Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Morocco, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 577; v. National Archives record group 59.
26 reel(s)

Morocco’s political affairs, both domestic and foreign, comprise a large portion of this Department of State decimal file. Topics documented include the Algeciras Convention of 1906, internationalization of Tangier, the Convention of Tangier and the Four-Power (Great Britain, France, Spain, and Italy) agreement on Tangier, grievances of the Riffs, and Spanish military activities in Morocco. Other letters and memoranda relate to port concessions at Tangier, the Imini Manganese Mine, the American Mannesmann Morocco Corporation, municipal governments, public works, economic problems in Spanish Morocco, the French Protectorate, and in Tangier Zone, and American loans for railway construction.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Morocco, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office and provides a summary of the reel contents. A list of the documents on reels 1-13 and 26 is on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State’s decimal classifications system.

FILM 6:13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Morocco and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 579.; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The overriding theme of most documents in this small Department of State decimal file is the problems of foreigners in Morocco, specifically Great Britain's capitulatory rights, the abolition of extraterritorial jurisdiction by the United States and Great Britain, Spain's disregard of the agreement at Algeciras which recognized the authority of the Sultan over Moroccan territory, the inadequacy of French courts in Morocco, and the presence of the British postal service in the country. Most of the documents are dispatches from Department of State diplomatic and consular officials in Morocco.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Morocco and other States, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Morocco, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 578; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

A lecture entitled "The Moroccan Question", reproduced in full, provides a good summary of Morocco's relations with the United States, France, and Spain during World War I. Henry Carter, a State Department official, presented this lecture at the Foreign Service School in 1917. Other documents in this small decimal file relate to the rights and policies of the United States in Morocco, the Algeciras Convention of 1921, the Kellogg-Briand Pact, extraterritorial rights, commerce and trading, consular functions, workmen's compensation, and naturalization.

A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. It serves as a finding aid for the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:13 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Foreign Letters of the Continental Congress and the Department of State, 1785-1790.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 61; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The microfilm contains instructions to American ministers and consuls abroad. The instructions were dispatched by John Jay, Secretary for Foreign Affairs, later acting head of the Department of State (January 14, 1785 – March 3, 1790), and by Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of State (March 30 – December 23, 1790). The letters deal with a wide variety of subjects: diplomatic relations with foreign governments (Holland, Great Britain, France, Spain, Portugal, and Morocco), American loans abroad, commerce, shipping, slavery, and relations between the Congress and individual states of the Union.

A short introductory note and an index-register of the letters precedes the letters.

FILM 1:7 - Request access