Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Archaeological Survey of India. Annual Report, 1902/03.

Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation, 
394 fiche

Annual reports of the Archaeological Survey of India discuss conservation and restoration work undertaken that year, descriptions of newly explored sites, excavations, new finds, and epigraphy. From 1904 to 1934 John Marshall held the post of Director-General of the Department. During this period the excavations at Harappa and Mohenjodaro revolutionized the perception of Indian civilization and culture. The results of the excavations confirmed that in the third millennium before Christ, the peoples of the Punjab and Sind had developed a relatively mature culture. The reports for 1902/03 to 1920/21 are arranged in two parts: administrative and scientific. Beginning in 1921/22, the reports include those of the various provincial archeological circles, formerly published separately.

Microfiche 1-15 contain an index to years 1902 to 1929. A table of contents and a list of plates appears at the beginning of each volume for 1930 to 1937.

MICF 913.34.

Archaeological Survey of India. [Reports] New Imperial Series, V. 1-54.

Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation,
597 fiche

The New Imperial Series includes archaeological work in India from 1874 to 1937. In 1871, the newly established Department of the Archaeological Survey of India began a country-wide search for all architectural and other remains characterized by their antiquity, beauty, or historic interest. In this series, James Burgess, responsible for the western districts, concentrates his attention on special classes of monuments, such as the Buddhist caves of western India, the Kankali Tila mound at Mathura, and the antiquities of the Bidar and Aurangabad districts. With the retirement of the director, Alexander Cunningham, in 1885 and the assumption by Burgess of the directorship, surveys of northern and southern India were placed in this series. The reports are monographic in format. Half of those issued between 1874 and 1902 were written by Dr. Burgess. In the early years, the survey teams focused on the discovery of Buddhist monuments. In later years this expanded to the documentation of Brahmanic, Jaina, and Islamic monuments.

MICF 913.34

Archaeological Survey of India. Memoirs

New York; Zug, Switzerland: New York Public Library; Inter Documentation, 
262 fiche

Contributions to Indian archaeology in this series include the following subjects: dates of the votive inscriptions on the stupas at Sanchi, the archaeological remains and excavations at Nagari, six sculptures from Mahoba, sculptures in the Provincial Museum, antiquities of Bhimbar and Rajaure, Pallava architecture, the origin and cult of Tara, the Haihiyas of Tripuri and their monuments, statues of Pallava kings, calligraphy in the Delhi Museum of Archaeology, a Prajnaparamita manuscript from Central Asia, excavations in Baluchistan, Kushano-Sasanian coins, and the prehistoric civilization in the Indus Valley.

A table of contents and a list of illustrations appear at the beginning of each volume. The collection includes three sub-series: Northern, Southern, and Western India.

MICF 913.34

Baroda (India : State). Administration Report

New York: New York Public Library, 1968 
7 reel(s)

The administration reports date from 1875 when the Maharaji Sayajirao was placed at the head of the Baroda (now incorporated into Gujarant state) state government as a boy of twelve, under the educational guidance of the British. The reports extend through his reign up to the time of his death in 1939, and cover the events and social conditions of the state up to 1945. Under Sayajirao, most of modern Baroda was built, including the Pratap Vilas palace, Baroda college, and Sayaji hospital. The reports summarize political, legislative, and judicial affairs, revenue, settlements, self-government, finance, education, medical institutions, public works, police, jails, and famine relief. Each report begins with a table of contents. Later reports contain a summary of the important activities of the year and an index.

FILM MISC - Request access

Bhatnagar, Gulshan Rai. Reflections on a few Political Punjab Problems.

Lahore: Mercantile Electric Press, 1920

The author of this pamphlet was a Special Prizeman in Muhammadan Law at Punjab University. It is a collection of his letters written over nine years covering life and politics in Punjab.

At the end of the microfilm reel of Punjab (India). MEMORANDUM SUBMITTED BY THE GOVERNMENT OF THE PUNJAB TO THE INDIAN STATUTORY COMMISSION, VOLUME X. (Microfilmed by the India Office Library, London.)

FILM MISC - Request access

Bombay Sanskrit Series

Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation Company,
52 fiche

An uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room. Each title is catalogued separately in MERLIN.

MICF 2992

Great Britain. India Office. Library. Miscellaneous Publications from the India Office Library and the India Office Records, 1897-1919.

London: Kodak, Limited, 1968 
2 reel(s)

The period of 1897 to 1919 saw an increasing nationalist agitation in British India. The Indian National Congress pressured Lord Curzon's colonial administration to grant Indians greater participation in the government. With their large contribution of men to the British army in World War I, Indian leaders expected additional reforms but were sorely disappointed. This disappointment made them receptive to Gandhi's non-cooperative movement. India's internal problems were compounded by conflict among Hindus, Muslims, and Sikhs. The titles of the materials in this collection are: Report of the 10th National Social Conference (1897), Report of the 13th National Social Conference (1899), Lahore Guide and Directory (1917), Islam and Ahmadism and Notes on Hindus and Sikhs (1895), Politico-Criminal Who's Who (1914), Political Trouble in India (1907-1917), and An Account of the Ghadi Conspiracy (1919).

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Great Britain. India Office. Library. Selected Documents of the India Office Library and India Office Records on the Punjab, 1850-1871.

London: Kodak Ltd., Recordak Ricrofilm Services, 1967 
7 reel(s)

This collection contains the Lahore Chronicle 1850-1868, Papers of the Agri-Horticultural Society of the Punjab, tracts of the Punjab Tenancy Act and land reserve discussion, Punjab civil lists 1872, 1878, the history of the Punjab Services 1883-1887, the north west province unconvenanted servants 1846-52 and 1854-62, the annual report of the police administration in the Punjab 1861-1871, and documents relating to the railways in India.

FILM 11:2 - Request access

Great Britain. India Office. Library. Tracts and Miscellaneous Printed Materials on the Punjab.

London: Recordak Microfilm Service, 1967 
9 reel(s)

The tracts filmed were written in the period from 1837 to 1931. They cover such subjects as agricultural resources, the prayer book of the Aryans, the state of Indian politics, the terminology of the Vedas, the grant of titles and honorary distinctions in India, the principles and teachings of the Arya Samaj, and Lala Kashi Ram and his theistic propaganda. Other titles discuss the All India Moslem League of 1918, Sikh ceremonies, ideals of non-cooperation, reports of the Public Service Commission for 1887, British rule in India, the Maharaja of Cashmere, the caste system, Sikh education, self-government in India, and the doctrine of re-incarnation.

A list of titles filmed is available in the Special Collections Office.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:2 - Request access

Great Britain. India Office Record Selections.

London: Kodak, Ltd, 1964 
5 reel(s)

These records contain letters, charts, bills, proceedings, and reports regarding India in the early 1900s. Reel 1 contains proceedings of the Home Department, January 1902-December 1907. Reel 2 contains proceedings of the Home Department, January 1908-October 1909, and proceedings of the Department of Revenue and Agriculture, January 1907, and July-September 1909. Reel 3 contains Home Department reports regarding the plague from 1904-1907, proceedings from the Department of Revenue and Agriculture from 1902 and 1904, agriculture bills, and 1903 maps showing positions of the Chenab Nahri Circle in different areas of India. Reel 4 contains proceedings from the Department of Revenue and Agriculture from 1905-1908 and 1910, and confidential letters to the Governor General of India in Council. Reel 5 contains confidential letters, newspapers articles, and criminal reports regarding East Indians in British Columbia, a paper on the Hindu-Muhammadan riots from 1889-1893, and Home Department letters.

Note: Selected by N.G. Barrier in the summer of 1964.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Great Britain. Indian Disorders Committee 1920. Reports, Proceedings and Memoranda of the Cabinet Committee on Indian Disorders Cab 27/91-93.

London: Public Record Office, 
2 reel(s)

The Disorders Inquiry Committee investigated the civil disturbances in Bombay, Delhi, and the Punjab following the passage of the Rolwatt Acts. The committee attempted to determine the causes and evaluate the measures taken to cope with the disturbances. In particular, the committee heard testimony on the events leading up to the massacre at Amritsar, the arrest of Gandhi, and the riots in Ahmedabad. The first reel also contains the minutes of meetings of the British Empire Delegation to the Paris Peace Conference, January to June 1919 (CAB 29/28). The second reel contains reports, proceedings, and memoranda of the War Cabinet Committee on the proposed exchange of Gibraltar for Ceuta, April 1917 to February 1919 (CAB 27/51).

Record groups filmed also include CAB 29/28 and CAB 27/51.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:2 - Request access

Imperial Gazetteer of India. District Series.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
4050 fiche

"A district gazetteer is a comprehensive description of a district or state of British India, published privately, in series , or under the auspices of a governmental body, and including historical, archaeological, political, economic, sociological, commercial, and statistical data"–Scholberg. The district gazetteers in this collection are reproduced from materials in the India Office Library. Of the 1,344 gazetteers listed in the Scholberg bibliography, 1076 volumes have been included in this microfiche collection. The collection is arranged by province, then by district, and then by date of publication. Statistical supplements for the districts are filmed when available. The dates of the gazetteers vary from district to district but overall they cover the years 1877 to 1936 as well as the years 1947 to 1963 for selected districts. Provincial Gazetteers, 1908-1909 (MICF 915.4003) and Imperial Gazetteers, 1907-1909 (954 Im7) are also available.

An uncataloged guide, Indian Gazetteers, is available in the Special Collections Office. It provides a checklist of the volumes in the collection. Also useful is ANNEX Z3201 .S36 District Gazetteers of British India by Henry Scholberg.

MICF 915.4003

Imperial Gazetteer of India. Provincial Series

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
212 fiche

Indian Provincial Gazetteers are compilations and summations of information gathered by District and Settlement Offices for the years 1908-1909. The gazetteers are arranged by province and include discussion of the geography, history, culture, population, government, administration, agriculture, arts, and manufacturing of each province. District Gazetteers (MICF 915.4003) and Imperial Gazetteers (954 Im 7) are also available.

NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 915.4003

India. Archaeological Survey. Memoirs, 1919-21.

New Delhi: Director General, Archaeological Survey of India; Microfilmed by the NY Public Library,
1 reel(s)

No. 1: “Dates of the Votive Inscriptions on the Stupas at Sanchi” by Ramaprasad Chanda. No. 2: “Varieties of the Vishnu Image” by Pandit B.B. Bidyabinod. No. 3: “Talamana or Iconometry” by T.A. Gopinatha Rao. No. 4: “The Archaeological Remains and Excavations at Nagari” by D.R. Bhandarkar. No. 5: “Archaeology and Vaishnava Tradition” by Ramaprasad Chanda. No. 6: “The Temples at Palampet” by Ghulam Yazdani. No. 7: “Excavations at Taxila, the Stupas and Monasteries at Jaulian” by John Marshall. These memoirs also contain black and white photographs.

Nos. 1 (1919) – 7 (1921).
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Commissioner for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. Reports, 1951-1965.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1969 
3 reel(s)

The Commissioner for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes was responsible for the social, economic, and political welfare of the lower castes of Indian society and the tribal groups living in the Indian hinterland. This collection contains his annual reports to the Indian government on the status of those groups. These reports contain exhaustive statistical and descriptive material on all aspects of life among the castes and tribes. A few of the topics covered include education, economics, housing, and public health. The collection also includes descriptions of government programs to improve their condition.

A table of contents and an index to appendices appears at the beginning of each report. Reports for 1973/74 to 1978/79 and 1980/81 are available (DS422.S3 A3).

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Curator of Ancient Monuments. Preservation of National Monuments: Graeco Buddhist Sculptures from Yusufzai

Calcutta: The Curator’s Office, Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, 1981., 1885
1 reel(s)

H.H. Cole initiated an excavation on the Swat and Buneyr frontiers in the Yusufzai District during the winters of 1883 and 1884. A large number of Graeco-Buddhist sculptures were discovered in 12 ancient monastic sites. There are 30 photos of the discoveries.

Published by order of the governor general in council for the office of Curator of Ancient Monuments in India. Introduction signed: H.H. Cole, January 1885.

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Education Commission. Report of the Indian Education Commission Appointed by the Resolution of the Government of India Dated 3rd of February, 1882.

Calcutta: Superintendent of Government Printing, 1882 
1 reel(s)

The Indian Education Commission was appointed to study the state of education in India, up to that time. The report contains information on the history of education in India, indigenous schools, primary, secondary, and collegiate education, female education, legislation, financial summary, recommendations, statistical tables, and more.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

India. History of India.

London: The Grolier Society (Microfilmed by the Library of Congress.), 1906 
2 reel(s)

This is a collection of nine volumes about the history of India from antiquity to the early nineteen-hundreds written by authorities of each period. Volume I: “From the Earliest Times to the Sixth Century, B.C.” by Romesh Chunder Dutt. Volume II: “From the Sixth Century B.C. to the Mohammedan Conquest, Including the Invasion of Alexander the Great” by Vincent A. Smith. Volume III: “Mediaeval India from the Mohammedan Conquest to the Reign of Akbar the Great” by Stanley Lane-Poole. Volume IV: “From the Reign of Akbar the Great to the Fall of the Moghul Empire” by Stanley Lane-Poole. Volume V: “The Mohammedan Period as Described by Its Own Historians” by Sir Henry Miers Elliot. Volume VI: “From the First European Settlements to the Founding of the English East India Company” by Sir William Wilson Hunter. Volume VII: “The European Struggle for Indian Supremacy in the Seventeenth Century” by William Wilson Hunter. Volume VIII: “From the Close of the Seventeenth Century to the Present Time” by Sir Alfred Comyn Lyall. Volume IX: “Historic Accounts of India by Foreign Travellers [sic] Classic, Oriental, and Occidental” collected and arranged by A.V. Williams Jackson. Accounts include those from the Greek writer Strabo, a Chinese-Buddhist pilgrim, a Persian geographer, a Dutch missionary, a French voyager, an Italian traveler, and more.

