Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Britain and Europe Since 1945.

Brighton, Eng.: Harvester, 1973 
Harvester / Primary social sources

The basic collection brings together source material from sixty-seven pressure groups involved in Britain's campaign to join the European Economic Community. The thirty-one single-interest pressure groups and the thirty-six multi-interest groups represent virtually the full range of postwar pressure groups in this field. Annual updates carry the file on established groups forward and add material from new participants in the continuing debate.

MICF 382.9142

Guides:

Britain and Europe since 1945: a bibliographical guide.

The guide provides chronological, author, and title access. Supplements arrive with each annual update.

CIA Research Reports: Europe, 1946-1976

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
4 reel(s)

Central Intelligence Agency reports from Europe are concerned primarily with internal political situations in individual European countries and deal with topics such as activities of political groups (especially Communists and Socialists), electoral analyses, and the Greek Civil War. There are numerous biographical reports on political figures, among them British Prime Ministers Harold Wilson and Harold MacMillan, French President Charles de Gaulle, and the Belgium royal couple Queen Fabiola and King Badouin. The reports on foreign relations deal with the attitudes toward the NATO alliance, relations with the Soviet Union, and attitudes toward the Indochina conflict.

FILM BOOK 0091 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

CIA research reports : Europe 1946-1976 [guide] PDF

The guide lists all the reports, which are arranged geographically and chronologically. It also includes a subject index. Also available under call number D242 .E8 1983.

Documents of the National Security Council: First Supplement.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)

Progress reports from 1948 to 1960 refer to the implementation of United States foreign policy toward specific nations. Topics include export-control policies toward the Soviet Bloc, economic and military aid, communism, military bases, civil defense, colonialism, mobilization, the Organization of American States, resources, trade, stockpiling, the United Nations, and global war. Areas receiving major attention include Southeast Asia, China, Eastern Europe, Israel, Latin America, the Phillippines, the Soviet Union and its satellites, and the United Kingdom.

FILM BOOK 0097 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to documents of the National Security Council. First supplement PDF

The guide lists the topic of each paper filmed in the collection. A brief subject index gives references to the appropriate reel and frame. Also available under call number UA23 .G85 1980 Suppl. 1.

Europe and NATO: Special Studies, 1970-1980.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
Special Studies Series
11 reel(s)

This collection contains one hundred and nineteen special studies commissioned by the federal government from extra-governmental “think tanks” such as Hudson Institute, Inc., Army War College, and the Rand Corporation. The papers discuss politico-military matters regarding Europe with reference to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Warsaw Treaty Organization. Most of the papers deal directly with issues of the period from 1970 to 1980, but a few are concerned with earlier events and their implications for the 1970s and beyond. The papers are divided into sections on Europe, NATO, individual western-aligned nations, neutral nations, the Warsaw Pact, East Germany, Hungary and Poland. Many more of the papers are devoted to NATO and western Europe than to the Warsaw Pact and eastern Europe. Topics covered include German reunification, detente, conventional warfare, nuclear weapons, the northern and southern flanks of NATO, United States force reductions in Europe, the implications for NATO of the 1973 Arab-Israeli War, Northern Ireland, Warsaw Pact reliability, the Hungarian uprising of 1956, and political upheaval in Poland between 1956 and 1976.

FILM BOOK 0080 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Europe and NATO, special studies, 1970-1980 [guide] PDF

The annotated guide provides a subject index, the names of the authors and their institutional affiliations. Also available under call number UA646.3 .E9 1982.

Human Relations Area Files.

Ann Arbor, Mich: University Microfilms International, 1968 
Human Relations Area Files

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) were developed to facilitate study, teaching, and research in the behavioral sciences, in area studies, and in the humanities. They should be especially valuable as a basis for world and comparative studies of human behavior, social life, and culture in the fields of anthropology, sociology, geography, politics, and psychology. The HRAF files are reputed to be one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of cultural data in existence and they cover approximately three hundred world cultures. The collection contains books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and the results of field work. HRAF material includes many rare sources and many exclusive translations from foreign texts. HRAF's unique arrangement facilitates comparative studies.

An uncataloged guide, The Nature and the Use of HRAF Files, is available in the Special Collections Office. The collection is organized into separate Cultural Files, each of which corresponds to a cultural unit listed in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). Within each cultural file the material is organized according to the subject classification system in the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). A complete list of the titles included in the collection is available in HRAF Source Bibliography. The researcher may also wish to consult the Index to the Human Relations Area Files and its supplement (1979). Users are encouraged to ask a Special Collections staff member for assistance in the use of this collection. 
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 300.2

Guides:

Murdock, George Peter Outline of World Cultures (OWC).

Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

HRAF Source Bibliography

Contains a list of titles in the HRAF collection.

Index to the Human Relations Area Files

The index is a page-by-page, line-by-line index to the sources included in the HRAF files organized (up to 1979) according to the subject categories in the OCM.

Major Studies of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1975/76

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1977 
6 reel(s)

This collection contains studies written for the United States government in the years 1975-1976. The studies fall into the following categories: legal and constitutional issues, environmental affairs, international affairs, intelligence activities, social issues and economic matters. Legal and constitutional studies deal with election regulations, church/state relations, civil rights, immigration, relations between the branches of the government, and the administration of justice. The studies on environmental affairs are largely concerned with energy problems and pollution. International affairs subjects are Soviet-American detente, the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, American relations with Cuba and Spain, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)/Warsaw Pact balance of forces, American arms transfers, Communist participation in West European governments, and American policy on the use of nuclear weapons. The studies on intelligence activities concern covert activities of the CIA and FBI, both abroad and at home. Social issues topics include crime, unemployment, education, health insurance, social welfare programs, child abuse, and abortion. Economic topics include: taxation, the public debt, financial regulations, American foreign indebtness, and New York City's financial crisis.

FILM BOOK 0311 1975-76 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1976-1978.

Washington, D.C: University Publications of America, 1978 
13 reel(s)

The collection consists of studies written for the United States government in the years 1976-1978. The studies cover a wide range of American domestic and international issues. Domestic topics include racial and sexual discrimination, unemployment, welfare reform, crime, prison reform, trade union legislation, alcohol and drug abuse, veteran assistance, social security, food assistance programs, anti-trust regulations, traffic safety, regulations of elections and political campaigns, the functions of the Federal Reserve System, inflation, agricultural policy, and wage-price policy. Among the international issues covered are relations within the United States-Soviet Union-China triangle, American grain exports, American relations with Western Europe, the Arab-Israeli settlement, detente, international terrorism, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Cyprus crisis, the Panama Canal Treaty renegotiation, and reports on the situations in individual countries (Northern Ireland, Yugoslavia, China, Cuba).

Each title is cataloged in MERLIN.

FILM BOOK 0311 1976-78 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1980-1981 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1981 
11 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1980-1981. The papers deal with issues of current interest for policy-makers in the following areas: legal and constitutional, governmental and political, transportation and communications, energy and environment, foreign relations and defense, economy and labor, and social and health policy. The subject of the papers illustrate the problems faced by the political leadership in the early eighties. In the area of defense and foreign relations, the subjects dealt with include the East-West military balance, Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT), the crises in Poland, Afghanistan, and the Persian Gulf, and social unrest in Latin America. Domestic studies concentrate on issues like economic recession, unemployment, social security reform, national health insurance, inflation, energy conservation, environmental protection, merger laws, freedom of information, discrimination against the handicapped, the impact of imports on the American industry, and the influence of social benefits on the attitudes towards work.

FILM BOOK 0311 1980-81 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1981-82 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982 
11 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.

FILM BOOK 0311 1981-82 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1982-83 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
12 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.

FILM BOOK 0311 1982-83 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1984-1985 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.

FILM BOOK 0311 1984-85 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies of the Legislative Reference Service/Congressional Research Service.

Washington, D.C.: 1977 
17 reel(s)

This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.

FILM BOOK 0311 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Miller, David Hunter. My Diary at the Conference of Paris.

New York: Appeal Printing Co., 1924
10 reel(s)

David Hunter Miller was appointed as legal adviser to the United States delegation to the Paris Peace Conference in 1918 by Secretary of State, Robert Lansing. He worked closely with Colonel House and helped write the final draft of the Treaty of Versailles. This collection contains a diary, dictated daily at the Peace Conference, and a large number of minutes, reports, and other documents Miller felt were significant to the proceedings. They are arranged under descriptive titles located in the table of contents preceding each volume.

Contains 21 volumes plus maps of the various councils and committees at the Paris Peace Conference in 1918 after WWI.. Miller was the legal advisor to the American Commission to Negotiate Peace. Vol. I: Diary, memoranda, personnel. Vol. II: Documents 1-104. Vol. III: Documents 105-215. Vol. IV: Documents 216-304. Vol. V: Documents 305-424. Vol. VI: Documents 425-547. Vol. VII: Documents 548-710. Vol. VIII: Documents 711-835. Vol. IX: Documents 836-1008. Vol. X: Belgium and Denmark. Greece. Morocco. Poland and Ukraine. Vols. XI-XII: Ports, waterways and railways. Vol. XIII: New states (Minorities).Vols. XIV-XVI: Minutes of the Supreme Council. Vols. XVII-XVIII: Bulletins. Vol. XIX: Annotations. Vol. XX: Conference minutes, miscellaneous papers. Vol. XXI: Indexes, errata, and corrections, separate maps, A-Q.

