Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Major Studies of the Legislative Reference Service/Congressional Research Service.

Washington, D.C.: 1977 
17 reel(s)

This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.

FILM BOOK 0311

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Brazil, 1809-1813, 1868-1869, 1889-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1951 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 121; v. National Archives record group 59.
27 reel(s)

These selected reels are a portion of a 74-reel collection of consular dispatches from United States ministers to Brazil from 1809-1906. Some of the topics covered include claims of United States citizens against Brazil, slavery and the slave trade in Brazil, operations of United States naval vessels in the South Atlantic, and trade between Brazil and the United States. The material contains correspondence from United States diplomatic officials in Brazil along with enclosures of pertinent information like pamphlets, newspapers, and other printed material. Private correspondence offers more personal, unofficial views on particular topics.

An uncataloged guide, Dispatches from United States Ministers to Brazil, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains a list of reel contents, a description of the topics covered in the material, an index of the authors, and a list of related material in National Archives microfilm. Ellis Library has reels 1-2, 36, and 50-74 of the collection. Reel 1 contains a useful register of correspondence.

FILM 1:11

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Brazilian Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1824-1829.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 49; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

This collection contains a register of notes received by the Department of State from the Brazilian legation in the United States between 1824 and 1906 and the full content of notes received between April 5, 1824 and September 3, 1829. The dispatches concern a wide variety of subjects such as the recognition of Brazilian independence, the establishment of diplomatic relations between the United States and Brazil, appointments of diplomatic representatives, proposals for commercial treaties and military alliances, relations with third countries, conflicts between Brazil and Argentina, slavery, and piracy.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel. There is a short introductory note and a register at the beginning of the reel. Ellis Library only has reel one of this collection that covers the period 1824-1906.

FILM 1:7

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Brazil, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 519; v. National Archives record group 59.
54 reel(s)

This decimal file contains material on the political situation in Brazil between 1910 and 1929. It covers presidential elections, rivalries between major political figures, army and navy revolts, provincial uprisings, and communist activities. The collection also provides information on the legislative and judicial branches of government, on constitutional and legal matters, and on the army and the navy. The records cover the financial situation of the Brazilian government and of the governments of individual Brazilian states, as well as information about loans, debts, and exchange rates. There is also information about the activities of American companies in Brazil and about the economic life of that country, especially the production of coffee and rubber and mining concessions.

A complete list of the documents included in the collection is on reels 1-3. A summary of reel contents is given in SPEC-R CD3026 .A522 1974 Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 64. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of States decimal classification system.

FILM 6:8-6:9

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Brazil and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 526; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

Negotiation and ratification of treaties of arbitration, naturalization, navigation, and for the limitation of arms between Brazil and other countries in South America, in Central America, Europe, and Asia are discussed in this collection. Issues of dispute between Brazil and Uruguay involved the Lake Merim-River Yaguaron boundary questions, pelagic sealing, and the 1911 fur seal treaty. Documents in the decimal file concerning Brazil and Paraguay focus on the delimitation of their mutual frontier from the mouth of the Apa River to the outlet of Bahia Negra and the use of the Paraguay River by a steamship service.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Brazil and Other States, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:9

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Brazil, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 525.; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The negotiation and ratification of treaties by the United States and Brazil are the subjects of a majority of the documents in this Department of State decimal file. A review of all multilateral treaties dating from 1875 is provided. The collection includes documents on the appointment of commissioners to the Permanent International Commission on Arbitration. The papers on the Treaty for the Renunciation of War (Kellog-Briand Pact) include State Department correspondence and popular comment from press reports. Brazil's appeal for the regulation of immigration of blacks to Brazil is documented in the portion of the collection dealing with the 1922 immigration treaty. There is also a discussion of United States contracts to build battleships for Argentina and Chile and the promise to aid these countries in the event of attacks by Brazil. Radio influence on Brazilian-American relations is noted in correspondence describing KDKA's (Pittsburgh, PA) programs in honor of Brazil's Independence Day.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Brazil, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:9