Ann Arbor, Mich: University Microfilms International, 1968
Human Relations Area Files
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) were developed to facilitate study, teaching, and research in the behavioral sciences, in area studies, and in the humanities. They should be especially valuable as a basis for world and comparative studies of human behavior, social life, and culture in the fields of anthropology, sociology, geography, politics, and psychology. The HRAF files are reputed to be one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of cultural data in existence and they cover approximately three hundred world cultures. The collection contains books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and the results of field work. HRAF material includes many rare sources and many exclusive translations from foreign texts. HRAF's unique arrangement facilitates comparative studies.
An uncataloged guide, The Nature and the Use of HRAF Files, is available in the Special Collections Office. The collection is organized into separate Cultural Files, each of which corresponds to a cultural unit listed in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). Within each cultural file the material is organized according to the subject classification system in the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). A complete list of the titles included in the collection is available in HRAF Source Bibliography. The researcher may also wish to consult the Index to the Human Relations Area Files and its supplement (1979). Users are encouraged to ask a Special Collections staff member for assistance in the use of this collection.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
Guides:
Murdock, George Peter Outline of World Cultures (OWC).
Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Contains a list of titles in the HRAF collection.
Index to the Human Relations Area Files
The index is a page-by-page, line-by-line index to the sources included in the HRAF files organized (up to 1979) according to the subject categories in the OCM.
East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: EP Microform Limited, 1972
1 reel(s)
George Alexander Brown, a Liverpool merchant and banker, spent his boyhood days in Baltimore. His uncle, a linen merchant, employed him in his firm, Alexander Brown & Sons of Baltimore. Brown regarded himself as an American, even though half his life was spent in England. His diaries date from his days in Baltimore. They include comments on the decline of the linen trade after 1817, his partnership in a merchant firm in Tampico, Mexico, in 1825, and his establishment in Liverpool in 1829. The diaries thereafter concern political, family, and business affairs, including notes on the arrival of American ships and reactions to events in America. Most of his knowledge of these events was drawn from the newspapers of the day.
A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the reel.
FILM 22:4
East Ardsley, Yorkshire, Eng.: Micro Methods, 1964
British records relating to America in microform
7 reel(s)
James Bryce, jurist, historian, and politician, was a member of Parliament from 1880 to 1906 and a member of three cabinets. He first visited the United States in 1871 and last in 1921. His knowledge of the United States is reflected in his book, The American Commonwealth, published in 1888. As British ambassador to the United States from 1907 to 1913, he singled out as his most important task the furtherance of good relations between Britain and the United States. Topics discussed in his papers include various presidential campaigns and elections, tariffs, the Negro problem, civil service reform, Canadian-American relations, international copyright legislation, American city government, the Armenian question, the Irish question, women’s suffrage, the Venezuela crisis, German propaganda, maritime disputes, and the League of Nations.
A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
FILM 22:5
Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)
In these initially classified research reports, the Central Intelligence Agency examines Latin American domestic politics, foreign relations, and economic issues. Specifically, the reports include an evaluation of Soviet objectives in Latin America, as well as reports on Cuban training of subversives, political instability, and clerical involvement in politics. The material then proceeds to evaluate each of eighteen countries in South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. There is a disproportionate amount of material on Cuba after the Revolution of 1959, and the Dominican Republic around the time of American intervention in 1965.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1994
British Records Relating to America in Microform
15 reel(s)
George William Frederick Villiers (1800-1870) served as Foreign Secretary in four administrations, intermittently from 1853 to 1870. His correspondence during his time in Washington covered a sensitive period in Anglo-American relations. The United States and Great Britain were partners in a profitable transatlantic trade, but Britain began to have concerns about American expansionism, especially American filibusters in Nicaragua and other areas throughout South and Central America. Clarendon did not serve during the Civil War, but believed Southern independence was assured. After the Northern Victory, it became clear the United States was going to dominate the rest of North America. For related material see the Crampton Papers.
FILM 22:5
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress Photoduplication, 1978
7 reel(s)
These documents from the Royal Indian Archives and other royal archives, covering the period from the thirteenth to the eighteenth century, relate to the discovery, conquest, and settlement of former Spanish possession in the Americas and East Indies. The collection includes forty-two separate volumes. Although there is no systematic arrangement for the documents, an index is included at the end of each volume and volume 33 includes a retrospective, chronological index covering the years 1474-1660.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1994
British Records Relating to America in Microform
17 reel(s)
Sir John Fiennes Twistleton Crampton was born in Ireland on August 12, 1805. He began his role in Washington when he was appointed Foreign Secretary on July 3, 1845. Eventually he served under two Ministers before he became Charge d’Affaires in 1851. In January 1852 he was appointed Minister to the United States, and served until May 28, 1856, when President Franklin Pierce broke off diplomatic relations with him because of his attempts to recruit American volunteers for service in the British Army during the Crimean War. His correspondence as a member of the British Legation in Washington covered many of the important issues in Anglo-American relations including disputes over fisheries in Canadian waters, the need for Canadian-American trade, and attempts by Americans to acquire naval bases in Cuba. In addition, major problems, such as American filibustering in Nicaragua, and clashes over possible canal routes across the American Isthmus caused disagreements. For related material see the Clarendon Papers.
FILM 22:5-6
The guide contains an introduction to the collection, a brief biography of Crampton, a bibliography, and an index to the microfilm. Also available under call number DA565.C79 A4 1994.
Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
Presidential documents series
8 reel(s)
In 1964, rioting erupted in Panama directed largely against United States’ control of the Panama Canal. During the next four years, the United States and Panama renegotiated treaties concerning the Canal. In 1965, the United States feared the possibility of a communist insurgency in the Dominican Republic. This fear led to the military intervention of the United States in that country. This collection contains the documents in the files of the National Security Council that pertain to these events.
Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)
Progress reports from 1948 to 1960 refer to the implementation of United States foreign policy toward specific nations. Topics include export-control policies toward the Soviet Bloc, economic and military aid, communism, military bases, civil defense, colonialism, mobilization, the Organization of American States, resources, trade, stockpiling, the United Nations, and global war. Areas receiving major attention include Southeast Asia, China, Eastern Europe, Israel, Latin America, the Phillippines, the Soviet Union and its satellites, and the United Kingdom.
