Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Clarendon, George William Frederick Villiers. American Material in the Clarendon Papers, 1853-1870: The Private and Confidential Correspondence of George William Frederick Villiers, 4th Earl of Clarendon and 4th Baron Hyde.

Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1994
British Records Relating to America in Microform
15 reel(s)

George William Frederick Villiers (1800-1870) served as Foreign Secretary in four administrations, intermittently from 1853 to 1870. His correspondence during his time in Washington covered a sensitive period in Anglo-American relations. The United States and Great Britain were partners in a profitable transatlantic trade, but Britain began to have concerns about American expansionism, especially American filibusters in Nicaragua and other areas throughout South and Central America. Clarendon did not serve during the Civil War, but believed Southern independence was assured. After the Northern Victory, it became clear the United States was going to dominate the rest of North America. For related material see the Crampton Papers.

FILM 22:5

Guides:

American material in the Clarendon papers, 1853-1870 : [guide] the private and confidential correspondence of George William Frederick Villiers, 4th Earl of Clarendon and 4th Baron Hyde : from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the Public Record Office, London PDF

The guide contains a brief introduction to the collection, a biography of Clarendon, a bibliography, and a reel index. Available under call number DA538.C5 A3 1994.

Crampton, John Fiennes Twistleton. American Material in the Crampton Papers, 1844-1856: The Private and Confidential Correspondence of Sir John Fiennes Twistleon Crampton, Bart, Kcb.

Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1994
British Records Relating to America in Microform
17 reel(s)

Sir John Fiennes Twistleton Crampton was born in Ireland on August 12, 1805. He began his role in Washington when he was appointed Foreign Secretary on July 3, 1845. Eventually he served under two Ministers before he became Charge d’Affaires in 1851. In January 1852 he was appointed Minister to the United States, and served until May 28, 1856, when President Franklin Pierce broke off diplomatic relations with him because of his attempts to recruit American volunteers for service in the British Army during the Crimean War. His correspondence as a member of the British Legation in Washington covered many of the important issues in Anglo-American relations including disputes over fisheries in Canadian waters, the need for Canadian-American trade, and attempts by Americans to acquire naval bases in Cuba. In addition, major problems, such as American filibustering in Nicaragua, and clashes over possible canal routes across the American Isthmus caused disagreements. For related material see the Clarendon Papers.

FILM 22:5-6

Guides:

American material in the Crampton papers, 1844-1856 : [guide] the private and confidential correspondence of Sir John Fiennes Twisleton Crampton, Bart, KCB : from the Bodleian Library, Oxford PDF

The guide contains an introduction to the collection, a brief biography of Crampton, a bibliography, and an index to the microfilm. Also available under call number DA565.C79 A4 1994.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1982-83 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
12 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies prepared for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982. Constitutional and legal issues dealt with include political campaign financing, religious activities in the public schools, equal rights, abortion, gun control, desegregation, immigration, drug control, computer crime, the New Federalism, and political campaign and elections rules. In the area of energy and the environment, the papers concern nuclear energy, electric power, oil and gas exploration, new sources of energy, environmental protection, and natural resources. Social policy subjects covered include welfare and social security, health-care costs and legislation, education, housing, and bio-technology. Papers relating to economic conditions deal with the economic outlook for the eighties, the monetary policy, the federal budget deficit, inflation and interest rates, taxation, employment and unemployment, banking, international trade, steel, airline and automobile industries, and agriculture. Defense issues covered include nuclear weapons and arms control, defense spending, weapon systems, and space programs. In the area of foreign relations, the papers deal with United States policy towards the Soviet Union in the 1980s, the Soviet succession problem, the Polish crisis, the Israeli invasion of Lebanon, the Iran-Iraq War, the Falkland War, the American policy toward Nicaragua and El Salvador, the future of China and Taiwan, the Spanish entry into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and terrorism.

FILM BOOK 0311 1982-83

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1983-1984 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.

FILM BOOK 0311 1983-84

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1984-1985 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.

FILM BOOK 0311 1984-85

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Papers Relating to the Providence Island Company and Colony, 1630-1641.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1987
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

The Providence Island Company was founded by a group of “Protestant Imperialists” in the 1620s to grow crops on Providence and Association Islands, off the coasts of Nicaragua, and revive England’s cloth manufacturing industry and to challenge Spain in its area of power. One reel contains minutes of the company meetings, and the other reel copies of official letters written by company agents. Subjects discussed are the company’s problems with debt and attacks by the Spanish.

FILM BOOK 0245

Guides:

Papers relating to the Providence Island Company and colony, 1630-1660s in the Public Record Office, British Library and other repositories PDF

The guide contains a brief history and bibliography of the Providence Island Company. Also available under call number F2281.S15 P3 1989.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Nicaragua, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 632; v. National Archives record group 59.
106 reel(s)

Approximately two-thirds of this extensive Department of State decimal file relates to Nicaragua's transformation into a United States military and financial protectorate, the Liberal-Conservative fight for power and resulting Civil War, the United States marine occupation of Nicaragua, the United State's supervision of elections, the presidencies of Jose Santos Zelaya, Adolfo Diaz, and others, the United States establishment of a National Guard to oppose rebel leader General Augusto Cesar Sandino, and the control of the economy by New York banks. Agriculture, mining, manufacturing, communication, transportation, postal service, and aviation are also discussed in diplomatic and consular dispatches and other documents.

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Nicaragua, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also filmed on the first reel. A complete list of the contents precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State decimal classification system.

FILM 8:1-3

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Nicaragua and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 634. National Archives record group 59.
3 reel(s)

The majority of the documents in this Department of State decimal file are concerned with relations between Nicaragua and Costa Rica and between Nicaragua and Colombia, but treaty negotiations with Great Britain, Sapin, Italy, and Argentina are also included. Documents related to Nicaragua's severance of relations with Germany are in the file. The duties of neutrals as they relate to the detention of the ship Venus at Port Limon are the subject of most documents related to Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Territorial disputes between Nicaragua and Colombia, specifically Nicaragua's attempts to seize control of the San Andres Archipelago and the claim of Colombia to the Mosquito Coast are throughly documented with memoranda, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and several long printed documents. The treaty between Nicaragua and Great Britain related to the taxation of Indians and Creoles on the Mosquito Indian Reservation and turtle fishing in the Cayman Islands is also included.

A list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification.

FILM 8:3

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Nicaragua, 1910-1929.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 633; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

The central theme of the majority of the records in this Department of State decimal file is opposition to United States intervention in Nicaragua. Anti-American sentiment is reported in numerous European and Latin American newspaper articles and editorials. In 1916, when war with Japan was anticipated, the United States successfully negotiated a treaty with Nicaragua for naval bases and the building of an inter-ocean canal across Nicaragua. Other subjects are the anti-Zelaya movement, the Chamorro coup d'etat of 1925, the prospects of war between the United States and Mexico, the Treaty for Renunciation of War (Kellog-Briand Pact), and naturalization issues.

The complete list of documents on the first reel serves as a finding aid for the collection. The arrangement of the collection is by the Department of State's decimal system of subject classification.

FILM 8:13