Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

United States. Department of State. Consular Despatches from United States Ministers in Chile, 1889-1905.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1942 
National Archives Microfilm Publications Microcopy no. M 10; v. National Archives record group 59.
15 reel(s)

The material in the collection covers such topics as: dispatches between Chile and Peru arising out of the War of the Pacific, the growth of the nitrate industry, the civil war between the forces of President Balmaceda and congressional forces, and the Baltimore affair in which United States sailors were attacked by a mob in Valparaiso. Reels 45 through 51 focus on the ministry of Henry Lane Wilson from 1897 to 1905. During this period, the war between the United States and Spain was a particularly important topic.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Diplomatic Dispatches, Chile Series, is located in the Special Collections Office. The guide contains introductory material for reels 45-51 only. Ellis Library has reels 37-51 of this National Archives collection which covers the period from 1889 to 1905.

FILM 1:1

United States. Department of State. Notes from the Chilean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1811-1853.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1944 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 73; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The notes reflect the efforts of the newly-independent Chile to establish diplomatic relations with the United States and to gain an official recognition of its independent status. The collection includes several letters from the leader of the Chilean struggle for independence, Bernardo O'Higgins, asking the government of the United States for material assistance to the independence movement and for a diplomatic support against Spain. From the 1820's onwards, the correspondence deals increasingly with routine diplomatic matters (such as appointments of consular officers) and with the questions of trade (customs and tariffs).

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 57, lists the inclusive dates of each reel on the collection which covers the period 1811-1966. Ellis Library only has reel 1.

FILM 1:8

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Notes to Foreign Legations in the U.S. from the Department of State, 1834-1906.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)

This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.

National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.

FILM 1:10-1:11

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Chile, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 487; v. National Archives record group 59.
40 reel(s)

The largest single group of records reproduced in this Department of Sate decimal file relates to Chilean political affairs. Many records concern arbitration of the dispute with Peru over Tacna and Arica. There are reports on presidential elections and other political affairs. Other subjects relate to Chilean internal affairs such as military education, visits of Chilean war vessels to foreign ports, financial conditions, agriculture, petroleum production, nitrate mining, and postal regulations

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Chile, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed preceding the documents. A complete list of the documents appears on reels 1-2. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:5-6:6

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Chile and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 490; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

Efforts by the Chilean government to negotiate treaties of peace, alliance, commerce, and navigation are the subjects of this Department of State decimal file. There is correspondence relating to the treaty of alliance between Argentina, Brazil, and Chile (the A.B.C. Alliance), boundary questions between Chile and Argentina over the Picton, Lenox, and Nueva Islands, the Beagle Channel dispute between Chile and Argentina, and political relations between Chile and other countries. The portion of the file related to Chile's relations with Argentina contains a 1105 page document on the history and organization of sanitary legislation in Argentina.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Chile and Other States, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:7

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Chile, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 489; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Issues affecting political relations between the United States and Chile for the period from 1910 to 1929 include the threat posed by the new Panama Canal to the commerce of Chile, the Tacna-Arica dispute and subsequent elections to decide which nation would control the areas, and proposed Latin American exemption from the most-favored-nation clause of the Treaty of Commerce and Navigation. Other subjects discussed in this Department of State decimal file are the centennial of Chile's war of independence, memorials to Charles W. Wooster, a United States citizen who became a rear admiral in the Chilean navy, and the Department of State's involvement in an incident involving rowdy American employees of the mining camp of El Teniente during a weekend outing. Treaty negotiations common to all decimal files are also in this collection.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Chile, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed at the beginning of the collection. A complete list of the contents precedes the documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 6:7