London: Public Record Office, 1967
3 reel(s)
The official correspondence in this collection from 1913 through 1915 focuses primarily on the situation in revolutionary Mexico. Correspondents discuss the mounting tension between the United States and the Huerta regime and examine the security of British citizens and property in Mexico. They also communicate the current political situation in the United States, concerns about the Panama Canal, and demands for rights in the seal fisheries off the Pribiloff Islands. After 1916, the correspondence includes such topics as the Pan-American Conference, the debate over the League of Nations in the United States Congress, post-World War I territorial adjustments, and especially the Washington Conference of 1921.
A table of contents appears at the beginning of each group of letters. Ellis Library has numbers 235-248.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
FILM 10:13
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1960
Presidential papers microfilm
151 reel(s)
This collection contains correspondence, legal papers, financial records, notebooks, memorials, printed materials, and memorabilia of the life of President Benjamin Harrison. The material covers Harrison's experiences in the Civil War as a brigadier general of Indiana volunteers, his career as an Indiana lawyer and politician, his term as president from 1889 to 1893, and important documents relating to the Venezuelan boundary dispute with British Guiana.
Series 1. General correspondence and related material, 1787-1912 (reels 1-43)–Series 2. Additional correspondence and related items, 1853-1909 (reels 43-97)–Series 3. Letter Press copy book, 1880-1892 (reels 97-98)–Series 4. Telegrams, 1888-1896 (reels 98-99)–Series 5. Social, 1889-1892 (reels 99-100)–Series 6. Shorthand notebooks, 1884-1901 (reels 100-116)–Series 7. Record of letters received at the White House, 1889-1893 (reels 116-117)–Series 8. Speeches, 1878-1901 (reels 117-121)–Series 9. Writing, 1895-1897 (reels 121-122)–Series 10.Legal instruments, 1852-1898 (reels 122-123)–Series 11. Legal cases and Firm Letter Press copy books, ca. 1855-1900 (reels 123-135)–Series 12. Financial, 1836-1900 (reels 135-140)–Series 13. Venezuela boundary dispute, 1895-1899 (reels 140-143)–Series 14. Miscellaneous manuscripts, 1814-1901 (reels 143-144)–Series 15. Volwiler collection of Harrisoniana, 1850-1938 (reel 145)–Series 16. Scrapbooks, 1853-1908 (reels 145-151)–Series 17. Certificates memorials, and printed invitations–Series 18. Pamphlets–Series 19. Photographs and drawings–Series 20. Miscellaneous printed matter.
London: Longman (and others), 1811
2 reel(s)
These volumes contain research “relative to the geography of Mexico, the extent of its surface and its political division into intendancies, the physical aspect of the country, the population, the state of agriculture and manufacturing and commercial industry, the canals projected between the South Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, the Crown revenues, the quantity of the precious metals which have flowed from Mexico into Europe and Asia since the discovery of the new continent, and the military defense of New Spain.” Reel 1 contains volumes 1-2. Reel 2 contains volumes 3-4.
Note: Translation of "Essai politique sur le royaume de la Nouvelle Espagne" which forms pt. 3 of "Voyage de Humboldt et Bonpland." Translated by John Black.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
FILM MISC
Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
Special Studies Series
10 reel(s)
This collection contains one hundred and ten studies and analyses on a wide variety of topics about Latin America in general, and about the specific countries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, British Honduras, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The material includes such topics as agriculture, balance of payments, drugs, revolution, economic development, land reform, the military, political problems, poverty, terrorism, technical aid, and urban growth. These studies were contracted by various federal agencies from a number of private and governmental "think tanks" such as Joint Publication Research Service, Rand Corporation, the Army War College, the Department of State and the Naval Postgraduate School.
MERLIN lists studies separately.
The annotated guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliations are also indicated.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
Special studies series
3 reel(s)
This collection continues the studies and analyses of Latin America in general and of the particular countries of Bolivia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico and Panama. The subjects include topics like agriculture, balance of trade, economic development, energy development, foreign relations, government, labor, migrants, military intervention, communism, and national security. These studies were contracted by various federal agencies from a number of private and governmental “think tanks” such as MITRE Corporation, the Army War College, the Department of State, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Thirty-three studies are included.
MERLIN lists studies separately.
Washington, D.C: University Publications of America, 1978
13 reel(s)
The collection consists of studies written for the United States government in the years 1976-1978. The studies cover a wide range of American domestic and international issues. Domestic topics include racial and sexual discrimination, unemployment, welfare reform, crime, prison reform, trade union legislation, alcohol and drug abuse, veteran assistance, social security, food assistance programs, anti-trust regulations, traffic safety, regulations of elections and political campaigns, the functions of the Federal Reserve System, inflation, agricultural policy, and wage-price policy. Among the international issues covered are relations within the United States-Soviet Union-China triangle, American grain exports, American relations with Western Europe, the Arab-Israeli settlement, detente, international terrorism, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Cyprus crisis, the Panama Canal Treaty renegotiation, and reports on the situations in individual countries (Northern Ireland, Yugoslavia, China, Cuba).
Each title is cataloged in the UM LIBRARIES CATALOG.
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1981
11 reel(s)
This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1980-1981. The papers deal with issues of current interest for policy-makers in the following areas: legal and constitutional, governmental and political, transportation and communications, energy and environment, foreign relations and defense, economy and labor, and social and health policy. The subject of the papers illustrate the problems faced by the political leadership in the early eighties. In the area of defense and foreign relations, the subjects dealt with include the East-West military balance, Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT), the crises in Poland, Afghanistan, and the Persian Gulf, and social unrest in Latin America. Domestic studies concentrate on issues like economic recession, unemployment, social security reform, national health insurance, inflation, energy conservation, environmental protection, merger laws, freedom of information, discrimination against the handicapped, the impact of imports on the American industry, and the influence of social benefits on the attitudes towards work.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982
11 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
12 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
13 reel(s)
This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
13 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1998
13 reel(s)
This supplement provides access to documents received by University Publications of America in 1997. Research divisions of the Congressional Research Service, a department of the Library of Congress, prepared the studies to meet the legislative and investigative research needs of the United States Congress. Therefore, their accuracy and thoroughness are of the highest quality, and they are outstanding sources for the study of current topics of national and international interest.
The following is a list of the research divisions and includes a description of their functions.
The American Law Division analyzes legal and constitutional issues and concerns that cover diverse topics such as exceptions to the First Amendment of the Constitution, attorneys' fees in Federal courts, and Presidential emergency powers.
The Economics Division examines issues of both domestic and international economics. Examples include studies of the Federal Reserve System, the Export-Import Bank, and the use of highway funding for mass transit projects.
