Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Greece, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 443; v. National Archives record group 59.
45 reel(s)

Political and financial affairs of Greece are the principal subjects treated in this Department of State decimal file. Included are records related to war loans as well as loans for the handling of refugee problems that occurred as a result of the Greco-Turkish War of 1921-1923. Records in the file also relate to United States representation on the Interallied Financial Commission in Greece and the Refugee Settlement Commission. Other topics discussed are public health, military preparedness, education, disasters, industry, and transportation. There are a few documents relating to political affairs, race problems, and disaster relief in Crete.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Greece, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed preceding the complete list of documents which comprises reels 1-3 of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Greece and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 476.; v. National Archives record group 59.
6 reel(s)

Most of the records reproduced in this Department of State decimal file relate to boundary questions that arose between Greece and Bulgaria and between Greece and Albania. The records for Bulgaria concern the Second Balkan War, the Greco-Bulgarian Boundary Commission, the meetings of the Balkan Peace Conference, frontier incidents, resumption of full diplomatic relations between the two countries, and the efforts of the League of Nations to settle differences between the two countries. The records for Albania are concerned with Greek and Albanian minorities, the dispute over Northern Epirus, the Greco-Albanian Boundary Commission, and treaties of naturalization, commerce, and navigation.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Greece and Other States, 1910-29 is available in the Special Collections Office and is also reproduced at the beginning of the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:5 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Greece, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 475; v. National Archives record group 59.
3 reel(s)

Many of the records reproduced in this collection concern popular opinion regarding relations between the United States and Greece in 1922. The records consist chiefly of letters and telegrams from Greek-Americans to the president of the United States, either making a plea for a closer official relationship between the two countries or protesting the circulation of Greek Royalist propaganda in the United States. Other records concern treaties of arbitration, conciliation, the renunciation of war, commerce and navigation, friendship, consular rights, naturalization, and traffic in liquor and drugs. The collection constitutes a portion of the Department of State's United States – Greece decimal file.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Greece, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. At the beginning of the first reel is a complete list of documents arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal system.

FILM 6:5 - Request access