Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1981
3 reel(s)
Progress reports from 1948 to 1960 refer to the implementation of United States foreign policy toward specific nations. Topics include export-control policies toward the Soviet Bloc, economic and military aid, communism, military bases, civil defense, colonialism, mobilization, the Organization of American States, resources, trade, stockpiling, the United Nations, and global war. Areas receiving major attention include Southeast Asia, China, Eastern Europe, Israel, Latin America, the Phillippines, the Soviet Union and its satellites, and the United Kingdom.
Guides:
A Guide to documents of the National Security Council. First supplement 
The guide lists the topic of each paper filmed in the collection. A brief subject index gives references to the appropriate reel and frame. Also available under call number UA23 .G85 1980 Suppl. 1.
Ann Arbor, Mich: University Microfilms International, 1968
Human Relations Area Files
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) were developed to facilitate study, teaching, and research in the behavioral sciences, in area studies, and in the humanities. They should be especially valuable as a basis for world and comparative studies of human behavior, social life, and culture in the fields of anthropology, sociology, geography, politics, and psychology. The HRAF files are reputed to be one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of cultural data in existence and they cover approximately three hundred world cultures. The collection contains books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and the results of field work. HRAF material includes many rare sources and many exclusive translations from foreign texts. HRAF's unique arrangement facilitates comparative studies.
An uncataloged guide, The Nature and the Use of HRAF Files, is available in the Special Collections Office. The collection is organized into separate Cultural Files, each of which corresponds to a cultural unit listed in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). Within each cultural file the material is organized according to the subject classification system in the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). A complete list of the titles included in the collection is available in HRAF Source Bibliography. The researcher may also wish to consult the Index to the Human Relations Area Files and its supplement (1979). Users are encouraged to ask a Special Collections staff member for assistance in the use of this collection.
NOT IN THE UM LIBRARIES CATALOG
Guides:
Murdock, George Peter Outline of World Cultures (OWC).
Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Contains a list of titles in the HRAF collection.
Index to the Human Relations Area Files
The index is a page-by-page, line-by-line index to the sources included in the HRAF files organized (up to 1979) according to the subject categories in the OCM.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1981
11 reel(s)
This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1980-1981. The papers deal with issues of current interest for policy-makers in the following areas: legal and constitutional, governmental and political, transportation and communications, energy and environment, foreign relations and defense, economy and labor, and social and health policy. The subject of the papers illustrate the problems faced by the political leadership in the early eighties. In the area of defense and foreign relations, the subjects dealt with include the East-West military balance, Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (SALT), the crises in Poland, Afghanistan, and the Persian Gulf, and social unrest in Latin America. Domestic studies concentrate on issues like economic recession, unemployment, social security reform, national health insurance, inflation, energy conservation, environmental protection, merger laws, freedom of information, discrimination against the handicapped, the impact of imports on the American industry, and the influence of social benefits on the attitudes towards work.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982
11 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
12 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
13 reel(s)
This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
13 reel(s)
This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: 1977
17 reel(s)
This collection consists of studies written for the United States government from 1916 to 1974. The studies are concerned with virtually every legal, constitutional, political, environmental, economic, social, and international issue facing the United States. Most of the studies come from the post-Second World War period. Subjects dealing with the internal problems of the United States include relations between the branches of government, civil liberties, racial discrimination and desegregation, environmental pollution, housing, labor relations, abortion, and health insurance. Among the international issues covered are the Korean armistice negotiations, the Suez crisis of 1956, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the Palestinian question, the war in Indochina, the Sino-Soviet dispute, the War of 1971 between India and Pakistan, Soviet penetration in the Middle East, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Soviet threat to Western Europe, arms reduction negotiations, and East-West trade relations. There are also analyses of the internal situation of individual countries or groups of countries such as Greece, China, the Soviet Union, Brazil, and Latin America.
Guides:
A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.
The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1949
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 99; v. National archives record group 59.
60 reel(s)
This microfilm contains notes to the legations of Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Ecuador, Brazil, Central American states, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Prussia and other German states, Great Britain, Italian states, Greece, Turkey, Japan, Korea, Persia (Iran), and Siam (Thailand). The notes deal with a wide variety of subjects, starting with routine diplomatic matters like accreditations of diplomats and ending with settlements of military incidents and border disputes. Other topics dealt with by the notes include trade and claims of American citizens against foreign governments. Each reel starts with a handwritten register. The notes are arranged chronologically within the series dealing with individual countries. Ellis Library has reels 1-56, 61, 66-68 of this 90 reel collection.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, p. 60-61, provides a geographically and chronologically arranged reel list.
FILM 1:10-1:11
Guides:
United States. National Archives and Records Service. Catalog of national archives microfilm publications.
Washington, D.C.: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1941
322 reel(s)
These analyses and translations from foreign broadcasts, news accounts, commentaries, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements were collected daily from 1941 to 1974. This monitoring service tracked reports of the Eastern European countries, the People's Republic of China, the Soviet Union, Western Europe, Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific. These reports were compiled into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service White Book. The early reports include accounts of World War II events from a foreign perspective.
A table of contents in each issue lists the countries for which a translation has been included. The publications are arranged chronologically.
Indexes for each of the eight sections are published commercially and titled REF DJK50 .I52 Index. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report: [Section]. Ellis Library only has the index for Eastern Europe.
FILM 11:6-12:6
Guides:
