Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 411; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)

The changing political situation in Ethiopia is the principal subject of the documents in this Department of State decimal file. Other records relate to petroleum exploitation and petroleum concessions, and to the proposed construction of the Lake Tsana Dam. There are also letters, memoranda and other papers that discuss Bolshevik activities, King Tafari and the royal family, the government of Ethiopia, military affairs, registration of commercial firms in Ethiopia, the banking monopoly by Bank of Abyssinia, the proposed Italian irrigation project on Wai Shebeli River, and postal service between Ethiopia and Italy as well as between Ethiopia and Japan.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel of the collection preceding the complete list of the documents included. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State’s decimal classification system.

FILM 5:12 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 412; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The United States desired a presence in Ethiopia equal to that of Great Britain, Italy, and France in order to gain oil concessions and protect American missionary enterprises in Addis Ababa. These decimal file papers explore the potential for investment of American capital in the construction of railways and roads and in the opening of oil and mineral concessions. They also cover the negotiations and ratifications of various treaties. In 1914 a treaty of commerce and navigation provided for protection of travel, use of telegraph and transportation facilities, and other means of facilitating trade. The treaties of 1928-1929 deal with arbitration, conciliation, and the renunciation of war.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. It is also reproduced at the beginning of the reel. A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State’s decimal classification system.

FILM 5:12 - Request access