Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Bryce, James Bryce , Viscount, 1838-1922. James Bryce, Viscount Bryce of Dechmont, American Correspondence, 1871-1922.

James Bryce, jurist, historian, and politician, was a member of Parliament from 1880 to 1906 and a member of three cabinets. He first visited the United States in 1871 and last in 1921. His knowledge of the United States is reflected in his book, The American Commonwealth, published in 1888. As British ambassador to the United States from 1907 to 1913, he singled out as his most important task the furtherance of good relations between Britain and the United States. Topics discussed in his papers include various presidential campaigns and elections, tariffs, the Negro problem, civil service reform, Canadian-American relations, international copyright legislation, American city government, the Armenian question, the Irish question, women’s suffrage, the Venezuela crisis, German propaganda, maritime disputes, and the League of Nations.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears on the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:5

Harrison, Benjamin 1833-1901. Benjamin Harrison Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1960
Presidential papers microfilm
151 reel(s)

This collection contains correspondence, legal papers, financial records, notebooks, memorials, printed materials, and memorabilia of the life of President Benjamin Harrison. The material covers Harrison's experiences in the Civil War as a brigadier general of Indiana volunteers, his career as an Indiana lawyer and politician, his term as president from 1889 to 1893, and important documents relating to the Venezuelan boundary dispute with British Guiana.

Series 1. General correspondence and related material, 1787-1912 (reels 1-43)–Series 2. Additional correspondence and related items, 1853-1909 (reels 43-97)–Series 3. Letter Press copy book, 1880-1892 (reels 97-98)–Series 4. Telegrams, 1888-1896 (reels 98-99)–Series 5. Social, 1889-1892 (reels 99-100)–Series 6. Shorthand notebooks, 1884-1901 (reels 100-116)–Series 7. Record of letters received at the White House, 1889-1893 (reels 116-117)–Series 8. Speeches, 1878-1901 (reels 117-121)–Series 9. Writing, 1895-1897 (reels 121-122)–Series 10.Legal instruments, 1852-1898 (reels 122-123)–Series 11. Legal cases and Firm Letter Press copy books, ca. 1855-1900 (reels 123-135)–Series 12. Financial, 1836-1900 (reels 135-140)–Series 13. Venezuela boundary dispute, 1895-1899 (reels 140-143)–Series 14. Miscellaneous manuscripts, 1814-1901 (reels 143-144)–Series 15. Volwiler collection of Harrisoniana, 1850-1938 (reel 145)–Series 16. Scrapbooks, 1853-1908 (reels 145-151)–Series 17. Certificates memorials, and printed invitations–Series 18. Pamphlets–Series 19. Photographs and drawings–Series 20. Miscellaneous printed matter.

MU Ellis Special Collections Microfilm 4D21  FILM

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Venezuela, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 366; v. National Archives record group 59.
32 reel(s)

The largest group of records in this Department of State decimal file relates to Venezuela's internal political affairs. The collection chronicles the overthrow of President Cipriano Castro, the presidency of Juan Vincente Gomez, the development of a Venezuelan revolutionary movement in Costa Rica and Puerta Rico, and the anti-Gomez movement in Mexico. Other records pertain to public safety, military affairs, education, disasters, labor conditions, agricultural expositions, mining concessions to American firms, communication, and transportation. There are also a number of documents on petroleum concessions and the mining of phosphate, manganese, mica, salt, potassium nitrate, and asphalt.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Venezuela, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 5:5

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Venezuela, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. 368; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

Dispatches from United States diplomatic and consular officials and correspondence with individuals and government officials express the wish to maintain friendly relations with Venezuela and appeal for support for the war against the Central Powers. The appointment of negotiators and the negotiations for treaties of arbitration, the treaty for renunciation of war, and the treaties of conciliation between the United States and a number of nations are reported. Venezuelan newspaper clippings in honor of American Independence day, the Lindbergh flight, and the erection by the United States of a monument to Henry Clay are in the collection. The collection constitutes a portion of the Department of State's United States – Venezuela decimal file.

A complete list of the documents in this collection is filmed on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal system.

FILM 5:11

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Venezuela and Other States, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 369; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

Unlike most Department of State decimal files that are largely correspondence between diplomatic representatives and other officials, the file relating to Venezuela and other countries contains two published documents totaling more than 2,500 pages. One summarizes the status of Venezuelan foreign affairs and the other, a three-volume work, covers public treaties and international agreements from 1820 to 1925. The documents are El Libro Amarillo de los Estados Unidos de Venezuela Presentado al Congreso Nacional en sus Sesiones de 1918 por el Ministro de Relaciones Exteriores (1918) and Tratados Publicos y Acuerdos Internacionales de Venezuela (1924-1927). The few remaining documents in the collection relate to relations with Uruguay, France, the Netherlands, and Brazil. The topic of the Brazilian documents is a 1928 expedition to an unexplored region for the purpose of demarcating the boundary between Venezuela and Brazil. The United States asked for and received permission to send a representative from the National Geographic Society and the Carnegie Museum to accompany the expedition.

A complete list of the documents included appears at the beginning of the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal system.

FILM 5:11