Each volume begins with a table of contents and list of photographs. The inside cover of each volume states “Edition de Luxe: Limited to One Thousand Copies for England and North America.” Reel 1 contains volumes 1-4; reel 2 contains volumes 5-9.

FILM MISC - Request access

India. Home Department. Political Section. Proceedings. Selections. Series A-S.

New Delhi, India: National Archives of India, 1968 
19 reel(s)

N. Gerald Barrier selected material from the Political Section of the Home Department dealing with political and religious developments in India between 1907 and 1938. Topics filmed include Sikh regiments and sedition, a proposed amendment of the Post Office Act to stop transmission of seditious materials, reports on the vernacular press, a petition against cow slaughter, the prohibition of Swadesh Sewak, the revised constitution and rules of the All-India Muslim League, a Sikh plot in Shanghai, the extension of the Seditious Meeting Act to the Punjab, the forfeiture of Comrade and Hamdard, Bengal and Punjab rules under the Defence of India Act, and the Lahore Conspiracy trial.

An uncataloged guide, National Archives of India: Political Records, Filmed Spring, 1969, available in the Special Collections Office lists the contents of each reel.

FILM 11:2-3 - Request access

India. Home Department. Selections from the Native Newspapers Published in the Punjab, 1864-1924.

New Delhi, India: National Archives of India, 1962 
35 reel(s)

In response to the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857, Parliament passed the Government of India Act of 1858 in which the British Crown assumed control over India, thus replacing the East India Company. The British gradually consolidated their power among the Sikhs and Muslims of the north with an eye to stopping Russian intrusions into the Indian subcontinent. During the period covered by this collection, the India Home Office compiled weekly reports of information found in the vernacular newspapers of the Punjab, the Northwestern Provinces, the Muslim province of Oudh, and the Central Provinces. Each report contains brief English summaries of articles on many diverse subjects.

This material is arranged chronologically. In the early years, a list of the newspapers consulted appear at the end of each weekly report. In the later years, each report has a table of contents indicating subjects discussed and newspaper sources.

FILM 16:4 - Request access

India. Hyderabad. Archaeological Dept. Annual Reports, 1930-1933.

Calcutta: Baptist Mission Press; Microfilmed by the NY Public Library, 1933
1 reel(s)

These annual reports include those on personnel, tours, survey of monuments, conservation, epigraphy, numismatics, museum, publications, library, photographs and drawings, expenditures, and the tour programs for each year. They also include various appendices consisting of diaries, statements, lists, and black and white photographs.

Report year ends Oct. 5.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

India India Census, [1872-1951. Microfiche Ed.].

Zug, Switzerland: InterDocumentation, 1966 
4458 fiche

Great Britain, in its colonial rule of India, initiated census studies at the beginning of the nineteenth century. By 1872, the census contained most of the essential demographic, social, and economic tables, although it still did not cover all the territories controlled by the British. The census of 1881 achieved a more complete coverage and a more extensive classification of demographic, economic, and social characteristics. Since 1881, a new census every ten years provides a relatively complete and continuous demographic record of the region. This collection attempts to collect all census records from 1872 to 1951 in one place, though little sub-provincial census material is included. A large body of anthropological literature has developed around the census.

An uncataloged guide, India: Census, 1872-1951, available in the Special Collections Office, provides a list of contents of the microfiche.
NOT IN MERLIN
MICF 310.3

AVAILABLE ONLINE

India. Legislative Council. Proceedings

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
1008 fiche

Legislative Council proceedings in Calcutta date from May 20, 1854. The power to make laws and regulations had up to that time, belonged to the Governor General of India in Council. On May 20, the Council of India accepted the responsibility, acting in its legislative capacity as the Legislative Council. Discussions of various bills under consideration reveal the events, background, and public perceptions surrounding the passage of each act. The first series (1854-1861) is numbered volumes 1 to 7, the new series (1862-1920) is numbered volumes 1 to 59. The title varies.

