Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1982-83 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
12 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.

FILM BOOK 0311 1982-83

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

United States. Department of State. NOTES TO FOREIGN LEGATIONS IN THE U.S. FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1982-83 Supplement.