The Education and Public Welfare Division researches many diverse subjects of social and health policy. Included are health care in rural areas, Social Security, food stamps, and funding of the arts and humanities.
The Environment and Natural Resources Division is concerned with matters of energy, environment, natural resources, and agriculture. A sampling of topics include federally designated wilderness areas, national school lunch programs, and Federal farm promotion programs.
The Foreign Affairs and National Defense Division focuses upon the relationship between foreign and military policy. Representative subjects include abortion services to military personnel and dependents stationed overseas, long-range bombers, and UN force commanders and chief military observers.
Researchers in the Government Division answer questions relating to the Congress, the executive branch, intergovernmental relations and planning. Studies include selected privileges and courtesies extended to former members of the House of Representatives, sexual orientation discrimination in employment and the legislative process in the House of Representatives.
The Science Policy Research Division studies all fields of science and technology. Topics include studies of institutions such as the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the National Institutes of Health, U.S. National Science Foundation, and studies of topics such as Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and autism.
The Congressional Reference Division maintains an updated listing of publications that describe the activities of Congress. Examples include radiation hotlines and other sources of information, a checklist of Congressional Research Service products on Latin American topics, and an overview of appropriations for FY1997.
The Law Library of Congress keeps members informed and up-to-date on domestic, international, and comparative law.
The Library Services Division creates various topical bibliographies and selected reference lists. Examples include a bibliography of materials published since 1994 on the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), lists of banking, securities and insurance products of the Congressional Research Service, and a list of groups that examine American competitiveness in the world economy. It also maintains the Public Policy Literature DataBase.
Finally, the Office of Senior Specialists provides members of Congress high-level analyses for a wide range of topics.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: 1977
17 reel(s)
This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1987
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)
The Providence Island Company was founded by a group of “Protestant Imperialists” in the 1620s to grow crops on Providence and Association Islands, off the coasts of Nicaragua, and revive England’s cloth manufacturing industry and to challenge Spain in its area of power. One reel contains minutes of the company meetings, and the other reel copies of official letters written by company agents. Subjects discussed are the company’s problems with debt and attacks by the Spanish.
Guides:
The guide contains a brief history and bibliography of the Providence Island Company. Also available under call number F2281.S15 P3 1989.
New York: James Egbert, 1860
1 reel(s)
Schaeffer was a miner who kept a record of his three-year journey to and from California by way of South America and Mexico. He sailed from New York in March 1849 on the ship Flavius and stopped in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and Valparaiso, Chile, before reaching San Francisco in September. He worked a number of mines around middle and northern California and sailed for the tropics several more times before arriving back in New York in June of 1852.
FILM MISC
Indianapolis: Chapmans & Spann, 1848
1 reel(s)
Smith was in Company “D” of the 1st Regiment of the Indianapolis Volunteers in the Mexican War. He gives a history of the campaign in order to vindicate the conduct of all the volunteers “who have been assailed by officers in the regular army and newspaper writers.” It was written so after his return from Mexico, in the summer of 1847, and also contains resolutions of the Missouri Legislature, a letter of Lt. Kingsbury, and a brief sketch of the 4th and 5th infantries. He writes that the Indiana volunteers “were the victorious conquerors of Huamantla, Puebla, Atlixco, and Tlascala.”
Second edition. Title continues “an account of the operations of the Indiana brigade on the line of the Rio Grande and Sierra Madre, and a vindication of the volunteers against the aspersions of officials and unofficials.” Table of contents and appendix at end.
FILM MISC
12 reel(s)
Comprising thirty volumes of the most important correspondence between the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) in London and its missionaries in parts of Latin America and the British colonies of the West Indies, including the Honduras, Guiana, Argentina, as well as some items from the Falkland Islands, and Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica, Nassau in the Bahamas, and Trinidad. Beginning in 1834, the year that slavery was abolished in the British Empire, this collection complements the earlier published materials from C and E series records relating to the West Indies, and the X series records relating to Codrington College, Barbados, in the archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, held at the Rhodes House Library, Oxford. Contains both copies of letters sent (CLS) and copies of letters received (CLR). – from Merlin record
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950
File microcopies of records in the National Archives. Microcopy no. M 184; v. National Archives Record Group 59.
1 reel(s)
Ellis Library owns the first reel of the six-reel collection. The material dates from April 10, 1850, to December 23, 1869 (the full collection covers the years from 1830 to 1906). This period saw considerable upheaval in Mexico with the overthrow of Santa Anna, the promulgation of the Liberal Constitution of 1857, the resulting War of the Reform, the European intervention, the French occupation, and the war between the republicans under Benito Juarez and the French-conservative alliance under Maximilian. The consuls in Paso del Norte kept a close eye on American interests in that city and monitored activities along the border.
An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Consuls in Ciudad Juarez (Paso del Norte), Mexico, 1850-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the entire six-reel collection, a table of contents for each reel, and a list of related microfilm collections produced by the National Archives. A register of all dispatches in the six-reel collection is located at the beginning of the first reel.
FILM 1:13
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1951
1 reel(s)
This collection consists of the dispatches from Reuben Creel, United States consul at Chihuahua, Mexico, to the secretary of state, and related documents. Creel reports primarily about those events relating to the war between the Mexican republican forces under Benito Juarez and the French occupation forces under Maximilian. This collection is only a portion of the three reel collection originally published on microfilm by National Archives that covers the years 1830 to 1906.
The dispatches are arranged chronologically. Reels 1-3.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1950
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 183; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)
In 1857, Mexican Liberals promulgated the Constitution of 1857 igniting the War of the Reform. Conservatives sought foreign assistance against the Liberals and welcomed French intervention. In 1862, the French placed Maximilian on the throne of Mexico but later abandoned him to defeat and execution by forces under Benito Juarez. In these dispatches, the United States consul at Veracruz reports extensively on the war, the French occupation and the reception of Maximilian into Mexico. He also reports on the welfare of North American interests in Mexico during the disruption.
An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Consuls in Veracruz, 1822-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the material in the entire eighteen reel series (1822-1906), a complete list of related documents in the National Archives on microfilm and a list of reel contents. Only reels 7 and 8 are available in Ellis Library. Each reel contains introductory material similar to that provided in the guide.
FILM 1:13
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1944
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 69; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)
This collection contains information on a wide variety of topics concerning United States-Argentine relations. These topics include trade relations, Argentine claims to the Falkland Islands, the Monroe Doctrine and other United States policies toward Latin America, construction of Argentine railroads, as well as Argentine policies toward natives and toward immigration and naturalization. The collection includes official dispatches as well as private communications that might deal with more secret matters.
