Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Biblioteca Palatina. Druckschriften -Stampati Palatini -Printed Books

Munich : New York: K.G. Saur, 1989 
21,103 fiche

Collection of 8,000 Greek, Latin, oriental and Humanist works reproduced in microform. Considered the foremost collection of the 15th, 16th and 17th century texts, the Palatina Collection originated in Heidelberg at the bequest of Prince Elector Ludwig III. It was transferred to the Vatican in 1623, where it currently resides. The fiche is labeled according to the original library’s shelf arrangement by size (i.e. Stamp. Pal. S., Stam. Pal. I-VI, and so on). Items are chiefly in Latin. Fiches are numbered alphanumerically in right corner of header.

MICF 6698

Guides:

Mittler, Elmar Bibliotheca Palatina : Druckschriften = stampati Palatini = printed books : Katalog zur Mikrofiche-Ausgabe

In German

Vorl?â?ñufiger alphabetischer Index

Temporary alphabetical index on 32 microfiches (chiefly in Latin)

This short pamphlet is a printed introduction in German with English on inverted pages.

Manuscripta; Libraries, Their Histories and Their Holdings: List Number 22, [25,55].

St. Louis, MO: St. Louis University, 1961 
25 reel(s)

Filmed in this collection are catalogs and histories of European libraries printed in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. These catalogs contain the titles and sometimes short descriptions of the medieval manuscripts and books printed in the fifteenth to eighteenth centuries. Included among others, are the manuscript catalogs of the Bodleian, Vatican, British Museum, Burgerische Staatsbibliothek in Munchen, K. K. Hofbibliothek in Vienna, Royal Library in Dresden, Royal Library in Copenhagen, University Library in Leipzig, National Libraries in Turin and Naples, the Laurentian Library in Florence, and the Municipal Libraries in St. Gall, Bern, and Bamberg. There are also the histories of the Vienna, Heidelberg, Augsburg, and Vatican Libraries.

The first reel of each list gives the titles of all works that are filmed.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 14:4 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of the Papal States (Holy See), 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 561; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The collection contains the communications between the Department of State and the American Embassy and consulate in Rome concerning the affairs of the Papal States and the Vatican. The communications deal with the elections of Pope Benedict XV and Pope Pius XI, nominations of cardinals, financial affairs of the Papal See, and the international status of the Vatican State in the wake of the Italian-Vatican treaty of 1929 that recognized the sovereignty of the Papal States. The records are part of the Department of State's decimal file

A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:12 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the Papal States (Holy See) and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 563. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

One of the smaller State Department decimal files, this collection contains documents that pertain to the Vatican's relations with Turkey, Serbia (now part of Yugoslavia), Albania, Abyssinia (Ethiopia), China, and Rumania. Additionally, there are discussions of Palestine and the attitude of the Catholic Church concerning Muhammadanism, the problem of Catholic schools and presbyteries in France, and French anxieties over the naval disarmament problem. A series of newspaper articles published in 1923 entitled "The Papacy and Politics" discusses the Vatican's aid to the Italian government and relations with Britain, Yugoslavia, Poland, and France.

A complete list of the documents in the collection is at the beginning of the reel. The material is arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:12 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Papal States (Holy See), 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 562; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The primary subject of this small collection of letters and other documents is the question of United States recognition of the Holy See as a sovereign state. The papers predate the Lateran Treaty of 1919 which established Vatican City as an independent state with sovereignty in international relations. The papers discuss the separation of church and state and the appointment of an ambassador from the United States to the Vatican. Most of the letters are from religious, fraternal, and political organizations that opposed official recognition of the Holy See. Other issues discussed are a Knights of Columbus movement to eliminate "European influence" from the study of American history, the barring of school children from participation in a Thanksgiving pageant because of its focus on religious freedom, and Irish Catholics under British rule. The collection constitutes the Department of State's decimal file on the relations of the United States with the Papal States.

A complete list of the documents in this collection is on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal system.

FILM 6:12 - Request access