Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Germany, Internal Affairs, 1930-1941.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1984
59 reel(s)

The confidential files in this Department of State decimal file on Germany (National Archive record group 59) include reports on the domestic political situation in Germany, military and naval affairs, the police organization, the functioning of the juridical system, the economy, social matters (such as sports, customs, manners, and dress), finance, the communications system, the press, communist activities, government organization and personnel. Most of the information comes from American diplomatic representatives in Germany. With the outbreak of the Second World War the reports deal increasingly with the development of military situations in continental Europe and with naval warfare.

FILM BOOK 0015 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central files : Germany internal affairs, 1930-1941 PDF

The documents are arranged chronologically. The guide provides a reel index and a subject index. Also available under call number Z2240 .C6 1984.

Deutsches Musikgeschichtliches Archiv. Archiv Microfilm.

Kassel: Barenreiter, 1955 
550 reel(s)

3495 titles.

The Library has titles 1/1-2/1254 as described in the Katalog.

FILM 4D21: 23:4 – 23:14 - Request access

Guides:

Deutsches Musikgeschichtliches Archiv. Katalog der Filmsammlung.

Germany. Auswartiges Amt. [Aktenzeichen] Russland 61: Allgemeine Angelegenheiten Russlands.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 139; v. National Archives record group 242
2 reel(s)

reels 147-148
Selected reels from the microfilmed records of the German Foreign Ministry Archives (1867-1920) relate to Russia and Rumania. Telegrams, letters, and reports describe Russian domestic and military affairs from March 20, to October 28, 1918. In the spring of 1918, Russia withdrew from World War I and began peace talks with Germany. On March 3, Russia and Germany signed the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk. The Bolsheviks had gained control of the government, but during the summer, civil war continued between the Communists and the anti-Communists. Nicholas II and his family as well as Count von Mirbach, the German ambassador, were assassinated. The papers provide a German perspective on the events during that period. The National Archives title of this collection is Records of the German Foreign Office Received by the Department of State from the University of California (Project 1) and are part of their collection of Foreign Records Seized 1941-.

FILM 8:14 - Request access

Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Papers of German Diplomats. (Nachlasse and Asservate), 1833-1927. (American Historical Association Project II).

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 291; v. National Archives record group 242.
3 reel(s)

Selected microfilm reels contain the papers of various German diplomats. On reel five, the Paul Weitz papers include correspondence related to his business interests in Constantinople (Istanbul). They also contain letters from the families of the Prince of Ratibor and Corvey and the Prince of Schonborg-Waldenburg. The Hans Rudolf Erick von Miguel papers contain essays about Paris, St. Petersburg (Leningrad), and Constantinople. On the sixth reel, the papers of Paul von Hintze an envoy to Peking who became a state-secretary in 1918, contain material from a committee of inquiry into the possibilities of peace in 1917. The papers also explore Papal peace efforts, peace with France and Italy, and private peace initiatives. On the seventh reel, papers originally belonging to Crown-Prince Friedrich Wilhelm, discuss politics from 1879 to 1881 and the assassination of Alexander II of Russia. Other papers on the final reel belonged to Sass, head of the library and political archives of the German Foreign Ministry, and Magnus, who wrote reports on Mexico in 1866 and 1877. The papers are part of the National Archives' collection of seized World War II enemy records.

3 selected microfilm reels (no. 5, 6, 7). Each section is preceded by a table of contents.

FILM 9:5 - Request access

Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Notes from the Legations of the German States and Germany in the United States to the Department of State, 1817-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 58; v. National Archives record group 59.
35 reel(s)

Notes, with enclosures, consist chiefly of communications from the German Foreign Office, from German consuls, and from private citizens in the United States. They deal with the general relations between Prussia and the United States, wider diplomatic questions, and commercial and legal difficulties of private citizens. Topics include shipping, trade and tariffs, international conferences, specific criminal cases, and Germans who serving in the American military. The languages used are French, German, and English. Documents in German are accompanied by brief notes in English indicating their subject content.