An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to Argentina, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background information about United States representatives in Argentina, a list of reel contents for the entire collection, a description of topics covered by the material, an index of authors, and a list of related microfilm materials from the National Archives. The information from the guide is reprinted at the beginning of most of the reels.
FILM 1:7-1:8
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1951
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 121; v. National Archives record group 59.
27 reel(s)
These selected reels are a portion of a 74-reel collection of consular dispatches from United States ministers to Brazil from 1809-1906. Some of the topics covered include claims of United States citizens against Brazil, slavery and the slave trade in Brazil, operations of United States naval vessels in the South Atlantic, and trade between Brazil and the United States. The material contains correspondence from United States diplomatic officials in Brazil along with enclosures of pertinent information like pamphlets, newspapers, and other printed material. Private correspondence offers more personal, unofficial views on particular topics.
An uncataloged guide, Dispatches from United States Ministers to Brazil, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a list of reel contents, a description of the topics covered in the material, an index of the authors, and a list of related material in National Archives microfilm. Ellis Library has reels 1-2, 36, and 50-74 of the collection. Reel 1 contains a useful register of correspondence.
FILM 1:11
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942
National Archives Microfilm Publications Microcopy no. M 10; v. National Archives record group 59.
15 reel(s)
The material in the collection covers such topics as: dispatches between Chile and Peru arising out of the War of the Pacific, the growth of the nitrate industry, the civil war between the forces of President Balmaceda and congressional forces, and the Baltimore affair in which United States sailors were attacked by a mob in Valparaiso. Reels 45 through 51 focus on the ministry of Henry Lane Wilson from 1897 to 1905. During this period, the war between the United States and Spain was a particularly important topic.
An uncataloged guide, State Department Diplomatic Dispatches, Chile Series, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains introductory material for reels 45-51 only. Ellis Library has reels 37-51 of this National Archives collection which covers the period from 1889 to 1905.
FILM 1:1
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1948
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 128; v. National Archives record group 59.
19 reel(s)
This collection contains correspondence from the United States Ministers to Paraguay who, at times, were responsible for diplomatic affairs in Uruguay. The Paraguay material refers to the regimes of Carlos Antonio Lopez and his son Francisco Solano Lopez and the disastrous war Paraguay fought against Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay. Concerning Uruguay, the material refers to the continuing civil strife in that country throughout this period.
An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to Paraguay and Uruguay, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains background on the collection and a list of related documents in the National Archives.
FILM 1:11-1:12
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service,
National Archives Microfilm Publications Microcopy no. M97; v. National Archives record group 59.
23 reel(s)
The reels owned by Ellis Library is part of a much larger collection which ranges from 1823 to 1906. The topics covered in the Ellis collection include claims of citizens of one country for damages on the other, boundary disputes along the common border, Mexican attitudes toward the Civil War in the United States, the French occupation and the reign of Maximilian, and raids across the border by Apaches, Comanches, and Kickapoos. Ellis' collection currently contains reels 2-4 and 28-47 of the set.
An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers in Mexico, 1823-1906, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a table of contents for all of Microcopy 97 from 1823 to 1906 including this collection, an introduction with a list of topics covered by the collection, a list of related materials in National Archives microfilm publications, and an index of authors.
FILM 1:10
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945
National Archives microfilm publication. Microcopy no. M 78; v. National Archives record group 59.
7 reel(s)
Correspondence from the Secretary of state to United States consular representatives all over the world are filmed. As such, they demonstrate how an administration might implement stated foreign policy objectives. Reel one, in addition to reproducing the introductory information in the guide, also provides 1) a list of consular posts arranged by geographical distribution, 2) an alphabetical list of consular posts and the names of consular representatives at those posts, 3) a chronological list of special agents, and 4) an alphabetical list of all consuls and special agents. In addition, volumes 1-4 have an index at the beginning of each volume. The material refers to such topics as the Barbary Pirates, the War of 1812, Latin American independence, and the Monroe Doctrine.
An uncataloged guide, Consular Instructions of the Department of State, 1801-1834, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the materials in the collection and a list of other material available in National Archives collections that complement this material.
FILM 1:10
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 841; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)
This collection includes letters from President Wilson to Secretary of State William J. Bryan and copies and/or drafts of letters from the secretary to the president. Occasionally, material from other sources surfaces: notes from foreign embassies, reports from American diplomats abroad, and letters from lobbyists. The largest part of the correspondence concerns Latin American affairs, especially the Mexican Civil War and the involvement of the United States in the internal affairs of the Central American states. There is some material dealing with the problems arising from the outbreak of the First World War: the question of neutral shipping, submarine warfare, British blockade of continental Europe, and attempts of the United States and other neutral countries at mediation. Starting with the third reel, an increasing proportion of the correspondence deals with the relations in the United States-China-Japan triangle.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 92, gives the inclusive dates covered on each reel.
FILM 9:6
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 30; v. National Archives record group 59.
200 reel(s)
These dispatches, addressed to the Department of State by United States diplomatic representatives to Great Britain between November 19, 1791, and August 10, 1906, are for the most part the original dispatches, often accompanied by enclosures. The dispatches relate to such subjects as the negotiation of Jay's Treaty, restrictions on American shipping during the Napoleonic wars, suppression of the African slave trade, boundary disputes, a proposed ship canal in Central America, and fishing rights. Also included are unnumbered, informal communications reporting secret matters or personal news, occasional telegrams, and memoranda prepared by State Department officials.
An uncataloged guide, Despatches From United States Ministers to Great Britain, 1791-1906, available in the Special Collections Office, provides access by author and indicates the time period for each reel. Also, reel one includes a description of the collection and a chronological index through 1870 indicating subject content.
FILM 1:3-1:4
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 47; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
The collection includes the first communications sent to the United States government by the newly independent Argentine Republic. The notes illustrate early attempts of the Argentine government to win diplomatic recognition from the United States and to obtain financial and military assistance. From the 1820s onwards an increasing proportion of the correspondence deals with internal upheavals as well as with Argentinean conflicts with its neighbors. The notes also touch upon the question of American interference in the internal affairs of Argentina.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 56, gives the inclusive dates of each of the collections. Ellis Library only has the first reel of the collection that covers the period 1811-1906.
