Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Major Studies of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1975/76

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1977 
6 reel(s)

This collection contains studies written for the United States government in the years 1975-1976. The studies fall into the following categories: legal and constitutional issues, environmental affairs, international affairs, intelligence activities, social issues and economic matters. Legal and constitutional studies deal with election regulations, church/state relations, civil rights, immigration, relations between the branches of the government, and the administration of justice. The studies on environmental affairs are largely concerned with energy problems and pollution. International affairs subjects are Soviet-American detente, the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, American relations with Cuba and Spain, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)/Warsaw Pact balance of forces, American arms transfers, Communist participation in West European governments, and American policy on the use of nuclear weapons. The studies on intelligence activities concern covert activities of the CIA and FBI, both abroad and at home. Social issues topics include crime, unemployment, education, health insurance, social welfare programs, child abuse, and abortion. Economic topics include: taxation, the public debt, financial regulations, American foreign indebtness, and New York City's financial crisis.

FILM BOOK 0311 1975-76

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, Supplement, 1976-1978.

Washington, D.C: University Publications of America, 1978 
13 reel(s)

The collection consists of studies written for the United States government in the years 1976-1978. The studies cover a wide range of American domestic and international issues. Domestic topics include racial and sexual discrimination, unemployment, welfare reform, crime, prison reform, trade union legislation, alcohol and drug abuse, veteran assistance, social security, food assistance programs, anti-trust regulations, traffic safety, regulations of elections and political campaigns, the functions of the Federal Reserve System, inflation, agricultural policy, and wage-price policy. Among the international issues covered are relations within the United States-Soviet Union-China triangle, American grain exports, American relations with Western Europe, the Arab-Israeli settlement, detente, international terrorism, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Cyprus crisis, the Panama Canal Treaty renegotiation, and reports on the situations in individual countries (Northern Ireland, Yugoslavia, China, Cuba).

Each title is cataloged in MERLIN.

FILM BOOK 0311 1976-78

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1981-82 Supplement.

Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, 1982 
11 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1981-1982 dealing with current problems facing policy makers. Legal and constitutional issues discussed are voting rights and election laws, school busing and desegregation, abortion, gun control, and various economic and social issues. In the field of government and politics, the papers are concerned with subjects such as election rules, Political Action Committees (PACS), presidential protection, congressional redistricting, and the legislative process. Other subjects concerning domestic affairs of the United States include President Reagan's energy policy, nuclear power, new energy sources, energy conservation, environmental protection, welfare and food stamps, Social Security and pensions, Medicare and Medicaid, health legislation, education, job training, immigration, the economic policy of the Reagan Administration, taxation, monetary policy, automobile industry, labor, banking, and agriculture. The papers on foreign relations and defense cover the major weapon programs, defense spending, military manpower, the balance of forces between East and West, arms limitations talks, human rights issues in United States foreign policy, Middle East problems, relations with China, the situation in the Philippines, United States policy toward El Salvador and Northern Ireland, the Polish crisis, the Soviet and Cuban interventions in Afghanistan and Africa, the coming of the Socialist administration in France, and the inclusion of Greece, Spain, and Portugal into the European Economic Community.

FILM BOOK 0311 1981-82

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.