Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Eichmann, Adolf 1906-1962. Adolf Eichmann: Papers Relating to Adolf Eichmann Compiled by the Weiner [I.E. Wiener] Library, London, 1961.

London: Micro Methods, 1961 
1 reel(s)

Papers spanning the period from 1934 to 1960 relate to Adolf Eichmann's role as a member of the Gestapo. Wartime papers discuss the evacuation of Jews and Poles from the eastern territories and France, Belgium, and Holland, the deportations to Auschwitz, and attempts to prevent the emigration of Jews to Palestine. Postwar documents reveal Eichmann's role in the extermination of the Jews at Auschwitz and other concentration camps, and the use of forced labor. Arranged chronologically, most of the documents are in German, with a few of the later reports in English. The index provides short English summaries.

An index at the beginning of the reel indicates the contents of each document.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Eighteenth Century French Fiction.

Cambridge, MA: General Microfilm Company, 
12 reel(s)

70 titles.

An uncataloged contents list is available in the Special Collections office.

FILM 4D21:15:1 - Request access

France. Journal Officiel De La Republique Francaise. Edition Des Lois Et Decrets.

Paris: Editions sur Microfiches des Journaux Officiels,

This is the official daily publication of the French government that prints all laws, decrees, administrative orders, instructions, circulars, and other documents issued by all branches of the French government. These include the president, the Council of Ministers, individual ministries, the National Assembly, the Senate, and other governmental agencies. The journal also includes the official announcements about registration and dissolution of public organizations. The chronological and alphabetical indexes to all the material are published monthly and semi-annually as additional supplements.

Earlier issues of this publication, starting with the year 1870, may be found under the call number 328.44 J82.

MICF 340.0944

France. Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres. Rapport Sur La Situation De La Syrie Et Du Liban 1922-1938.

New York, N.Y.: Library of Congress, 1973
2 reel(s)

After Turkey's defeat in World War I, the League of Nations awarded France a mandate over Syria and Lebanon. Although Nationalist revolts began early in the twentieth century, French troops did not leave until 1946. While France occupied the country, the Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres issued annual reports. The subjects covered in the reports include the general organization of the countries and their affairs, the political situation, security, the administration of justice, education, public assistance, the economic situation, and the budget.

A table of contents appears at the beginning of each annual report. We have reports for 1922 through 1938.

FILM MISC - Request access

France. Ministere des Colonies. Rapport Du Gouvernement Francais A L’ Assemblee Generale Des Nations Unies Sur L’ Administration Du Cameroun Place Sous La Tutelle De La France, 1921-1938.

New York: Andronicus, 1972
2 reel(s)

In World War I, French and British troops occupied the Cameroons. After the war the territory ceded in 1911 was rejoined to French Equatorial Africa, and in 1919 the remainder of the Cameroons was divided into French and British zones, which became mandates under the League of Nations. While France occupied the country, the Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres issued annual reports. Subjects include slavery, travel, arms and munitions, demographics, maps, and more.

Title varies. A table of contents appears at the beginning of each annual report.

FILM MISC - Request access

France. Ministere des Colonies. Rapport Du Gouvernement Francais A L’ Assemblee Generale Des Nations Unies Sur L’Administration Du Togo, 1920-1938.

New York, N.Y.: Andronicus, 1963
2 reel(s)

At the outset of World War I, the Germans surrendered their colony in Togoland (part of Ghana and the Republic of Togo) to British and French colonial troops. After the war, the League of Nations awarded France and Great Britain a mandate over the former colony, with the eastern two-thirds under the control of the French. French Togo was administered by a commissioner assisted by a consultative executive council of officers. The annual reports of the French administration discuss such matters as slavery, legislation, economic measures, public hygiene, native peoples, financial matters, and demographic statistics.

Title varies. A table of contents appears at the beginning of each annual report for 1921 to 1938.

FILM MISC - Request access

French Revolutionary Pamphlets

Louisville, Ky.: Falls City Microcards, 1961
5100 fiche

Pamphlets from the Sarick and Hayden bibliographies and from other collections have been reproduced. The collection includes pamphlets, serious and satirical, and official publications issued from 1787 to 1800. The period of the National Constituent Assembly is especially well represented. The legislative bodies issued resolutions, laws, committee reports, and discourses or opinions. Pamphlet topics include the financial crisis, the calling of the Estates General, the disorders in Brittany, the fall of the Bastille, the formation of the new government of Paris, and the disorders in Paris during the summer of 1789. The titles in the microform collection were issued first on microcards; later shipments were issued on microfiche. The researcher with a specific author or pamphlet in mind should check both the microcard and microfiche storage locations, where the pamphlets are in order by author.

MICF 944.04

Guides:

New York Public Library. French revolutionary pamphlets : a check list of the Talleyrand & other collections

Saricks, Ambrose. A bibliography of the Frank E. Melvin collection of pamphlets of the French Revolution in the University of Kansas Libraries.

Letters of Marque, Declarations Against France, Spain and the United Provinces, 1777-1783, in the Public Record Office.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1985
British Records Relating to America in Microform
8 reel(s)

During the War for American Independence, the British Admiralty issued the letters of marque to private shipowners authorizing them to raid the shipping of France, Spain, and the Netherlands, in addition to raiding that of the rebellious colonies. To obtain a letter of marque, a ship owner had to supply detailed information including an exact description of the vessel, as well as the port of origin and name of owners. With these letters of marque, shipowners could then seize enemy ships and bring them to any British port to be condemned and sold, with prize money going to the owner, captain, and crew.