FILM 1:7
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 49; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
This collection contains a register of notes received by the Department of State from the Brazilian legation in the United States between 1824 and 1906 and the full content of notes received between April 5, 1824 and September 3, 1829. The dispatches concern a wide variety of subjects such as the recognition of Brazilian independence, the establishment of diplomatic relations between the United States and Brazil, appointments of diplomatic representatives, proposals for commercial treaties and military alliances, relations with third countries, conflicts between Brazil and Argentina, slavery, and piracy.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel. There is a short introductory note and a register at the beginning of the reel. Ellis Library only has reel one of this collection that covers the period 1824-1906.
FILM 1:7
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1944
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 73; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
The notes reflect the efforts of the newly-independent Chile to establish diplomatic relations with the United States and to gain an official recognition of its independent status. The collection includes several letters from the leader of the Chilean struggle for independence, Bernardo O'Higgins, asking the government of the United States for material assistance to the independence movement and for a diplomatic support against Spain. From the 1820's onwards, the correspondence deals increasingly with routine diplomatic matters (such as appointments of consular officers) and with the questions of trade (customs and tariffs).
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel on the collection which covers the period 1811-1966. Ellis Library only has reel 1.
FILM 1:8
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 51; v. National Archives Record Group 59.
2 reel(s)
The collection contains a register of notes received by the Department of State from the Colombian legation in the United States between 1820 and 1853. It also contains letters and dispatches transmitted to the Department of State by the representatives of Colombia and Venezuela between 1810 and 1834. The letters concern the declaration of independence and the war of national liberation of Colombia and Venezuela (which between 1821 and 1829 together formed the federation of Gran Colombia). They reflect the attempts of both republics to establish diplomatic relations with the United States. Included in the collection are letters of the hero of the Colombian and Venezuelan liberation struggle, Simon Bolivar.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel in this collection. There is a description of the collection at the beginning of the first reel. Ellis Library only has reels 1-2 of this eleven reel collection which covers the period 1810-1906.
FILM 1:7
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 38; v. National Archives record group 59.
5 reel(s)
Most of the material in this collection covers the period from 1811 to 1834. The secretaries of state who signed most of the notes include Thomas Jefferson, Timothy Pickering, James Madison, Robert Smith, James Monroe, Richard Rush, John Quincy Adams, Henry Clay, James Hamilton, Martin Van Buren, Edward Livingston, and Lewis McLane. The topics covered include the War of 1812, the acquisition of Florida, boundary settlements with Great Britain, Latin American independence, and the Monroe Doctrine. Also covered are various trade issues between the United States and specific countries.
An uncataloged guide, Notes from the Department of State to Foreign Ministers and Consuls in the United States, 1793-1834, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection and a list of related documents. Each volume has an index at the beginning.
FILM 1:5
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
File microcopies of records in the National Archives. Microcopy no. M 54; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
The material in this collection covers relations between the United States and Mexico from 1816 to 1831. During this period, Mexicans achieved independence from Spain and Iturbide became the short-lived Emperor of Mexico as Augustin I. Vicente Guerrero became the first President of the new Mexican Republic. Conflict over the United States-Mexico boundary, especially concerning Texas, was a constant theme for diplomatic discussions between the two countries. Mexicans were also concerned about the increasing volume of immigration from the United States into eastern Texas. Many of the documents are in Spanish, but usually are accompanied by English translations.
An uncataloged guide, Notes from the Mexican Legation in the United States to the Department of State, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the material, a list of Mexican representatives to the United States, the dates of their correspondence, and a list of related works. Ellis Library only has reel one of this 39 reel collection which covers the period 1815-1906.
FILM 1:7
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)
This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.
FILM 1:10-1:11
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943
File microcopies of records in the National Archives. Microcopy no. M 37; v. National Archives record group 59.
9 reel(s)
The material in this collection covers a wide variety of topics. Most of the correspondents were located in stations throughout Latin America, as well as two in Great Britain and Europe. They refer to such topics as impressment and seizure of United States shipping in the West Indies, European reaction to South American independence, possession of the Columbia River, the Haitian Revolution, the War of 1812 and the negotiations for the Treaty of Ghent, and the situation and condition of American interests in various cities throughout Latin America.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State: Communication from Special Agents, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection including a list of the special agents, their location, dates of their correspondence, and possibly a brief note on the purpose of the correspondence. Also included is a list of material available elsewhere that is related to this collection. Ellis Library has reels 1-9 of the 50 reel collection which covers the period 1794-1906.
FILM 1:5
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 514; v. National Archives records group 59.
44 reel(s)
This collection contains the Department of State decimal file relating to the internal affairs of Argentina during the period from 1910 to 1929. Most of the records are instructions to and dispatches from United States diplomatic and consular officials in Argentina. Also included are notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomatic representatives in the United States, memoranda prepared by officials of the Department, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, private firms, and individuals. The largest group of records in the collection relate to the presidency, political parties, elections, relations between the central and provincial governments, and political conditions in general. Other sub-topics relating to Argentine internal affairs are Bolshevism, proceedings of the legislative branch of government, social matters, financial conditions, military affairs, naval affairs, colonization, immigration, mines and mining, petroleum, railroads, and the public press. The section on social matters includes material on race problems in Argentina, literature, fine art, and religion. The section on financial conditions deals with taxation, the monetary system, and banking. In the naval affairs section there are documents concerning the competitive increase in naval armaments between Argentina and Brazil, and a considerable number of records are devoted to the construction, updating, and deployment of Argentina's two American built battleships, the Rivadavia and the Moreno, both of which were launched in 1911.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Argentina, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents included is on the first two reels. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:8
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 644; v. National Archives record group 59.
33 reel(s)
This collection reflects the turbulence of political life in Bolivia between 1910 and 1929. Such themes as violent coups d'etat (especially the one in which a Liberal president Jose Guerra was superseded by a Republican Juan Savedra), military plots, the persecution of political opposition, and the exile of political opponents figure prominently in these decimal file records. Other subjects covered include presidential, parliamentary, and local elections, provincial revolts, rivalry between the Liberal and the Republican parties, cabinet changes, and constitutional amendments. The collection also provides information about the strength and attitudes of the Bolivian army, the activities of German officers and military instructors, and the build up of war material for the conflict with Paraguay over Chaco. Other records concern education, social affairs, labor conditions, wages and prices, strikes and lockouts, and American corporations in Bolivia.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Bolivia, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is filmed on reel one. Also on reel one and continuing on reel two is a complete list of documents included in the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 8:3-4
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 519; v. National Archives record group 59.
