Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982
5 reel(s)
Microfilmed in this collection are reports and memos on the Soviet Union prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency between 1946 and 1976. The reports deal with foreign policy, the economy, the internal political situation, and the military policy of the Soviet Union. Foreign policy issues include the Soviet tightening of control over Eastern Europe in the 1950s, the break of relations with Tito in 1948, the Soviet intentions and policy objectives in Korea, Western Europe, the Middle East, and Latin America, the Berlin and Cuban missile crises, Soviet involvement in Vietnam, the invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968, and relations with China. Economic reports cover subjects like the prospects of the Soviet economy, economic plans, foreign trade and the balance of payments, natural resources (especially oil), nuclear energy, agriculture and the grain problem, and Soviet banking activities abroad. The reports on the internal political situation deal with the succession after Stalin, the downfall of Khrushchev, Brezhnev’s management of the Communist party, and control techniques of the Communist police. The subjects of military reports include Soviet military capabilities, intentions and activities, military spending, the East-West balance of forces, the arms industry, biological warfare, and Soviet military presence in Cuba and Vietnam. Other subjects include the activities of the KGB in Asia and Central America.
FILM BOOK 0094 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
CIA research reports : the Soviet Union, 1946-1976 [guide] 
The guide provides a reel and a subject index. Also available under call number DK274.A3 C53 1982.
Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1982
10 reel(s)
This collection contains American diplomatic reports from Russia. The reports deal with numerous subjects: the political and economic consequences of World War I, the military situation, the collapse of the Czarist regime and the establishment of the Provisional Government in the February Revolution, conflict between the Provisional Government and General Kornilov, the Russo-Japanese Entente, the Bolshevik coup d’etat in the October Revolution, activities of the Polish Provisional Government, the political situation in Romania, the Causasus, Estonia, Latvia, and the Ukraine, the question of recognition of the Soviet government by the Allies, the first meeting of the Soviet Congress, Soviet foreign policy, Trotsky, the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk, the arrival of Allied forces into Russia and the Russian response to them, the YMCA and the Red Cross relief activities, and the beginnings of the Soviet Political Police (the Cheka). The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.
FILM BOOK 0028 pt 1 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]
The guide provides a reel index. Also available under call number E183.8.R9 C58 1982.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
75 reel(s)
The documents in this collection come from the American Legation in Riga, Latvia. The reports of the legation are based largely on the Soviet press and Soviet official publications. They cover almost every aspect of life in the Soviet Union. Among the subjects covered are the formation of the Communist International, anti-bolshevik organizations during the Civil War, the functioning of the Soviet government, the Kronstadt uprising, the introduction of the New Economic Policy, the internal struggle in the Communist Party, Soviet-German relations, the anti-church campaign, collectivization, the Five Year plan, foreign workers in the Soviet Union, and the organization of the economy. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.
FILM BOOK 0028 pt 2 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]
The guide provides a reel index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
60 reel(s)
Documents from the American Embassy in Moscow from 1934 until 1941 are filmed in this collection. Apart from the reports and recommendations sent by the Embassy to the State Department, the material includes the dispatches from American diplomatic posts in other countries concerning Soviet affairs. The reports cover all aspects of Soviet life and Soviet politics. In the area of foreign policy, there is a considerable amount of material on Soviet diplomatic activity before the outbreak of the Second World War, the German-Soviet Non-Aggression Pact of 1939, the Soviet attack on Finland, and the Anglo-Soviet Alliance after the German attack on the Soviet Union. The reports on the interval situation in the Soviet Union focus on the mass political trials of 1937 and 1938, the 1937-38 purges in the Red Army, economic performance, discontent among the peasantry, and conditions after the German attack in 1941. The records are taken from National Archives record groups 84 and 59.
FILM BOOK 0028 pt 3 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : [guides]
The guide provides a reel index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
10 reel(s)
The Soviet Union's policies toward Eastern Bloc and Central European countries after World War II are emphasized on reels 1, 2, and 3. Stalin planned to concentrate on establishing his power apparatus in Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, the Balkans, and Italy. These reports in the form of notes, letters, memos, and formal papers were sent from United States embassy officials to the secretary of state. Concerns were expressed over Soviet oppression. Reels 3 through 6 review Soviet bilateral relations with various nations. Treaties with these countries were primarily concerned with trade and navigation. Translations of these treaties are included. Reels 7 through 10 recount the relations between the United States and the Soviet Union from 1945 to 1949. There were at least forty-five meetings in regard to a treaty between the United States and the Soviet Union to consider "friendship, commerce, and navigation." These files were taken from National Archives record group 59 and are part of the Department of State decimal file and are part of the Department of State's decimal file.
FILM BOOK 0072 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The guide provides a reel and a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
39 reel(s)
This comprehensive collection mirrors specific episodes which occurred within the Soviet Union during the period of 1945 to 1949. Special reports from United States embassy officials sent to the secretary of state include descriptions of Russian political figures, military leaders, social events, economic conditions, and agricultural matters. Documents may be memorandums, air grams, translations of foreign newspapers and journal articles, transcripts of meetings, research reports, and speeches. Reviews of current books on life in Russia are provided to give the president a better idea of "soviet psychology". Clips from Russian news articles include one directed at youth in the Soviet Union on what it means to be a communist. The Soviet press as an instrument of agitation spreads anti-American propaganda in the form of anecdotes and cartoons using the president of the United States as the subject. The documents in this collection are from National Archives record group 59 and are part of the Department of State's decimal file.
