Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Colombian Legations in the United States to the Department of State, 1810-1834.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 51; v. National Archives Record Group 59.
2 reel(s)

The collection contains a register of notes received by the Department of State from the Colombian legation in the United States between 1820 and 1853. It also contains letters and dispatches transmitted to the Department of State by the representatives of Colombia and Venezuela between 1810 and 1834. The letters concern the declaration of independence and the war of national liberation of Colombia and Venezuela (which between 1821 and 1829 together formed the federation of Gran Colombia). They reflect the attempts of both republics to establish diplomatic relations with the United States. Included in the collection are letters of the hero of the Colombian and Venezuelan liberation struggle, Simon Bolivar.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel in this collection. There is a description of the collection at the beginning of the first reel. Ellis Library only has reels 1-2 of this eleven reel collection which covers the period 1810-1906.

FILM 1:7

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.