54 reel(s)
This decimal file contains material on the political situation in Brazil between 1910 and 1929. It covers presidential elections, rivalries between major political figures, army and navy revolts, provincial uprisings, and communist activities. The collection also provides information on the legislative and judicial branches of government, on constitutional and legal matters, and on the army and the navy. The records cover the financial situation of the Brazilian government and of the governments of individual Brazilian states, as well as information about loans, debts, and exchange rates. There is also information about the activities of American companies in Brazil and about the economic life of that country, especially the production of coffee and rubber and mining concessions.
A complete list of the documents included in the collection is on reels 1-3. A summary of reel contents is given in SPEC-R CD3026 .A522 1974 Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 64. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of States decimal classification system.
FILM 6:8-6:9
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M672; v. National Archives record group 59.
16 reel(s)
Efforts to establish cooperation among Central American countries are documented in this Department of State decimal file. The majority of the papers in the collection are concerned with political matters such as the movement to organize a Central American Union, the maintenance of the Central American Court of Justice, the Conference of Presidents of Central American States held aboard the U.S.S. Tacoma in 1922, and the Conference of Central American States held in Washington, D.C., in 1923. The proposed Union of El Salvador and Honduras is discussed. Other cooperative efforts include reciprocal recognition of educational programs and of diplomats among the countries, cultural exchange, protection of copyrights, international railroads, and the development of air mail service.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Central America, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide is also reproduced on the first reel preceding a complete list of the contents of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 8:7
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 487; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)
The largest single group of records reproduced in this Department of Sate decimal file relates to Chilean political affairs. Many records concern arbitration of the dispute with Peru over Tacna and Arica. There are reports on presidential elections and other political affairs. Other subjects relate to Chilean internal affairs such as military education, visits of Chilean war vessels to foreign ports, financial conditions, agriculture, petroleum production, nitrate mining, and postal regulations
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Chile, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed preceding the documents. A complete list of the documents appears on reels 1-2. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:5-6:6
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967
National Archives microfilm publication. Microcopy no. M 658. National Archives record group 59.
22 reel(s)
The largest group of records reproduced in this Department of State decimal file concern presidential, parliamentary, and municipal elections, the question of the succession to the presidency, the proposed union of all Central American States, riots following demonetization of small silver currency, revolutionary movements, imposition of martial law, student political activities and riots, the convention for revising the Constitution, and relations between El Salvador and other Central American countries. Other records relate to the regulations governing shipment of arms and ammunition from the United States into El Salvador, port improvements and hydrographic surveys, reorganization of the National Guard, antireligious student activities, missionary activities, the Salvadoran Anti-Illiteracy Congress, coinage of Salvadoran money in the San Francisco and Philadelphia mints, and manufacturing concessions.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of El Salvador, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one along with a complete list of the documents in the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 8:6
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 655; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)
The largest single group of documents in this Department of State decimal file relates to Guatemalan political affairs, which include the political unrest under President Manuel Estrada Cabrera, the activities of the Unionist party, the overthrow of President Cabrera, and general political conditions under his successors, President Carlos Herrera, General Jose Maria Orellano, and President Lazaro Chacon. Other documents discuss revolutionary activities of Honduras in Guatemala, entrance of Guatemalan military bodies into the United States, and the flights of Guatemalan Army aviator Jacinto R. Diaz to capitols of Central America and Panama. Documents relating to economic matters discuss banks and banking, taxation, and land concessions. Agriculture, mining, manufacturing, and transportation are also discussed.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Guatemala, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide is reproduced preceding the complete list of the documents that comprise reels 1-2 of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 8:5-6
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 647; v. National Archives record group 59.
49 reel(s)
The turbulent political situation and the almost continuous revolutionary activity in Honduras during this period is the subject of approximately one half of this decimal file. Included are discussions of boundary disputes and border troubles with El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Guatemala, revolutionary movements originating from those neighboring countries and from Mexico, movements of United States naval vessels in Honduran waters, German activities in Honduras in World War I, shipment of arms and munitions to Honduras from the United States, and the participation of Sumner Welles in a conference to mediate the revolution of 1924. Another large group of records relate to financial affairs, specifically the proposed adjustment of the Honduran debt by the United States, loan negotiations and agreements between Honduras and the J. P. Morgan Company, and other United States banks, settlement of Honduras' foreign debt, and loans to Honduras by various fruit companies.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Honduras, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. It precedes the complete list of documents on reels 1-2 of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 8:4-5
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 274; v. National Archives record group 59
243 reel(s)
The Mexican Revolution, a war that began in 1910 and continued sporadically until the new constitution was adopted in 1917, is the chief subject of this Department of State decimal file. There are accounts of President Porfirio Diaz's forced resignation, the election and assassination of President Francisco I. Madero, the military dictatorship of Victoriano Huerta, the unsuccessful attempt by revolutionary leaders Venustiano Carranza, Francisco "Pancho" Villa, and Emiliano Zapata to settle their differences, the defeat of Villa in 1915 by Carranza forces, and the de facto recognition by the United States of the Mexican government under Carranza and Villa. Many documents relate to military activities and movements of government and rebel forces. During the 1920s correspondence concerns problems resulting from the Mexican government's attempt to introduce various reforms provided for in the constitution of 1917. Other documents are concerned with the expropriation of foreign owned property, labor disputes, and land reforms.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Mexico, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed preceding the complete list of documents that comprise reels 1-9. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 3:2-3:5
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 632; v. National Archives record group 59.
106 reel(s)
Approximately two-thirds of this extensive Department of State decimal file relates to Nicaragua's transformation into a United States military and financial protectorate, the Liberal-Conservative fight for power and resulting Civil War, the United States marine occupation of Nicaragua, the United State's supervision of elections, the presidencies of Jose Santos Zelaya, Adolfo Diaz, and others, the United States establishment of a National Guard to oppose rebel leader General Augusto Cesar Sandino, and the control of the economy by New York banks. Agriculture, mining, manufacturing, communication, transportation, postal service, and aviation are also discussed in diplomatic and consular dispatches and other documents.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Nicaragua, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.
FILM 8:1-3
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 366; v. National Archives record group 59.