An uncataloged guide, Notes From the Legations of the German States and Germany in the United States to the Department of State, 1817-1906, available in the Special Collections Office, indicates the date span for each reel. The first reel, from 1817 to 1848, covers notes from the Prussian legation. It has its own introduction, followed by a list of correspondence with subject notations.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Records of the German Foreign Office Received by the Department of State from St. Antony’s College.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 136; v. National Archives record group 242.
6 reel(s)

The German Foreign Ministry was responsible for the relations between Germany and foreign countries as well as between the German states. The files in this collection provide information on foreign relations between September 1912, and September 1919. The files consist mainly of correspondence between embassies and the government in Berlin. They include newspaper articles, telegrams, and notes from ambassadors, key figures, and private citizens involved in political events. The files on foreign countries focus on the relationship of Germany to Russia, Italy, Rumania, Austria, and the Ukraine, general and marine affairs in Russia, Russian statesmen, and the administration of occupied territories in Serbia during the war. The following is a brief summary of reel contents: Reel 33, Deutschland 131 secr, Oesterreich 92, Ministerien, Italien; Reel 83, Deutschland 131, Weltkrieg Nr 14d; Reel 85, Rumanien 1; Reel 101, Ukraine; Reel 130, Russland 72b; and Reel 131, Russland 82 Nr2. The papers are part of the National Archives collection of seized World War II enemy records.

6 selected microfilm reels (no. 33, 83, 85, 101, 130, 131).

FILM 8:14 - Request access

Guides:

American Historical Association. Committee for the Study of War Documents. A catalogue of files and microfilms of the German Foreign Ministry archives, 1867-1920.

The guide provides an organizational framework for the existing files. The inclusive dates of files, together with the reel and frame number of the microfilm project which filmed the file, make this a useful, although not complete, finding aid. Reels filmed by the St. Antony project have the prefix SA.

Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Records of the German Foreign Office Received by the Department of State [Whaddon Hall, Eng.].

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 120; v. National Archives record group 242.
35 reel(s)

The German Documents Project at the National Archives selected and filmed seized German records that illustrated German foreign policy, while the records were temporarily housed at Whaddon Hall in England. These assorted files of the German Foreign Ministry (or Office) from 1855 to 1945 discuss military affairs, foreign relations, and events leading up to World War II. The principal documents were later translated and printed in a series titled Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945 (353.8 S1.82). While the documents on the microfilm are arranged by subject according to the original classification of the German Foreign Ministry, the principal documents in the printed series are arranged chronologically.

35 selected microfilm reels. Reel 1A reproduces various indexing documents for sections of the collection. Also, CD1261.A65 Kent, George O. (ed.). A Catalog of Files and Microfilm of the German Foreign Ministry Archives 1920-1945 provides subject access to the entire collection of 5,055 reels, but does not provide a listing of contents of individual reels. Ellis Library's holdings currently are reels no. 1A, 1012, 1567-1574, 3154, 3429-3446, 3534-3537, 4177, and 4340-4341.

FILM 8:13-14 - Request access

Germany. Heer. Records of German Army Areas (Wehrkreise).

Washington, D.C: American Historical Association,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 79; v. National Archives record group 242
8 reel(s)

The records cover Wehrkreis VII, Munchen, to which Swabia, Upper Bavaria, and Lower Bavaria belonged, from 1909 to the early 1940s. Papers, circulars, orders, reports, and correspondence give instructions on such areas as personnel policy and the defense of army installations. Corps, divisional, and regimental orders relate to the infiltration of Austria, Czechoslovakia, and the Tyrol and provide relevant maps, war diaries, and statistics. Reel 53 contains newspaper clippings related to the charge of perjury brought against Oberleutnant Braun by Hauptmann A. D. Rohm. Reels 81 and 82 deal with such subjects as the air raids in Hamburg, the surrender of troops, and the effects of World War II on housing. The records are part of the National Archives' collection of seized World War II enemy records.