The proceedings are in chronological order. Indexes to bills presented, subjects discussed, and persons involved can usually be found at the beginning or end of each volume.

MICF 328.454502

India. Legislature. Council of State. Debates. Official Report, 1921-1947.

umba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
640 fiche

This collection contains the official minutes of debates carried on in the Indian Legislative Council of State. As such, it is a source of information about official Indian attitudes towards the events of the period. The period from 1921 until Indian independence in 1947 saw the rise of Indian nationalism, Gandhi's drive for independence through non-cooperation, Indian involvement in World War II, the desperate attempts by Gandhi to create a new India with united Muslim and Hindu factions, and, finally, with the failure of unity, the partition of India into a Hindu and a Muslim state.

The debates are arranged chronologically with a table of contents for each day's debate. A separate index for 1921 to 1929 appears at the beginning of the fiche collection. Volumes for 1921 to 1927 are also numbered volumes 1-9.

MICF 328.4502

India. Legislature. Legislative Assembly. Debates. Official Report, 1921-1947.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 
2489 fiche

Debates within the Legislative Assembly provide information on the social, political, and economic issues facing India in the provinces as well as on the national level. The period from 1921 to 1947 saw enormous and complex problems develop in India. On the national level, the issue of independence caused confrontation throughout the countryside between the British and Indian nationalists. Also, the questions of Indian participation in World War II and her status after the war were debated. Within the country, various religious groups competed for power and autonomy. All of this agitation had a crucial bearing on the political shape of the Indian subcontinent after independence.

These debates are arranged chronologically. An index to the debates is provided at the beginning of each annual volume.

MICF 328.45402

India. Linguistic Survey. Linguistic Survey of India

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1966 
341 fiche

Using the linguistic tables of the 1891 census and estimates by local officials of dialects spoken, George Abraham Grierson directed the compilation of a linguistic survey of India. The survey excludes the regions of Madras, Burma, Hyderabad, and Mysore. The volumes include a comparative vocabulary of Indian languages, a comparative dictionary of the Indo-Aryan languages, and discussions of the Mon-Khmer and Tai language families, the Tibeto-Burman languages, the Munda and Dravidian languages, the various Indo-Aryan languages, the Eranian family, and "Gipsy" languages.

A table of contents for the collection is on the first microfiche.
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 491.1

India Office Library. India Office Records: Judicial and Public Departmental Papers. London, 1883-1888 and 1909-1929.

London: Kodak, 1968 
9 reel(s)

N. Gerald Barrier selected material from the judicial and public departmental papers in the India Office Library. Subjects reproduced include the Lahore bomb outrage, Hindu-Muslim riots in Velore and Amritsar, the Lahore conspiracy, Sikh agitation in the Punjab, emigration policy, the Delhi conspiracy case, Sikhs in China, Indians in Canada, resolutions passed by the Sikh League Amritsar, the Penal Code Amendment Bill, the King Committee on Bribery, and the Rawalpindi and Multan riots.

An uncataloged guide, Great Britain, Office of Commonwealth Relations: India Office library. India Office Records, available in the Special Collections Office briefly lists the contents of each reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:4 - Request access

India. Press Information Bureau. General Elections, 1967

Chicago: University of Chicago Library, 1968 
3 reel(s)

Returns of the 1967 election, arranged geographically by voting district, give the total electorate, the total votes polled, invalid votes, the names of candidates, their party, and the number of votes received. In 1966 Indira Gandhi, Nehru's daughter, became the first woman prime minister of India. Prior to the election of 1967, food shortages, inflation, and poor industrial performance created domestic unrest. The right wing of her party, led by former minister of finance, Morarji Desai, challenged her leadership. The largest opposition groups emerged on the right: Swatantra and Jan Sangh. In the election, Gandhi's Congress Party suffered great losses.

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:3 - Request access

Indian Annual Register, 1920-1947, Calcutta.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Center,

The period covered by this collection saw the rise of Indian nationalism and the drive toward independence, which finally proved successful in 1947. But the growth of nationalism also saw an increasing rift between the majority Hindus, led by Gandhi and Nehru in the Congress Party, and the large Muslim minority organized under the Muslim League. This rift finally led to the creation of Pakistan in 1947. The Indian Annual Register is an digest of public activities in India. The material contains such items as proceedings of the Imperial and Legislative Councils, records of such political movements as the Indian National Congress, relations with their countries, as well as government memoranda and correspondence.

The material is arranged by volume number in chronological order. There is a table of contents at the beginning of each volume.

