Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Honduras, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 647; v. National Archives record group 59.
49 reel(s)

The turbulent political situation and the almost continuous revolutionary activity in Honduras during this period is the subject of approximately one half of this decimal file. Included are discussions of boundary disputes and border troubles with El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Guatemala, revolutionary movements originating from those neighboring countries and from Mexico, movements of United States naval vessels in Honduran waters, German activities in Honduras in World War I, shipment of arms and munitions to Honduras from the United States, and the participation of Sumner Welles in a conference to mediate the revolution of 1924. Another large group of records relate to financial affairs, specifically the proposed adjustment of the Honduran debt by the United States, loan negotiations and agreements between Honduras and the J. P. Morgan Company, and other United States banks, settlement of Honduras' foreign debt, and loans to Honduras by various fruit companies.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Honduras, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. It precedes the complete list of documents on reels 1-2 of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:4-5

West Indies Records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 1710-1908.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Limited, 1984
British records relating to America in microform
19 reel(s)

The material in this collection covers the growth of the Society and its work in the Bahamas, Jamaica, Barbadoes, Antigua, Trinidad, British Guiana (Guyana), Honduras, and the Mosquito Coast. A central issue for several reels concerns the Codrington bequest to the Society for creation of an institution to convert and educate slaves.

FILM 22:12-13

Guides:

West Indies records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, c. 1710-1908 [guide] PDF

The guide contains the provenance of the collection, background information on the Society and a description of its records, a list of contents for each reel and a bibliography of related works, both primary and secondary. The guide is reproduced at the beginning of reel one. Also available under call number BX5611.W47 W4 1984.