Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Argentina, 1817-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1944 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 69; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)

This collection contains information on a wide variety of topics concerning United States-Argentine relations. These topics include trade relations, Argentine claims to the Falkland Islands, the Monroe Doctrine and other United States policies toward Latin America, construction of Argentine railroads, as well as Argentine policies toward natives and toward immigration and naturalization. The collection includes official dispatches as well as private communications that might deal with more secret matters.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to Argentina, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background information about United States representatives in Argentina, a list of reel contents for the entire collection, a description of topics covered by the material, an index of authors, and a list of related microfilm materials from the National Archives. The information from the guide is reprinted at the beginning of most of the reels.

FILM 1:7-1:8

United States. Department of State. NOTES FROM THE ARGENTINE LEGATION IN THE UNITED STATES TO THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE, 1811-1838.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 47; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The collection includes the first communications sent to the United States government by the newly independent Argentine Republic. The notes illustrate early attempts of the Argentine government to win diplomatic recognition from the United States and to obtain financial and military assistance. From the 1820s onwards an increasing proportion of the correspondence deals with internal upheavals as well as with Argentinean conflicts with its neighbors. The notes also touch upon the question of American interference in the internal affairs of Argentina.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 56, gives the inclusive dates of each of the collections. Ellis Library only has the first reel of the collection that covers the period 1811-1906.

FILM 1:7

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Argentina, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 514; v. National Archives records group 59.
44 reel(s)

This collection contains the Department of State decimal file relating to the internal affairs of Argentina during the period from 1910 to 1929. Most of the records are instructions to and dispatches from United States diplomatic and consular officials in Argentina. Also included are notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomatic representatives in the United States, memoranda prepared by officials of the Department, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, private firms, and individuals. The largest group of records in the collection relate to the presidency, political parties, elections, relations between the central and provincial governments, and political conditions in general. Other sub-topics relating to Argentine internal affairs are Bolshevism, proceedings of the legislative branch of government, social matters, financial conditions, military affairs, naval affairs, colonization, immigration, mines and mining, petroleum, railroads, and the public press. The section on social matters includes material on race problems in Argentina, literature, fine art, and religion. The section on financial conditions deals with taxation, the monetary system, and banking. In the naval affairs section there are documents concerning the competitive increase in naval armaments between Argentina and Brazil, and a considerable number of records are devoted to the construction, updating, and deployment of Argentina's two American built battleships, the Rivadavia and the Moreno, both of which were launched in 1911.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Argentina, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents included is on the first two reels. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:8

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Argentina and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 516; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

This collection contains the text of treaties and conventions signed by the Argentinean Republic with Chile, Paraguay, Peru, France, Spain, Great Britain, Italy, Switzerland, Sweden, Denmark, Portugal, Bolivia, the Netherlands, and Turkey. It also includes clippings of articles on foreign policy which appeared in the Argentinean press.

A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:8

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Argentina, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 515; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Most of the diplomatic reports in this decimal file consist of clippings from the Argentinean press on the subject of the Argentinean and Latin American attitudes towards the United States and on the foreign policy of the Argentinean government toward the United States. There are also a few reports of conversations with Argentinean presidents and government officials on the subject of Argentinean-American relations. The collection also provides information on American-Argentinean negotiation for the arbitration treaty and naturalization convention in the years 1910 to 1912 and the Argentinean attitude towards the Kellogg-Briand Pact of 1928.

A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:8