MICF 954

Indian Institute of Public Opinion. Quarterly Economic Report, 1954-1970.

Ithaca, N.Y.: Photo Science of Cornell University, 
3 reel(s)

The quarterly reports include features that analyze the changing structure of the Indian economy. These features discuss such things as regional changes in income, the structure of the money supply, the roles of currency and bank money, trade wars, political activities that affect the economic climate, and changing patterns of consumption. Conclusions to each feature analyze the patterns and attempt to predict trends. Questions directed to business leaders extract a collective summary of Indian business opinion in regard to a specific subject. Abundant charts and tables illustrate patterns in such areas as energy consumption, industrial production, growth in selected industries, and railway freight traffic.

Each quarterly report has a table of contents.

FILM MISC - Request access

Indian National Congress. Reports and Proceedings, 1885-1921, Vols. 1-36.

Tumba, Sweden: Inter-Documentation Company,

In 1885, representatives from all parts of India met for the first time in Bombay to discuss various issues concerning India and to offer recommendations to the British colonial administration. This collection provides summaries of the proceedings from the annual congresses until 1921. This period saw the administration of Lord Curzon succeeded by the Morley-Minto reforms with the India Councils Act of 1909. Many of these reforms and the rise of Indian nationalism grew out of the Indian National Congresses. The period also saw disruptions in colonial government created by World War I and the agitation for increasing self-rule after the war.

Note: The material is arranged chronologically.

MICF 1888

Jacob, S. S. (Samuel Swinton), Sir. Jeypore Portfolio of Architectural Details.

London: Bernard Quaritch; Photo-lithographed by W. Griggs and Sons, Ltd., 1890 
1 reel(s)

Prepared under the supervision of then-colonel S.S. Jacob, an engineer to the Jeypore state of India, this is not an exhaustive collection but contains works in or near Delhi, Agra, and parts of Rajputana. Part I: Copings and Bases. Part II: Pillars – Caps and Bases. Part III: Carved Doors. Part IV: Brackets. Part V: Arches. Part VI: Balustrades. There are 573 plates in this collection.

"Issued under the patronage of His Highness Maharaja Sawai Madhu Singh, G.C.S.I. of Jeypore."
Also available in hard copy as NA1507.J6 J2 1977.
FILM NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Janmabhumi.

Masulipatam, India: Microfilmed by the University of Missouri, 1970 
2 reel(s)

This weekly publication was edited by B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya and later published in Masulipatam, India. Its contents include: Notes and Comments; Public Affairs; Foreign Affairs; New Currents of Life; Reviews; Communications; and Letters to the Editor.

“A Weekly published from the Andhradesa and devoted to Problems of National Reconstruction.” Ellis has volumes 1-5 and 7. 1919-1922, 1924-1926.

FILM

Kaye, Sir Cecil. Communism in India

Delhi: Government of India Press, 1926 
1 reel(s)

Kaye was the former director of the Intelligence Bureau of the Home Department for the Government of India. Includes an index at the end, followed by a short report entitled “Communism in India, 1924-1927.” The film is overexposed and unreadable after page 23 of this second report.

At head of title: “Secret. Property of the Government of India.”v

FILM MISC - Request access

Krishna Sastri, Hosakote. South-Indian Images of Gods and Goddesses.

Madras, India: Madras Government Press, 1916
1 reel(s)

The chapters of this book cover the origin of and rituals followed in temples, Brahma, Vishnu, Siva, Sakti-Goddesses, village deities, and miscellaneous deities. There are 162 photos and four plates of illustrations plus a list of Sanskrit books used by the author for consultation.

Published under the authority of the Government of Madras. The author was the Assistant Archaeological Superintendent for Epigraphy, Southern Circle.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Library of Congress. Census Library Project. Census and Vital Statistics of India and Pakistan Contained in Official Publications and Famine Documents.

Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1950 
1 reel(s)

This annotated bibliography by Henry J. Dubester, Chief of the Census Library Project, contains provincial censuses prior to 1881, censuses of 1872, 1881, 1891, 1901, 1911, 1921, 1931, 1941, village statistics, other official publications, administration reports, public health reports, and famine documents. There is a geographical index at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Major Studies of the Legislative Reference Service/Congressional Research Service.

Washington, D.C.: 1977 
17 reel(s)

This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.

FILM BOOK 0311 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Marshall, John Hubert Sir, and Albert Foucher. Monuments of Sanchi.

Calcutta: Government of India Press, 1947 
1 reel(s)

This book contains descriptions and photos of the Buddhist monuments at Sanchi, India. Part I: The Monuments. Part II: The Art of Sanchi. Part III: The Meaning of the Sculptures. Part IV: Inscriptions. It contains over 100 plates.

