Skip to main content

Ellis Old and New

There are eight pictures on ths page, scroll down to see them all.

Architect's sketch of north

University Archives, Collection C: 0/3/8

This is the architect's sketch of the north facade. The East Wing, which juts out from the face mirrors the West Wing and copies it architecturally.

Architect's sketch of east facade

University Archives, Collection C: 0/3/8

The architect's drawing looking from the southeast. The portion jutting out from the south of the building (left) provided extra storage space for the State Historical Society of Missouri. 

Picture looking at northeast corner

University Archives, Collection C: 20/8/6

This is a picture looking at the northeast corner of the Library.   Lowry Street still ran in front of Ellis in 1968. 

Postcard view

University Archives, Collection C: 0/46/7

The door on the left is the entrance to the State Historical Society of Missouri.

View from northwest.

University Archives, Collection C: 1/141/11

Another view of the Library looking at the East Addition.

Aerial viewing of East facade

University Archives, Collection C: 20/8/6

Aerial view of east side of Ellis.  The walkways going into the building both go to the State Historical Society of Missouri on the ground floor.

Aerial read

University Archives, Collection C: 1/40/1

Aerial view showing the south facade of Ellis probably taken between 1961 and 1964. . The area in the foreground is Kuhlman Court.  The old Brady Commons (erected in 1961) is in the left lower corner Above it is Arts and Sciences (erected in 1960).

Enlarged aerial view

University Archives, Collection C: 1/40/1  (enlarged)

This is an enlargement of the previous picture. The different additions to Ellis are easy to pick out. On the left is West Wing. The door is the entrance to Western State Historical Manuscripts. To the right of it is the West Stacks. To the right of the West Stack is the Central Stacks put up in 1915. To the right of the Central Stacks are the newly erected East Stacks. Their facade matches that of the West Stacks.  There is a second entrance to the library on the ground level. This was used by the staff of the Library.

To the right of the East Stacks is the East Wing. It matches the style of the West Wing. Finally, there is the east addition which, on the south side, does not match anything else. It looks like there is a door into the building here as well. That door would have led into the State Historical Society of Missouri.  Most of the facade, except for West Wing, was covered up by the South Addition.