, title, author’s institutional affiliation, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS518.1 .J35 1981.
Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1983
2 reel(s)
The Political Reorientation of Japan contains a series of reports by various authors on the first three years of the allied occupation, with an introduction by General Douglas MacArthur and foreword by Brigadier General Courtney Whitney. The twelve sections cover such subjects as the constitution, the national Diet, popular elections, and political parties and education. There is an index of names and subjects at the end of the reel.
FILM BOOK 0209 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 426; v. National Archives record group 59.
43 reel(s)
Documents concerning the changing political situation in Japan during the World War I years and concerning political parties, elections, riots and political conspiracies comprise the largest group of records in this Department of State decimal file. Other documents relate to Japanese military activities abroad, the Tokyo-Yokohama earthquake in 1923, financial affairs, including assistance to various cities and enterprises in Japan, and merchant vessels. Sub-topics that relate to Japanese internal affairs include government, visits of Japanese vessels to other nations, patents, trademarks, copyrights, immigration, emigration, and the public press.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the filmed documents is on reels 1-3 of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.
FILM 5:14 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 424; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
This collection contains records from the decimal file of the Department of State concerning political relations between Japan and nations other than the United States in the period from 1910 to 1929. It consists primarily of instructions and dispatches from United States diplomatic and consular officials in Japan and other states. Also included are memoranda prepared by officials of the Department and correspondence with officials of other government departments, private firms, and individuals. The records relate to the foreign policy of Japan and treaties and agreements between Japan and other states. Included are items concerning Japanese relations with Great Britain, Russia, and Korea (which was annexed by Japan in 1910). There is also material on extraterritoriality and Japanese interests in Manchuria.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State relating to Political Relations Between Japan and Other States, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 5:14 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 423; v. National Archives record group 59.
9 reel(s)
Diplomatic and consular despatches, notes between the Department of State and Japanese diplomatic representatives in the United States, and memoranda by State Department officials comprise this decimal file. Records located under the general heading "Relations Between the United States and Japan", discuss anti-American feelings in Japan, anti-Japanese feelings in the United States, and the Gentlemen's Agreement of 1908 in connection with such topics as picture brides and adopted children as well as various rumors of war between the United States and Japan. Other topics include commerce, navigation, extraterritoriality, naturalization, immigration, relations between Hawaii and Japan, and relations between the Philippines and Japan.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Japan, 1910-1929 is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents is on the first reel and serves as a finding aid. The documents are arranged by subject using the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 5:14 - Request access