(Microfilmed by Columbia University Library, New York, NY, 1940.) Printed for the author, this is a microfilm edition of copy #12.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Department of State. Foreign Letters of the Continental Congress and the Department of State, 1785-1790.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 61; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The microfilm contains instructions to American ministers and consuls abroad. The instructions were dispatched by John Jay, Secretary for Foreign Affairs, later acting head of the Department of State (January 14, 1785 – March 3, 1790), and by Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of State (March 30 – December 23, 1790). The letters deal with a wide variety of subjects: diplomatic relations with foreign governments (Holland, Great Britain, France, Spain, Portugal, and Morocco), American loans abroad, commerce, shipping, slavery, and relations between the Congress and individual states of the Union.

A short introductory note and an index-register of the letters precedes the letters.

FILM 1:7 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Department of State to Foreign Ministers and Consuls in the U.S., 1793-1834.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 38; v. National Archives record group 59.
5 reel(s)

Most of the material in this collection covers the period from 1811 to 1834. The secretaries of state who signed most of the notes include Thomas Jefferson, Timothy Pickering, James Madison, Robert Smith, James Monroe, Richard Rush, John Quincy Adams, Henry Clay, James Hamilton, Martin Van Buren, Edward Livingston, and Lewis McLane. The topics covered include the War of 1812, the acquisition of Florida, boundary settlements with Great Britain, Latin American independence, and the Monroe Doctrine. Also covered are various trade issues between the United States and specific countries.

An uncataloged guide, Notes from the Department of State to Foreign Ministers and Consuls in the United States, 1793-1834, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection and a list of related documents. Each volume has an index at the beginning.

FILM 1:5 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State. Communications from Special Agents, 1794-1828

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
File microcopies of records in the National Archives. Microcopy no. M 37; v. National Archives record group 59.
9 reel(s)

The material in this collection covers a wide variety of topics. Most of the correspondents were located in stations throughout Latin America, as well as two in Great Britain and Europe. They refer to such topics as impressment and seizure of United States shipping in the West Indies, European reaction to South American independence, possession of the Columbia River, the Haitian Revolution, the War of 1812 and the negotiations for the Treaty of Ghent, and the situation and condition of American interests in various cities throughout Latin America.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State: Communication from Special Agents, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a description of the collection including a list of the special agents, their location, dates of their correspondence, and possibly a brief note on the purpose of the correspondence. Also included is a list of material available elsewhere that is related to this collection. Ellis Library has reels 1-9 of the 50 reel collection which covers the period 1794-1906.

FILM 1:5 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of the Treasury. Bureau of Accounts. Foreign Ledgers of Public Agents in Europe, 1776-1787.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 244; v. National Archives record group 39
2 reel(s)

A note on the fly-leaf of the first ledger describes the records included as an "Account Current Book of Particular Records of the Accounts between the Public and the Persons who have done Public business in Europe." The ledgers record ship expenses, military supplies, and expenses of ministers and other government officials. Recorded are reimbursements for the transportation and lodging of American prisoners. The most notable records are those that detail expenses incurred by members of the Continental Congress's 1776 Commission to France, Silas Deane and Benjamin Franklin.

A contemporary manuscript index appears at the beginning of the first ledger on the first reel.

FILM 9:5 - Request access

United States. Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Daily Report.

Washington, D.C.: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1941
322 reel(s)

These analyses and translations from foreign broadcasts, news accounts, commentaries, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements were collected daily from 1941 to 1974. This monitoring service tracked reports of the Eastern European countries, the People's Republic of China, the Soviet Union, Western Europe, Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific. These reports were compiled into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service White Book. The early reports include accounts of World War II events from a foreign perspective.

A table of contents in each issue lists the countries for which a translation has been included. The publications are arranged chronologically.

Indexes for each of the eight sections are published commercially and titled REF DJK50 .I52 Index. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report: [Section]. Ellis Library only has the index for Eastern Europe.

FILM 11:6-12:6 - Request access

Guides:

Daily report, Eastern Europe. Index.

Western European Census Reports. 1960.

White Plains, N.Y.: Kraus Microforms, 1973 
1085 fiche

Census data from seventy-four published censuses for twenty-two European countries are included. The censuses are written and compiled in the language of the issuing country. Excluded are housing censuses and preliminary population censuses. The census of Monaco is not included.

MICF 0310

Guides:

Blake, Judith. Western European censuses, 1960; an English language guide

The guide provides translations of table titles and captions, glossaries, and bibliographic data for each published census.