32 reel(s)
The largest group of records in this Department of State decimal file relates to Venezuela's internal political affairs. The collection chronicles the overthrow of President Cipriano Castro, the presidency of Juan Vincente Gomez, the development of a Venezuelan revolutionary movement in Costa Rica and Puerta Rico, and the anti-Gomez movement in Mexico. Other records pertain to public safety, military affairs, education, disasters, labor conditions, agricultural expositions, mining concessions to American firms, communication, and transportation. There are also a number of documents on petroleum concessions and the mining of phosphate, manganese, mica, salt, potassium nitrate, and asphalt.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Venezuela, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 5:5
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 516; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
This collection contains the text of treaties and conventions signed by the Argentinean Republic with Chile, Paraguay, Peru, France, Spain, Great Britain, Italy, Switzerland, Sweden, Denmark, Portugal, Bolivia, the Netherlands, and Turkey. It also includes clippings of articles on foreign policy which appeared in the Argentinean press.
A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:8
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 526; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)
Negotiation and ratification of treaties of arbitration, naturalization, navigation, and for the limitation of arms between Brazil and other countries in South America, in Central America, Europe, and Asia are discussed in this collection. Issues of dispute between Brazil and Uruguay involved the Lake Merim-River Yaguaron boundary questions, pelagic sealing, and the 1911 fur seal treaty. Documents in the decimal file concerning Brazil and Paraguay focus on the delimitation of their mutual frontier from the mouth of the Apa River to the outlet of Bahia Negra and the use of the Paraguay River by a steamship service.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Brazil and Other States, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:9
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 490; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)
Efforts by the Chilean government to negotiate treaties of peace, alliance, commerce, and navigation are the subjects of this Department of State decimal file. There is correspondence relating to the treaty of alliance between Argentina, Brazil, and Chile (the A.B.C. Alliance), boundary questions between Chile and Argentina over the Picton, Lenox, and Nueva Islands, the Beagle Channel dispute between Chile and Argentina, and political relations between Chile and other countries. The portion of the file related to Chile's relations with Argentina contains a 1105 page document on the history and organization of sanitary legislation in Argentina.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Chile and Other States, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:7
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 634. National Archives record group 59.
3 reel(s)
The majority of the documents in this Department of State decimal file are concerned with relations between Nicaragua and Costa Rica and between Nicaragua and Colombia, but treaty negotiations with Great Britain, Sapin, Italy, and Argentina are also included. Documents related to Nicaragua's severance of relations with Germany are in the file. The duties of neutrals as they relate to the detention of the ship Venus at Port Limon are the subject of most documents related to Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Territorial disputes between Nicaragua and Colombia, specifically Nicaragua's attempts to seize control of the San Andres Archipelago and the claim of Colombia to the Mosquito Coast are throughly documented with memoranda, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and several long printed documents. The treaty between Nicaragua and Great Britain related to the taxation of Indians and Creoles on the Mosquito Indian Reservation and turtle fishing in the Cayman Islands is also included.
A list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification.
FILM 8:3
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 515; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
Most of the diplomatic reports in this decimal file consist of clippings from the Argentinean press on the subject of the Argentinean and Latin American attitudes towards the United States and on the foreign policy of the Argentinean government toward the United States. There are also a few reports of conversations with Argentinean presidents and government officials on the subject of Argentinean-American relations. The collection also provides information on American-Argentinean negotiation for the arbitration treaty and naturalization convention in the years 1910 to 1912 and the Argentinean attitude towards the Kellogg-Briand Pact of 1928.
A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:8
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 525.; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
The negotiation and ratification of treaties by the United States and Brazil are the subjects of a majority of the documents in this Department of State decimal file. A review of all multilateral treaties dating from 1875 is provided. The collection includes documents on the appointment of commissioners to the Permanent International Commission on Arbitration. The papers on the Treaty for the Renunciation of War (Kellog-Briand Pact) include State Department correspondence and popular comment from press reports. Brazil's appeal for the regulation of immigration of blacks to Brazil is documented in the portion of the collection dealing with the 1922 immigration treaty. There is also a discussion of United States contracts to build battleships for Argentina and Chile and the promise to aid these countries in the event of attacks by Brazil. Radio influence on Brazilian-American relations is noted in correspondence describing KDKA's (Pittsburgh, PA) programs in honor of Brazil's Independence Day.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Brazil, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:9
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 489; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
Issues affecting political relations between the United States and Chile for the period from 1910 to 1929 include the threat posed by the new Panama Canal to the commerce of Chile, the Tacna-Arica dispute and subsequent elections to decide which nation would control the areas, and proposed Latin American exemption from the most-favored-nation clause of the Treaty of Commerce and Navigation. Other subjects discussed in this Department of State decimal file are the centennial of Chile's war of independence, memorials to Charles W. Wooster, a United States citizen who became a rear admiral in the Chilean navy, and the Department of State's involvement in an incident involving rowdy American employees of the mining camp of El Teniente during a weekend outing. Treaty negotiations common to all decimal files are also in this collection.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Chile, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 6:7
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 670; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
Treaty negotiations comprise the majority of this decimal file. These include negotiations for treaties of arbitration and conciliation, the Kellogg-Briand Pact for the renunciation of war, and treaties of commerce. Additional records pertain to a naturalization treaty between the United States and Costa Rica. A number of documents relate to the Bryan-Chamorro treaty which would grant the United States access to an interoceanic canal between Costa Rica and Nicaragua via the San Juan River. Several documents are concerned with pro-American demonstrations at the American legation in Costa Rica.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Costa Rica, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. It is also reproduced at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 8:7
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 314; v. National Archives record group 59.
29 reel(s)
The records in this decimal file relate to the adjustment of boundaries, the maintenance of friendly relations, and treaty negotiations. Subjects discussed include the "forged correspondence" of 1926 allegedly giving information on State Department policy to President Callas of Mexico, Mexican reaction to the American punitive expedition against Pancho Villa, President Carranza's opposition to the Monroe Doctrine, and the recognition of the Obregon government. Approximately half of the collection deals with boundary questions: channel shifts on the Rio Grande, construction of international bridges, diversion of waters, fishing, and navigation
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Mexico, 1910-1929, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced on the first reel. A list with brief abstracts, also on the first reel, serves as a finding aid. The documents are arranged by subject according to the decimal classification system of the Department of State.
FILM 3:5-6
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 633; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)
The central theme of the majority of the records in this Department of State decimal file is opposition to United States intervention in Nicaragua. Anti-American sentiment is reported in numerous European and Latin American newspaper articles and editorials. In 1916, when war with Japan was anticipated, the United States successfully negotiated a treaty with Nicaragua for naval bases and the building of an inter-ocean canal across Nicaragua. Other subjects are the anti-Zelaya movement, the Chamorro coup d'etat of 1925, the prospects of war between the United States and Mexico, the Treaty for Renunciation of War (Kellog-Briand Pact), and naturalization issues.
