Frederick, M.D.: University Publications of America, 1985
The material in this collection is arranged topically. The first seven reels are devoted to political affairs. The remaining information is arranged under such headings as public order, military and naval affairs, social and economic matters, industrial matters, communication and transportation, navigation, public press, and the sciences. Topics include agriculture, aviation, China, education, race problems, entertainment, and labor unions. The documents are from National Archives record group 59, records of the Department of State decimal files.
The guide contains a table of contents, reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS550 .C6 1985.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
The majority of documents in this Department of State decimal file relates to internal political and national defense affairs in Indochina, Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Other records are concerned with economic, industrial, and social affairs including agriculture, manufacturing, public order and safety, communication, and transportation. Specific topics documented are the Economic Cooperation Administration Program in Indochina, Communism in Indochina, the Mutual Security Program in Laos, Indochina, and Cambodia, the growing of rice and alkaloidal plants, and the mining of atomic minerals. The documents in this collection are from National Archives record group 59.
The guide provides a reel table of contents and a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 335; v. National Archives record group 59.
The documents in this decimal file cover the period of increasing anti-British agitation in India. Consequently the reports deal mainly with the activities of individuals and groups struggling for Indian home rule. There is information concerning civil unrest, non-cooperation campaigns, and tribal uprisings in the Northwest and Northeast. The dispatches also report on political trials and suppression of the nationalist movement led by the Indian National Congress. The dispatches devote attention to the activities of Indian students in the United States and to communist propaganda inside India. Other topics dealt with include the war with Afghanistan in 1919, communal and religious conflicts in India (between Hindus, Muslims, and Sikhs), government, the judiciary and police organization, and the economic file of the country.
Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications, pp. 74-75 provides a summary of reel contents. A complete list of the documents included is on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.
FILM 3:13 - Request access
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 344. National Archives record group 59.
This small Department of State decimal file reproduces documents that discuss India's relations with Turkey, Abyssinia (Ethiopia), and Afghanistan. It also contains discussion of agreements made by Great Britain that effected India's relations with Afghanistan. The majority of the documents relate to negotiations between India and Afghanistan to settle disputes over trade subsidies, transportation of arms across borders, the establishment of foreign consuls in each country, and the control of Waziristan. A 1923 Indo-Afghan border violation is also discussed. Other issues covered in the file are Indian Moslems' fight for freedom, India's posture in the event of Great Britain's participation in a war with Turkey, and the attack by Ethiopian soldiers on a British caravan carrying supplies and mail to visiting British and Ethiopian officials.
A complete list of the documents in this collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 4:2 - Request access