8 selected microfilm reels (no. 9, 33, 48, 49, 52, 53, 81, 82).
Vol. 34 of the guide provides notes on the contents of each reel in this collection.

FILM 8:11-12 - Request access

Guides:

Guides to German records microfilmed at Alexandria, Va.

The guide provides a detailed list of contents for each reel.

Germany. Reichsfuhrer SS und Chef der Deutschen Polizei. Records of the Reich Leader of the SS and Chief of the German Police.

Washington, D.C.: American Historical Association., 158
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 175; v. National Archives record group 242.
105 reel(s)

This collection reproduces the files of the RF-SS/Personlicher Stab, the RF-SS/Feldkommandostelle, and various other police and security agencies under the command of the Reich leader of the SS. Documents cover political plans and policies, diplomacy, military affairs, armament, manpower, ideology, genocide, and astrology, all matters of concern to Heinrich Himmler. The range of subjects reflect the variety of his activities. Specific subjects include anti-semitism, the use of prisoners for slave labor, German intelligence work, Nazi movements in other countries, and concentration camps. The records are part of National Archives' collection of seized World War II enemy records.

105 selected microfilm reels.

FILM 9:3-5 - Request access

Guides:

Guides to German records microfilmed at Alexandria, Va.

The guide provides a detailed list of contents for each reel.

Germany (West). Bundestag. Verhandlungen. Stenographische Berichte, Bd 1-49, Sept 7, 1949-, Bonn.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1965
23 reel(s)

The papers of the Bundestag, the West German Parliament, date from its establishment in 1949. Registers of the proceedings are divided into subject registers and speech indexes. Each register covers one legislative period. The index encompasses all speeches made during a plenary session of Parliament, with the names of the speakers arranged in alphabetical order. A separate section provides the actual proceedings of each session. Speeches, interruptions, motions, discussions, and attendance are included.

The records are arranged chronologically. A table of contents is at the beginning of each year. Indexes for 1949-53 and 1953-57 are on reels 122 and 123 respectively.

FILM 10:2-4 - Request access

Nationalist Socialist German Labor Party. Records of the Nationalist Socialist German Labor Party.

Washington, D.C.: American Historical Association. Committee for the Study of War Documents,
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 81; v. National Archives record group 242.
70 reel(s)

These declassified seized German records were deposited at the Military Records Branch of the United States General Services Administration. They cover records of the National Socialist German Labor Party, its affiliated organizations, and territorial divisions. They include records on resettlement kept by the Deutsches Ausland-Institut in Stuttgart and agencies under Himmler, records of the Reichsstudentenfuhrung, and the National Sozialistischer Studenten Bund. This is a valuable aid for study of the German administrative and political history of the 1930s: the mechanisms of political control on the local level, the social background of local political leaders, and the development of National Socialist ideology. It offers an insight into university life after 1933 and the changes in the intellectual, political, and social views of students over a prolonged period of time. The collection also covers activities such as political indoctrination, propaganda operations, Jewish persecution, and foreign labor recruitment.

The guide indicates the contents of each roll. We have reels 1-4, 23, 25-27, 29-31, 35-37, 50-51, 53-54, 57, 63, 66-67, 75, 91-92, 96-97, 99-102, 113-115, 197-199, 201-204, 206, 223-228, 230-231, 233-235, 239, 241, 244, 247-257, 259-260, 262.
THE MERLIN RECORD IS INCORRECT.

FILM 8:12-13 - Request access

Guides:

Guides to German records microfilmed at Alexandria, Va.

The guide provides a detailed list of contents for each reel.

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in German States and Germany, 1799-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M44; v. National Archives record group 59.
106 reel(s)

The documents in this collection deal with such topics as trade relations between the United States and German states, German unification, attitudes of the Germans toward the United States Civil War, the Franco-Prussian War, the Congress of Berlin in 1878, the Berlin Conference of 1885, Bismarck's foreign policy, German reaction to the Open Door policy in China, cooperation of the western powers during the Boxer Rebellion in China, and claims of United States citizens against the German government.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to the German States and Germany, 1799-1801, 1805-1906 is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection, a list of related material also available from the National Archives in microfilm, an index by author, and a list of reel contents.

