Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)
In addition to Japan and Korea, these Central Intelligence Agency records also concern Australia, Burma, Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines. The records are mainly in the form of intelligence memos and there are a number of biographical reports. In the Far East section, memos from 1949 on Communist methods and vulnerabilities contain information on Indochina and the Malaysian Insurgency. The Indonesia section contains information on the confrontation between Indonesia and Malaysia from June 1950 to April 1951. Also concerning the Korean War are memos on the use of the atomic bomb and on the probability of direct Chinese intervention. The latter memos chart the Chinese build-up in Manchuria and suggest, before the event, that some form of Chinese intervention was likely.
FILM BOOK 0065 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
CIA research reports : Japan, Korea and the security of Asia, 1946-1976 ; [guide] 
The collection is arranged by country and then chronologically. Also available under call number DS518.8 .C2 1983.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
Special Studies Series
4 reel(s)
Forty special studies commissioned by the federal government from extra-governmental “think tanks” comprise the collection of studies. The papers discuss political, economic, and military matters regarding Japan, Korea, and East Asia in general. The papers were all written between 1970 and 1980, but a few are concerned with the implications of prior events. The papers are divided into three discrete sections: East Asia, Japan, and Korea. Topics covered include the Japanese economy, Japanese nuclear weapons, Korean reunification, and security issues within the region.
FILM BOOK 0086 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Japan, Korea, and the security of Asia, special studies, 1970- 1980 [guide]
The annotated guide provides author, title, author’s institutional affiliation, and a subject index. Also available under call number DS518.1 .J35 1981.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 426; v. National Archives record group 59.
9 reel(s)
Japan's annexation of Korea, armed and passive resistance by the Korean people to Japanese rule, and Japan's ruthless suppression of Korean nationalism are the principal subjects of the portion of this decimal file which relates to internal political affairs. The 1919 proclamation of independence by prominent Koreans and the subsequent demonstrations and prosecutions are also documented. Other letters and memoranda relate to missionary schools, censuses, production of rice, tobacco, and silk, mining concessions, trafficking in drugs, and the adoption of a system of land surveys.
A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 5:14 - Request access
