Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
Special studies series
5 reel(s)
This collection contains forty-five studies done with an eye to strategic planning for United States’ interests in Asia. It includes such subjects as defense, trade, agriculture, foreign policies, military assessments, political problems, poverty, and technology. The collection is divided by country, with Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam constituting the divisions. The studies were contracted by various federal agencies from a number of private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Rand Corporation, Hudson Institute, Inc., Economic Research Service, Economics and Statistics Service, and the Army War College.
FILM BOOK 0087 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Asia, special studies, 1980-1982 supplement 
This annotated guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliation are also indicated. Also available under call number DS35 .A85 1983 Suppl.
Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)
Progress reports from 1948 to 1960 refer to the implementation of United States foreign policy toward specific nations. Topics include export-control policies toward the Soviet Bloc, economic and military aid, communism, military bases, civil defense, colonialism, mobilization, the Organization of American States, resources, trade, stockpiling, the United Nations, and global war. Areas receiving major attention include Southeast Asia, China, Eastern Europe, Israel, Latin America, the Phillippines, the Soviet Union and its satellites, and the United Kingdom.
FILM BOOK 0097 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to documents of the National Security Council. First supplement
The guide lists the topic of each paper filmed in the collection. A brief subject index gives references to the appropriate reel and frame. Also available under call number UA23 .G85 1980 Suppl. 1.
Ann Arbor, Mich: University Microfilms International, 1968
Human Relations Area Files
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) were developed to facilitate study, teaching, and research in the behavioral sciences, in area studies, and in the humanities. They should be especially valuable as a basis for world and comparative studies of human behavior, social life, and culture in the fields of anthropology, sociology, geography, politics, and psychology. The HRAF files are reputed to be one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of cultural data in existence and they cover approximately three hundred world cultures. The collection contains books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and the results of field work. HRAF material includes many rare sources and many exclusive translations from foreign texts. HRAF's unique arrangement facilitates comparative studies.
An uncataloged guide, The Nature and the Use of HRAF Files, is available in the Special Collections Office. The collection is organized into separate Cultural Files, each of which corresponds to a cultural unit listed in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). Within each cultural file the material is organized according to the subject classification system in the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). A complete list of the titles included in the collection is available in HRAF Source Bibliography. The researcher may also wish to consult the Index to the Human Relations Area Files and its supplement (1979). Users are encouraged to ask a Special Collections staff member for assistance in the use of this collection.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
Guides:
Murdock, George Peter Outline of World Cultures (OWC).
Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Contains a list of titles in the HRAF collection.
Index to the Human Relations Area Files
The index is a page-by-page, line-by-line index to the sources included in the HRAF files organized (up to 1979) according to the subject categories in the OCM.
Washington, D.C.: 1977
17 reel(s)
This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.
FILM BOOK 0311 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)
This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.
FILM 1:10-1:11 - Request access
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