FILM 1:4-6 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Legations of the German States and Germany in the United States to the Department of State, 1817-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 58; v. National Archives record group 59.
35 reel(s)

This collection includes such topics as the settlement in Europe after Napoleon's exile, the Congress system that developed after the Congress of Vienna, the process of German unification under Bismarck, the Prussian wars with Austria, Denmark and France, the spread of European imperialism, and the development of the European alliance system.

An uncataloged guide to the first reel is available in the Special Collections Office. There is no guide to the collection in general nor to the other reels in particular. The material is arranged chronologically.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Germany, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 336; v. National Archives record group 59.
182 reel(s)

Post-World War I Germany is the emphasis of this Department of State decimal file. Political, military, and financial documents predominate but the collection also contains correspondence, memoranda, and other records relating to agriculture, education, public health, the entertainment industry, communication, and transportation. Documents related to political affairs include weekly political and economic reports from German cities, accounts of the abdication of Kaiser Wilhelm II, the election of General Paul von Hindenburg, the transfer of sovereign rights over Memel to Lithuania, and proceedings of the Reichstag. Documents on military affairs relate to the Interallied Military Commission of Control and German espionage activities in the United States, Mexico, Central America, South America, Europe, and Asia. A lengthy collection of documents relates to United States Post Office involvement in the reporting of alleged disloyal and suspicious activities of persons residing in the United States. Financial matters discussed include runaway inflation, the deteriorated value of the mark and its revaluation, and public loans. There are also documents in the file concerned with affairs in German colonies and dependencies of Kiaochow, the Bismarck Archipelago, the Solomon Islands, Kiauchou, German New Guinea (part of New Guinea), the Marshall Islands, the Caroline Islands, the Peleu Islands, the Marianne Islands, Togoland, Cameroon, German Southwest Africa (Namibia), and German East Africa (Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi). Eleven reels are devoted to affairs in Rhineland, especially the occupation of the Ruhr by France and the currency crisis.

A complete list of the documents in the collection is on reels 1-6. SPEC-R CD3026 .A522 1974 Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications provides an inclusive list of the reel contents by Department of State subject classification number.

FILM 3:13-4:1 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Germany and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 354; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)

Treaty negotiations between Germany and Austria, Hungary, Italy, Turkey, Rumania, and Bulgaria as well as with Liberia, Egypt, Abyssinia (Ethiopia), Afghanistan, and Persia (Iran) are documented in this Department of State decimal file. Documents in the file also relate to the dispute between Germany and Austria over the control of the Saar Basin and between Germany and Italy over South Tyrol, the Union of Austria with Germany, the surrender by Germany of capitulatory rights in Turkey, the return of gold deposits made by Rumania in Germany, a proposed alliance between Germany, Hungary, and Russia, and German war indemnity.

A complete list of the contents of this collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 5:4 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Germany, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 355; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)

Because no United States diplomatic representatives were in Berlin from 1917 to 1922, most of the records from 1917 to 1919 in this Department of State decimal file originated from United States diplomatic posts in Denmark and the Netherlands. From that time, until diplomatic relations were resumed in 1922, they originated from the United States Commissioner in Germany. Press reports concern public opinion in both countries. For example, the documents examine the effect on American public opinion of the Lusitania sinking in 1919. British efforts to influence American public opinion are also covered. Some documents concern the Joint Congressional Resolution terminating the state of war, the Treaty of Peace, and the presidential proclamation to the same effect. The views of Herbert Hoover and John Foster Dulles are recorded.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Germany, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents included is on the first reel. The documents are arranged by the Department of State's decimal system of subject classification.

FILM 5:4 - Request access