Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1981-82 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982 
11 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.

FILM BOOK 0311 1981-82

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1982-83 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
12 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.

FILM BOOK 0311 1982-83

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1983-1984 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.

FILM BOOK 0311 1983-84

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1984-1985 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.

FILM BOOK 0311 1984-85

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of El Salvador, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publication. Microcopy no. M 658. National Archives record group 59.
22 reel(s)

The largest group of records reproduced in this Department of State decimal file concern presidential, parliamentary, and municipal elections, the question of the succession to the presidency, the proposed union of all Central American States, riots following demonetization of small silver currency, revolutionary movements, imposition of martial law, student political activities and riots, the convention for revising the Constitution, and relations between El Salvador and other Central American countries. Other records relate to the regulations governing shipment of arms and ammunition from the United States into El Salvador, port improvements and hydrographic surveys, reorganization of the National Guard, antireligious student activities, missionary activities, the Salvadoran Anti-Illiteracy Congress, coinage of Salvadoran money in the San Francisco and Philadelphia mints, and manufacturing concessions.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of El Salvador, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one along with a complete list of the documents in the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:6