Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Serbia and to the Political Relations Between the United States and Serbia, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 357; v. National Archives record group 59.
3 reel(s)

Correspondence, memoranda, and reports in this decimal file document the aid given to postwar Serbia (now part of Yugoslavia) by the United States. The majority of the documents concern the Red Cross, including the solicitation and distribution of funds for Serbia and Bulgaria, the role of the Red Cross in the distribution of food during the floods of 1910 and the famine of 1915 and 1916, relief in German-occupied Serbia, and work with refugees. Also treated are the death of Peter I, the cabinet crisis of 1918, the Black Hand Trials of 1917, and the reconstruction of railroads destroyed by war.

The complete list of documents on the first reel serves as a finding aid for the collection. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 5:4 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Yugoslavia, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 358; v. National Archives record group 59.
27 reel(s)

All aspects of Yugoslavia's domestic affairs are discussed in this Department of State decimal file, though politics and financial matters are most prevalent. Topics include the establishment and United States diplomatic recognition of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, the drafting of a constitution, the cabinet crisis, United States financial support of Yugoslavia, Blair and Company's loan to the Yugoslavian government for railroad construction, and American banking syndicate loans for public works (the Rothschild loans). Minority relations focus on the Bulgarians in Yugoslavia and the Macedonian situation. Other records relate to education, a Carnegie library for the University of Belgrade, emigration, agriculture, mining, military affairs, the sugar industry, and the manufacture of matches.

A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.

FILM 5:4 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Yugoslavia, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 362; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Documents in this decimal file discuss postwar negotiations for peace and normalization of relations between the United States and Yugoslavia. A number of letters reflect concern about the status of earlier treaties, especially the 1881 treaty with Serbia (now part of Yugoslavia). Other documents deal with the Renunciation of War Treaty of 1928, the Kellogg-Briand Pact, consular negotiations on claims against United States citizens, the protection of Yugoslavian citizens traveling in the United States, and the reciprocal rights of each country's citizens to acquire and hold estates.

A complete list of the documents is at the beginning of the reel. They are arranged by subject using the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 5:4 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Yugoslavia and Other States, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 361; v. National Archives record group 59.
9 reel(s)

The majority of the documents in this decimal file are concerned with Yugoslavia's relations with Hungary and Italy during World War I. The papers concern peace, civil prisoners, illegal warfare, boundary problems, and the resumption of commerce. The Treaty of Rapallo, the Italian-Yugoslavian conflict over Albania, the Pact of Tirana, and the Adriatic question are issues between Yugoslavia and Italy. Arbitration treaties between Yugoslavia and Bulgaria, Yugoslavia's control of the Greek port of Salonica, and Yugoslavia's treaties with Turkey are also discussed in the correspondence.

A complete list of the documents is at the beginning of the first reel. The records are arranged by subject using the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 5:4 - Request access