FILM BOOK 0071 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The guide provides a reel and a subject index.
Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1995
Special Studies Series, 1992-1994
15 reel(s)
Information about the Soviet Union, and later the former Soviet republics, became available during the years 1992-1994. The U.S. government commissioned universities, colleges, corporations, think tanks, and individuals to aid in the analysis of that portion of the material that was beyond its resources. University Publications of America gathered some of the most important of the resultant studies and incorporated them into its Special Studies series. Subjects include the military policy, politics and government, and foreign relations of both the Soviet Union (1990-1994) and the former Soviet republics (1991-1994).
FILM BOOK 0296 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The guide contains a listing and summation of every entry on each reel, and an index to the major subjects in the collection.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
National Archives records group 59
10 reel(s)
These files deal with subjects of the Soviet Union such as Political Affairs, Public Order, Military Affairs, Social Matters, Public Press, General Relations, U.S.-Soviet Bilateral Relations, and more from 1945-1949.
FILM BOOK 0072 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The guide provides a reel and a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
National Archives records group 59
39 reel(s)
These files deal with subjects of the Soviet Union such as Political Affairs, Public Order, Military Affairs, Social Matters, Public Press, General Relations, U.S.-Soviet Bilateral Relations, and more from 1945-1949.
FILM BOOK 0071 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The guide provides a reel and a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America,
Special Studies Series
9 reel(s)
This is a collection of ninety-five papers dealing with various aspects of the Soviet Union's past and present. The papers cover military affairs, foreign relations, and economic issues. In the military field, the topics include Soviet military doctrine, the strategy of nuclear warfare, estimates of Soviet military spending, the history and organization of the air force, strategic rocket forces, the navy and civil defense, nationality problems in the armed forces, and the profiles of military leaders (A. A. Grehko and V. G. Kulikov). In the sphere of foreign relations the subjects include arms limitation talks, the Sino-Soviet conflict, the suppression of the Hungarian uprising in 1956, the intervention in the Ogaden War (1977/78), relations with other countries (Indochina, India, Japan, Norway, Cuba, and East Germany), and Soviet perceptions of the United States and NATO. Economic topics include the organization of Soviet industry, grain production, and the assessment of Soviet mineral resources. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from a number of private and governmental "think tanks", such as the National Defense University, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Institute of Naval Studies, and Brookings Institution.
FILM BOOK 0082 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The Soviet Union, special studies, 1970-1980 : [guide]
The guide contains summaries of all the papers and includes a subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983
Special Studies Series
8 reel(s)
Seventy-six papers dealing with various political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union during the 1970s and early 1980s. Political topics include the attitudes and aspirations of all of the major non-Russian nationalities, the succession problem, Soviet negotiating techniques, relations with the Warsaw Pact countries, involvement in the Third World, and the use of proxies to project Soviet power. Military subjects include the command structure, military organization, strategic balance with the United States, estimates of military expenditure, the officer corps, the war in Afghanistan, and the Theater Nuclear Forces in Europe. In the economic field the topics include technology transfers from the West, agriculture (especially grain production), and the energy problem. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from private and governmental "think tanks" such as the Rand Corporation, the Army War College, and the Army Russian Institute.
FILM BOOK 0081 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
The Soviet Union, special studies, 1980-1982 supplement : [guide]
The guide contains summaries of all the papers and includes a subject index. The authors and their institutional affiliations are also provided.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1986
Special Studies Series
9 reel(s)
Consists of 121 separate reports dealing with political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union from 1980 to 1983. This collection is a supplement to Soviet Union Special Studies 1970-1984. See numbers 373-374 in Primary Resources in History and entry in History Addendum.
FILM BOOK 0282 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1989
Special Studies Series
10 reel(s)
One hundred twenty-two papers dealing with the various political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union from 1985 to 1988. Topics include USSR Energy Atlas; U.S.-Soviet Cooperation in Space; Soviet Ground and Tactical Air Forces; and Moscow’s Post-Brezhnev Reassessment of the Third World. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies for private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Rand Corporation, the Naval Postgraduate School, the Center for Naval Analysis, and the Office of Technology Assessment.
FILM BOOK 0283 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to the microfilm edition of Soviet Union, special studies, 1985-1988 supplement
The guide contains a listing and summation of every entry on each reel, and an index to the major subjects on the reels.
Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1992
Special Studies Series
13 reel(s)
One hundred sixty-nine papers dealing with various political, military, and economic aspects of the Soviet Union during the late 1980s and early 1990s. Topics include Glasnost and Secrecy in the Soviet Military;, Soviet Economic Policy toward Eastern Europe; Soviet Force Structure in an Era of Reform; Soviet Countertrade; Soviet Military Strategy Toward 2010; The Role of Woman in Soviet Armed Forces; and Mikhail Gorbachev’s “New Thinking”: Implications for Western Security. These studies were commissioned by various United States government agencies from private and governmental “think tanks” such as the Rand Corporation, the CIA, the International Atomic Energy Agency, and the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency
FILM BOOK 0284 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A guide to the microfilm edition of Soviet Union special studies, 1989-1991 supplement
The guide contains summaries of all the papers and includes a subject index.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives Microfilm Publication. Microcopy no. M 316; v. National Archives record group 59.
174 reel(s)
The March Revolution of 1917, the development of the Bolshevik bureaucracy, Trotsky's negotiations with Germany, Japan's entry into Siberia, the 1919 United States Peace Mission to Russia, the New Economic Policy of 1921-28, the death of Lenin, the Stalin-Trotsky power struggle, communist party activities, recognition of the Soviet government, and numerous other political matters are the subjects of reels 7-76 of this Department of State decimal file. Documents also discuss military affairs, antireligious acts and policies of the Soviet government, famine and disease, the relief provided by the United States Food Administration, the collectivization of agriculture, Soviet cooperatives, affairs of the Interallied Railway Commission in Siberia, and the Chinese Eastern Railway. A separate sequence of documents discusses the internal affairs of Siberia (reels 173-175) and of the Russian portion of the Sakhalin Islands (reels 176-177, not held by Ellis Library).
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-1929, is available in the Special Collections Office. A complete list of the documents is on reels 1-6. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 3:6-3:8 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 340; v. National Archives record group 59.
20 reel(s)
Press clippings, commentaries, and consular dispatches in the Department of State decimal file record the Soviet government's attempt to expand its influence in the Near East and the Far East after 1917. The Sino-Soviet relations and their mutual interests in Mongolia are recorded. Discussions of Soviet diplomatic relations with neighboring countries include boundary disputes and economic differences.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State relating to Political Relations Between Russia (and the Soviet Union) and Other States, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide is also reproduced on reel one. A list of all the documents in the collection precedes the documents. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 4:1 - Request access
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1960
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 333; v. National Archives record group 59.
7 reel(s)
Instructions to and dispatches from diplomats and consular officials detail the attitude of the Soviet government toward the United States after World War I. After 1917 these dispatches originated from Americans posted in East European countries.
An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office and is also found on reel 1. A complete list of the documents is also included on the first reel. The documents are arranged by subject in accordance with the Department of State's decimal classification system.
FILM 3:12-3:13 - Request access
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1981
2 reel(s)
The Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) is the principal group of military advisers to the president of the United States. This is a collection of papers from the JCS focusing on the Soviet Union from the period 1942-1945. The collection also includes records of the combined United States-British Combined Chiefs of Staff (CCS). The material contains operational reports, intelligence estimates, policy studies of the Soviet Union, and a number of illustrative maps. The records focus on World War II, but also include estimates of Soviet post-war capabilities and intentions. Examples of subjects covered are Lend Lease, Russian combat estimate (1942), disclosure of technical information to the Soviet Union (1943), collaboration with the Soviet Union (1943), convoys to Northern Russia (1943), Anglo-American-Soviet cooperation (1944), and the Red Army offensive action to facilitate the invasion of Normandy in 1944 (Operation Overlord).
FILM BOOK 0012 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff : Part 1: 1942-1945, the Soviet Union
‘Kesaris, Paul (ed.). Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part I, 1942-1945: the Soviet Union. The guide provides a brief description of the contents of each reel. It also provides a detailed subject index.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1979
7 reel(s)
The Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS) is the principal group of military advisers to the president of the United States. This collection contains papers of the JCS that focus on the Soviet Union for the period 1946-1953. The material includes operational reports, research and development studies, intelligence estimates, policy studies of the Soviet Union, and adds a number of illustrative diagrams, maps and tables. Of particular interest are the details of contingency plans for war with the Soviet Union. These include operation "PINCER", a plan for the defeat of the Soviet Union in 1946-1949 and operation "DROPSHOT", a long-range plan drawn up in 1949 for war with the Soviet Union in the post-war period (1946). Also included are strategic studies of the area between the Alps and the Himalayas (1946), capabilities of the Soviet Union in the Persian Gulf Area (1947), the Soviet threat in the Far East and the means required to oppose it (1947), intelligence estimates of Soviet capabilities to engage in espionage, subversion, and sabotage in the Western Hemisphere (1948), Soviet capabilities for biological and chemical weapons (1948), an estimate of the scale and nature of a Soviet attack on the United Kingdom (1949), a review of foreign policy and strategy of the Soviet Union (1951), estimates of the scale and nature of the immediate communist threat to the security of the United States (1951), and detailed information pertaining to the Soviet political system (1952).
FILM BOOK 0014 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Guides:
A Guide to Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part 2, 1946- 1953 : the Soviet Union
‘Kesaris, Paul (ed.). Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Part II, 1946-1953: the Soviet Union. The guide provides a brief indication of the contents of each reel in a reel index. It also provides a detailed subject index.