The texts of inscriptions were edited, translated, and annotated by N.G. Majumdar.

FILM MISC - Request access

Microfilmed India Office Library Records; Selected by Robert I. Crane and Richard Park.

Ann Arbor, Mich: University of Michigan Library, 1959 
45 reel(s)

India Office Library records selected by Crane and Park include a wide variety of printed and manuscript sources pertaining chiefly to the period from 1859 to 1920. These include political secret files, reports from the India Council and India National Congress, letters and telegrams from India, selections from English and native language newspapers published in India, proceedings from various meetings, pamphlets, and tracts. Topics selected include aspects of the British administration of India, Indian nationalism, Indian foreign relations, military affairs, the native army, the National Congress movement, Europeans in India, educational matters, proposed legislation, and public works

NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:3-4 - Request access

Guides:

Calendar of items microfilmed at the India Office, London.

The guide provides a detailed list of the contents of each reel. Ellis Library lacks reels 12 and 13.

Publications Proscribed by the Government of India.

Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 1985
35 reel(s)

The rising tide of nationalism in India in the early twentieth century and the mounting communal tension between Hindus and Muslims found expression in the variety of propagandist literature published in both Indian and western languages. This literature emanated from movements in India and from expatriate communities in Europe and the United States. The British government attempted to suppress much of this material through censorship This collection contains just over 1600 items banned by the British government in India prior to 1947. It contains monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, and posters. Within the collection the researcher will find material on such topics as the Hindu-Muslim conflict, Islam, Sikh politics, boycotts, British administration, communism, Ghandi, the “Mutiny” of 1857, the Indian National Congress, armed forces, the non-cooperation campaigns, World War II, “Quit India,” and patriotic poetry. Titles reproduced are from collections in the India Office Library and Records and the Department of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books, British Library.

FILM BOOK 0013 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Publications proscribed by the government of India.

The items are arranged according to the language of publication. Within each language section the items are in alphabetical order by author or by title.

Punjab. Education Department. Report on Popular Education in the Punjab and its Dependencies for the Year 1860-[1901].

London: Recordak Microfilm Service, 1968 
6 reel(s)

The reports discuss financial and general statistics, universities and government colleges, primary and secondary schools, private institutions under government inspection, normal schools, scholarships, employment of students in the public service, the English language in Indian education, and the Book Department. Appendices include extracts from reports made by principals and inspectors. Later reports discuss schools of law, medicine, and art, Moslem education, the education of native chiefs, and educational conferences.

The title of the report varies. A table of contents usually precedes the report for each year. Ellis Library does not have the reports for 1862-1863, 1865-1866, or 1879-1880.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 11:3 - Request access

Punjab (India). Financial Commissioner’s Office. Report on the Working of the Income Tax Acts.

Punjab (India). Financial Commissioner's Office. REPORT ON THE WORKING OF THE INCOME TAX ACTS.

Lahore: Various publishers, 
1 reel(s)

This reel contains income tax reports for the years1869-72, 1886-91, and 1891-1924.

Microfilmed by the India Office Library, London.

FILM MISC - Request access

Punjab (India). Memorandum Submitted by the Government of the Punjab to the Indian Statutory Commission.

London: Recordak Microfilm Service, 1963 
1 reel(s)

This film contains volume 10 of the Report of the Indian Statutory Commission, held at the India Office Library with reflections on a few Punjab political problems by Gulshan Rai Bhatnagar.

FILM MISC - Request access

Punjab Legislative Assembly. Punjab Legislative Assembly. Debates 1937-1946.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
445 fiche

This collection contains volumes 1-25 of the daily official reports of the Legislative Assembly of the British-Indian province of Punjab. Each volume is a verbatim record of the debates of one session of the assembly. Two major cities within the Punjab are Lahore, which is where the assembly met, and Amritsar, which is the center of Sikh culture and religion. The records cover the period from immediately after the implementation of the Government of India Act (April 1, 1937) to shortly before partition in 1947 when the region was divided into the Indian Punjab state and the Pakistani Punjab province. The collection illustrates the processes of Indian government during a period of increasing nationalist and religious tension in the Punjab.

The records are in chronological order. Each daily report has a table of contents on the title page. Some volumes are preceded by a table of contents and some conclude with an index.