FILM BOOK 0114 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Minchinton, Walter E. Letters of marque, declarations against France, Spain, and United Provinces, 1777-1783 (HCA 26/33-59) in the Public Record Office, London [guide]  PDF

The guide contains information on the provenance of the collection, historical background on letters of marque, and the use of letters of marque against France, Spain, and the Netherlands, a table of contents for the film, and a bibliography of related works.

Also available under call number  HF3505.6 .M484 1985.

Lissagaray, Hippolyte Prosper Oliver. History of the Commune of 1871.

New York: International Publication, Co., 1898 
1 reel(s)

The Paris Commune (March – May, 1871) was the first workers government ever created in France. Lissagaray was a soldier in the Commune who witnessed first-hand the massacre of its members by the French government. The establishment and purpose of the Commune was the abolishment all class rule, and it was considered the greatest Socialist movement of the century. This edition of the book was banned by the French government. Translator Eleanor Marx Aveling was Karl Marx’s youngest daughter.

This is a second edition; translated by Eleanor Marx Aveling. This book is also online athttp://www.marxists.org/history/france/archive/lissagaray/.

FILM MISC - Request access

Morris, Gouverneur. Diary and Letters of Gouverneur Morris, Minister of the United States to France: Member of the Constitutional Convention, Etc.

New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1888
1 reel(s)

Morris (1752-1816), a Philadelphia lawyer fluent in French, was influential in the relations between the United States and France during the American and French revolutions. This two volume collection of his writings was edited by his granddaughter, Anne Cary Morris. Volume I covers his early life to 1792. Volume II covers 1792 to his death in 1816.

Contains a subject index at the end of the second volume.

FILM MISC - Request access

Salon (Exhibition: Paris, France. Catalogues of the Paris Salon 1673-1880 (Titles Vary).

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwick Healey,
262 fiche

A list of the contents is available in the Special Collections office.

MICF 2742

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in France, 1789-1869.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1943 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 34; v. National Archives record group 59.
67 reel(s)

Communications from United States ministers in France to the secretaries of state from 1789 to 1869 are reproduced in this collection. Ellis Library has reels 1-67 of a 128 reel collection that covers the years from 1789 to 1906. This period saw the outbreak of the French Revolution, the rise of Napoleon and his wars with Europe, the reaction after the Congress of Vienna, the accession of Louis Philippe and Napoleon III to the throne, the French intervention in Mexico, and the diplomatic conflict with Prussia. The material also includes despatches from the Netherlands, Poland, and other parts of Europe. A register of the correspondence from 1789 to 1870 appears on reel one. The material is arranged chronologically in most cases.

An uncataloged guide, Despatches from United States Ministers to France, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains information on the provenance of the collection, a list of United States officials in France sending correspondence through 1825, and a list of related materials on National Archives microfilm.

FILM 1:4 -1:5 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between France and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 569; v. National Archives record group 59.
7 reel(s)

Post-war defensive or military treaties which affected France are discussed in this Department of State decimal file. Included are treaties of arbitration, commerce and navigation, war and peace, alliance, and extradition treaties negotiated between France and most African, Asian, and European nations. Boundary disputes involving Algeria, Libya, and French Equatorial Africa (Gabon, Central African Empire, Chad, and Zaire) are discussed. The International Boundary Commission which was established to arbitrate the boundary dispute between French Guinea and Liberia is fully documented.

A complete list of the contents of this collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:12 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of France, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1984 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 560; v. National Archives record group 59.
162 reel(s)

This collection consists of the reports and materials sent to the Department of State from American diplomatic representatives in France and in French overseas possessions (Indo-China, Algeria, Tunis, Africa, and others). The reports deal with current political matters such as elections, changes of cabinet, and political parties and their stands on different issues, the organization of government, military affairs such as attitudes of the officer corps towards the conflict with Germany after World War I, army organization in the 1920s, dislocations of units, problems of manpower, and military maneuvers, social matters including religion and church, fine arts, sports manners and customs, economic statistics, organization and functioning of industry, labor relations, financial conditions, such as government budgets, national debt, government borrowing, currency and exchange, communications and transport, merchant navy, press, and science.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of France, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents included is filmed on reels 1-6. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:10-12 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and France, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 568; v. National Archives record group 59.
5 reel(s)

Documents that relate to the negotiation of a treaty to provide perpetual peace comprise approximately one-third of this Department of State decimal file. The papers document Premier Aristide Briand's efforts towards world peace. Premier Briand firmly supported the idea of renunciation of war as an instrument of national policy. He was a principal author of the treaty that is commonly called the Kellogg Pact or the Kellogg-Briand Pact, in which sixty nations agreed to outlaw war. Other documents discuss possible cession to the United States of French territories (Martinique, Guadeloupe, and the Society Islands) to settle war debts, the Anglo, French, and American defensive alliance, and American support for visits between governors of the Philippine Islands, the Dutch East Indies, and French Indochina to promote trade. Treaty discussions relate to aerial navigation, naturalization, immigration, and the so-called 12-Mile Treaty to control searches in territorial waters, especially for illegal liquor and drugs.

A complete list of the documents appears at the beginning of the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:12 - Request access

United States. Embassy. France. United States and France: Correspondence Dealing with Economic Relations, 1811-1930.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1975 
7 reel(s)

In an effort to ascertain why economic relations between the United States and France have been so difficult, an attempt was made to examine and analyze all the records from 1811 to 1930 in the American Embassy in Paris dealing with economic questions. All relevant documents were copied. The documents (1816-1823) are principally the communications which passed between the United States Department of State and the United States Ambassador to France, Albert Gallatin. They relate to commercial agreements, French and American administrative restrictions, and complaints about tariffs, especially on cotton and wine. Discriminatory practices in the automobile, aviation, and motion-picture industries are documented.

A subject index is on reel one and a table of contents is on reel two.

FILM 14:6 - Request access