Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Cosenza, Mario Emilio. Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary of the Italian Humanists

New York: Graphic Microfilm Corporation, 1955
29 reel(s)

FILM 4D21:14:3 - Request access

Italy International Population Census Publications.

Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 1980 
10 reel(s)

Statistical population information for Italy from 1871-1931 by region, province, community with rural/urban classifications and density maps. Ellis Library has reels 3-12 with reel 3 also containing population statistics from 1785-1873. In Italian.

Note: Censuses for 1945-1947 called Series I, pre-1945 Series II, and post-1967 Series III.

FILM BOOK 0386 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Italy, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 527; v. National Archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This decimal file contains records of the United States Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Italy from 1910 to 1929. Most of the records are dispatches from United States diplomatic and consular officials in Italy. The records on political affairs include regular reports on the political and economic situation in Italy, intelligence reports on politics and military affairs, transcripts of speeches, and clippings from Italian and other foreign newspapers. The documents cover the period of political chaos from 1910 to 1922 including World War I and the rise of Fascism. Dispatches for October 1922 deal with the Fascist march on Rome and the request by King Victor Emanuel to Mussolini to form a government. The records document the implementation of Mussolini's dictatorship and the establishment of the Italian corporate state. References are made to the Italian occupation of Corfu in 1923 and the subsequent military take over of Fiume which was opposed by Yugoslavia. The Matteotti affair is also dealt with as is the Aventine secession. The reports on military affairs include details on troop dispositions, military activities of Italy in Albania, and the National Militia which was derived from the Fascist Blackshirts. There is also information on exchanges of United States and Italian military personnel and visits of Italian warships to United States ports.

A complete list of the documents in this collection is filmed on reels 1-3. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system. A summary of reel contents is available in SPEC-R CD3026 .A522 1974, Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 75.

FILM 6:9-6:10 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Italy and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 530; v. National Archives record group 59.
8 reel(s)

Italy's conquest of Libya, the Lateran Agreement between Italy and the Papal States, French and Italian interests in the Balkan peninsula, the demarcation of the boundary between the Italian-occupied islands of Dodekanese and Turkey, the Greco-Italian dispute over Corfu, and the dispute between Italy and Egypt over the oasis of Jarabub are discussed in letters, memoranda and other papers in this Department of State decimal file. A 1926 commission to study hydraulic resources and agriculture in Italy and waterfalls in Rumania is documented.

A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.

FILM 6:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Italy, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 529; v. National Archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

The documents in this decimal file focus primarily on negotiations between the United States and Italy for treaties on fishing rights and naturalization, the military obligation of naturalized citizens toward their home countries, and the control of drug and liquor traffic. The Treaty of Arbitration, the Treaty of War, Peace, and Friendship, and the Treaty for the Renunciation of War (Kellogg-Briand Pact) are thoroughly documented. Consular agreements on the administration of estates, workmen's compensation, and aerial navigation are also discussed in diplomatic communiques. A portion of the correspondence pertains to the relations between the United States and Tripoli, particularly the status of the Treaty of 1806 after Tripoli became an Italian colonial possession in 1912.

The complete list of the documents on the first reel serves as a finding aid. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal system.

FILM 6:10 - Request access