MICF 328.454502

Punjab. Legislative Council. Debates: Official Reports, 1921-1936.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
565 fiche

This collection contains volumes 1-29 of the official daily reports of the Legislative Council of the Lieutenant Governor for the British Indian province of the Punjab (now divided into the Indian Punjab State and the Pakistani Punjab Province) during the period from 1921 to 1936. The Punjab was the frontier province of north-east British-India. Two of its major cities are Lahore, where the council met, and Amitsar which is the center of Sikh culture and religion. Each volume of the collection is a verbatim record of the debates of one session of the council. The Punjab legislative council was established to make laws and regulations under provisions of the Indian Councils Acts of 1861 and 1892. The council was dissolved in 1936 and replaced by the party system of government within the new Punjab legislative assembly as dictated by the new Indian constitution. This transformation occurred as a result of the 1935 Government of India Act which granted full autonomy to the provinces. The period covered includes the depression and is one of increasing religious and racial tension. The collection includes material on education, public health, industry, irrigation, religion and corruption.

The records are in chronological order. The daily reports include tables of contents.

MICF 328.454502

Punjab. Legislative Council. Proceedings, 1897-1918.

Tumba, Sweden: International Documentation Centre, 1968 
132 fiche

This collection contains volumes 1-9 of the proceedings of the legislative council of the Lieutenant Governor for the British-Indian province of the Punjab (now divided into the Indian Punjab State and the Pakistani Punjab Province). Each volume is a verbatim record of the debates of one session of the council. Two major cities within the Punjab are Lahore which is where the council met, and Amitsar, which is the center of Sikh culture and religion. The Punjab legislative council was established to make laws and regulations under the provisions of the Indian Councils Acts of 1861 and 1892. The 1861 act contemplated the establishment of the council but it was left to the Governor General as to when it should be implemented. The older provinces received their legislative councils at once though it was only in 1886 that legislatures were constituted in most north-western provinces. Finally in 1897 the Punjab, the frontier province of north-west British-India received its legislative council along with Burma, the eastern frontier province of British-India. The 1861 Indian Councils Act would have severely limited the actions of the Punjab legislative council because it prevented local councils from repealing or amending any existing laws or regulations made after the passing of the act by the Governor General. This limitation was removed by section 5 of the 1892 act. Section 2 of the 1892 act conferred on the council the authorization to discuss the annual financial statement and budgetary scrutiny was to be the main business of the council. The collection is a record of debates and question and answer sessions covering such topics as education, sanitation, public health, crime, famine, industry, and transport. There is also material on the Punjab role in World War I and the distribution of land to pensioned soldiers. These subjects may be of particular interest as much of the Indian army was recruited in the Punjab.

The records are in chronological order. The later volumes include a table of contents and an index.

MICF 328.454502

Times (London, England) Intelligence Files: Ceylon, August 29, 1941 September 17, 1962.

London: The Times, 1941
1 reel(s)

These clippings cover the history, politics, and government of what is now Sri Lanka from 1941-1962.

Composed of clippings from The Times.

FILM MISC - Request access

Times (London, England) Intelligence Files: India and Pakistan, December 12, 1938 July 29, 1969.

London: The Times, 1938
1 reel(s)

These clippings cover the history, politics, and governments of India and Pakistan from 1938-1969.

Note: Composed of clippings from The Times.

FILM MISC - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of India and Burma, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 335; v. National Archives record group 59.
26 reel(s)

The documents in this decimal file cover the period of increasing anti-British agitation in India. Consequently the reports deal mainly with the activities of individuals and groups struggling for Indian home rule. There is information concerning civil unrest, non-cooperation campaigns, and tribal uprisings in the Northwest and Northeast. The dispatches also report on political trials and suppression of the nationalist movement led by the Indian National Congress. The dispatches devote attention to the activities of Indian students in the United States and to communist propaganda inside India. Other topics dealt with include the war with Afghanistan in 1919, communal and religious conflicts in India (between Hindus, Muslims, and Sikhs), government, the judiciary and police organization, and the economic file of the country.

Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications, pp. 74-75 provides a summary of reel contents. A complete list of the documents included is on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.

FILM 3:13 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and India and Burma, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 343; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Most of the documents in this small Department of State decimal file relate to the negotiation and ratification of treaties of arbitration and conciliation and the acceptance of India as an original signatory to the Kellogg-Briand Pact for the renunciation of war. The appeal by the United States for the resumption of commerce and navigation is documented. An 1833 handwritten document to the president of the United States from the King of Burma expresses the desire for amity and commerce between the two nations. Documents that recount Baptist missionary Eugene Chanced's role as emissary are also included.

An introduction to the collection and a list of contents precede the documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 4:2 - Request access