The complete list of documents on the first reel serves as a finding aid for the collection. The arrangement of the collection is by the Department of State's decimal system of subject classification.
FILM 8:13
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. 368; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)
Dispatches from United States diplomatic and consular officials and correspondence with individuals and government officials express the wish to maintain friendly relations with Venezuela and appeal for support for the war against the Central Powers. The appointment of negotiators and the negotiations for treaties of arbitration, the treaty for renunciation of war, and the treaties of conciliation between the United States and a number of nations are reported. Venezuelan newspaper clippings in honor of American Independence day, the Lindbergh flight, and the erection by the United States of a monument to Henry Clay are in the collection. The collection constitutes a portion of the Department of State's United States – Venezuela decimal file.
A complete list of the documents in this collection is filmed on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal system.
FILM 5:11
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 369; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)
Unlike most Department of State decimal files that are largely correspondence between diplomatic representatives and other officials, the file relating to Venezuela and other countries contains two published documents totaling more than 2,500 pages. One summarizes the status of Venezuelan foreign affairs and the other, a three-volume work, covers public treaties and international agreements from 1820 to 1925. The documents are El Libro Amarillo de los Estados Unidos de Venezuela Presentado al Congreso Nacional en sus Sesiones de 1918 por el Ministro de Relaciones Exteriores (1918) and Tratados Publicos y Acuerdos Internacionales de Venezuela (1924-1927). The few remaining documents in the collection relate to relations with Uruguay, France, the Netherlands, and Brazil. The topic of the Brazilian documents is a 1928 expedition to an unexplored region for the purpose of demarcating the boundary between Venezuela and Brazil. The United States asked for and received permission to send a representative from the National Geographic Society and the Carnegie Museum to accompany the expedition.
A complete list of the documents included appears at the beginning of the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal system.
FILM 5:11
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1954
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 17; v. National Archives record group 59.
4 reel(s)
Territorial papers of New Mexico date from its formation in 1851 until supervision of all territories was transferred from the Department of State to the Department of the Interior in 1873. A large portion of the papers relate to personnel disputes in the territorial government, including charges of malfeasance and requests for removal from office. Indian depredations (livestock and other property stolen and persons killed) are enumerated. The availability of rich mineral deposits, especially silver and gold, is discussed in the governor's annual reports as are grape culture and the use of mesquite for consumption and for firewood. Many of the earlier documents are in English and Spanish. The collection is arranged chronologically.
Catalog of National Archive Microfilm Publications lists the inclusive dates on each reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 264-301.
FILM 8:11
Guides:
Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 750; v. National Archives record group 48.
18 reel(s)
New Mexico was established as a territory in 1850. Originally the territory included parts of Arizona, Nevada, and Colorado. The records pertain to positions in New Mexico Territory normally filled by presidential appointment: the territorial governor and secretary, the surveyor general, registers and receivers in the public land offices, the superintendent of Indian affairs, and Indian agents. Letters of application and recommendation, petitions, oaths of office, removals, and resignations are included in the collection. Land office records from Clayton, Folsom, Roswell, Las Cruces, and Santa Fe are included. Abiquiu, Cimarron, Mescalero, Navajo, Pueblo, and Southern Apache Indian agency appointment records are filmed.
An uncataloged guide titled Interior Department Appointment Papers: Territory of New Mexico, 1850-1907 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel. It includes an alphabetical listing of applicants and office-holders.
FILM 8:10
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 364; v. National Archives record group 48.
15 reel(s)
The proceedings of the governors of the territory from 1874 until statehood in 1912, include official acts, proclamations, letters of appointment, oaths of office, pardon letters, and extradition orders. There are no transcripts for portions of 1876, 1885, 1889, and 1903. Letters dated from 1858 to 1907 relate to public buildings and grounds, the Adobe Palace (Palace of the Governors) in Santa Fe, and the inspection of coal mines. The last three reels are subject-classified files of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior. They include correspondence, memoranda, reports, legal papers, and other records about territorial schools, statehood, extradition negotiations with Mexico, and land transactions, especially with the American Lumber Company, the Pennsylvania Development Company, and the New Mexico Fuel and Iron Company.
An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: New Mexico, 1851-1941, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.
FILM 5:5
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 364; v. National Archives record group 48
15 reel(s)
The proceedings of the governors of the territory from 1874 until statehood in 1912, include official acts, proclamations, letters of appointment, oaths of office, pardon letters, and extradition orders. There are no transcripts for portions of 1876, 1885, 1889, and 1903. Letters dated from 1858 to 1907 relate to public buildings and grounds, the Adobe Palace (Palace of the Governors) in Santa Fe, and the inspection of coal mines. The last three reels are subject-classified files of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior. They include correspondence, memoranda, reports, legal papers, and other records about territorial schools, statehood, extradition negotiations with Mexico, and land transactions, especially with the American Lumber Company, the Pennsylvania Development Company, and the New Mexico Fuel and Iron Company.
An uncataloged guide, Interior Department Territorial Papers: New Mexico, 1851-1941, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on reel one.
FILM 5:5
Washington, D.C.: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1941
322 reel(s)
These analyses and translations from foreign broadcasts, news accounts, commentaries, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements were collected daily from 1941 to 1974. This monitoring service tracked reports of the Eastern European countries, the People's Republic of China, the Soviet Union, Western Europe, Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific. These reports were compiled into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service White Book. The early reports include accounts of World War II events from a foreign perspective.
A table of contents in each issue lists the countries for which a translation has been included. The publications are arranged chronologically.
Indexes for each of the eight sections are published commercially and titled REF DJK50 .I52 Index. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report: [Section]. Ellis Library only has the index for Eastern Europe.
FILM 11:6-12:6
Guides:
East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Limited, 1984
British records relating to America in microform
19 reel(s)
The material in this collection covers the growth of the Society and its work in the Bahamas, Jamaica, Barbadoes, Antigua, Trinidad, British Guiana (Guyana), Honduras, and the Mosquito Coast. A central issue for several reels concerns the Codrington bequest to the Society for creation of an institution to convert and educate slaves.
FILM 22:12-13
Guides:
West Indies records of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, c. 1710-1908 [guide] 
The guide contains the provenance of the collection, background information on the Society and a description of its records, a list of contents for each reel and a bibliography of related works, both primary and secondary. The guide is reproduced at the beginning of reel one. Also available under call number BX5611.W47 W4 1984.
