Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Eichmann, Adolf 1906-1962. Adolf Eichmann: Papers Relating to Adolf Eichmann Compiled by the Weiner [I.E. Wiener] Library, London, 1961.

London: Micro Methods, 1961 
1 reel(s)

Papers spanning the period from 1934 to 1960 relate to Adolf Eichmann's role as a member of the Gestapo. Wartime papers discuss the evacuation of Jews and Poles from the eastern territories and France, Belgium, and Holland, the deportations to Auschwitz, and attempts to prevent the emigration of Jews to Palestine. Postwar documents reveal Eichmann's role in the extermination of the Jews at Auschwitz and other concentration camps, and the use of forced labor. Arranged chronologically, most of the documents are in German, with a few of the later reports in English. The index provides short English summaries.

An index at the beginning of the reel indicates the contents of each document.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Belgium, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 675; v. National Archives record group 59.
78 reel(s)

The microfilm contains dispatches sent to the Department of State by the American diplomatic representatives in Belgium for the years 1910-1929. The largest part of the material consists of weekly political reports dealing with current developments such as elections, cabinet changes, civil unrest, activities of political parties and trade unions, international negotiations, and Walloon-Flemish conflicts. Other dispatches deal with the royal family, the organization of government, the legislature and judiciary, public health, military and naval affairs, social matters, education, American relief for the war damaged areas, financial and economic statistics, labor relations, industry and agriculture, communication and transportation, and the press. There is also material relating to the situation in the Belgium Congo in this decimal file.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Belgium, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. It is also filmed at the beginning of the collection along with a complete list of the documents included in the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:7-8 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Belgium and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 677; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)

Most of the records reproduced in this decimal file concern efforts made by the Belgian government to obtain post-World War I international agreements favorable to the integrity and to the sovereignty of the Belgian nation. There is correspondence relating to the dispute with the Netherlands on sovereignty over the Wielingen channel and negotiations for revision or abrogation of the treaties of 1839 regarding Belgian claims to an adequate inland waterway to the Rhine, the questions of recognition of the government of the Soviet Union and the resumption of political and commercial relations with her, regulations and control of frontier traffic and border trade with Germany, activities of the German-Belgian Boundary Commission, negotiation for treaties of commerce and navigation and of extraterritoriality, and the abrogation by China of the Sino-Belgian Treaty of 1865.

An introduction to the collection and a complete list of the documents included precedes the filmed documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:8 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Belgium, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 676; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The Department of State decimal file related to political relations between the United States and Belgium contains documents concerned with the negotiation, ratification, termination, and violation of treaties. Treaties that would give Belgium aid in case of attack by Germany and a treaty guaranteeing the neutrality of Belgium are documented as are the treaties of arbitration, renunciation of war, air navigation, and naturalization. The 1891 Treaty of Commerce and Navigation between the United States and the Belgian Congo was terminated as it conflicted with the Seaman's Act. The Neutrality Treaty was violated when a United States citizen, Paul Mason, led an expedition to the Congo for the purpose of seizing the Belgian-held area for Germany. There is also a discussion of cession of the Belgian Congo to the United States for war debt reparation.

An uncataloged guide, Record of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Belgium, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:8 - Request access