Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Costa Rica, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 670; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Treaty negotiations comprise the majority of this decimal file. These include negotiations for treaties of arbitration and conciliation, the Kellogg-Briand Pact for the renunciation of war, and treaties of commerce. Additional records pertain to a naturalization treaty between the United States and Costa Rica. A number of documents relate to the Bryan-Chamorro treaty which would grant the United States access to an interoceanic canal between Costa Rica and Nicaragua via the San Juan River. Several documents are concerned with pro-American demonstrations at the American legation in Costa Rica.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Costa Rica, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. It is also reproduced at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 8:7