Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Guatemala, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 655; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)

The largest single group of documents in this Department of State decimal file relates to Guatemalan political affairs, which include the political unrest under President Manuel Estrada Cabrera, the activities of the Unionist party, the overthrow of President Cabrera, and general political conditions under his successors, President Carlos Herrera, General Jose Maria Orellano, and President Lazaro Chacon. Other documents discuss revolutionary activities of Honduras in Guatemala, entrance of Guatemalan military bodies into the United States, and the flights of Guatemalan Army aviator Jacinto R. Diaz to capitols of Central America and Panama. Documents relating to economic matters discuss banks and banking, taxation, and land concessions. Agriculture, mining, manufacturing, and transportation are also discussed.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Guatemala, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide is reproduced preceding the complete list of the documents that comprise reels 1-2 of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:5-6