Skip to main content

Ellis Old and New

There are eight pictures on ths page, scroll down to see them all.

Exhibition Hall

 

University Archives, Collection C: 20/8/6

The Exhibition Hall as it looked in 1915. This is now the north end of the colonnade.  The view is looking toward the southeast. The space looks much the same except for the stairwells which were open to the hall.

In the stairwells you can see how much light the south windows brought in. The door to the Art Seminary Room can be seen on the right. Obscured by a pillar is a pedestal for the bust of James S. Rollins, the “father of the University”. The bust is now in Jesse Hall.

Exhibition Hall then and now.

General Reading Room

University Archives. Collection C:20/8/6

This photo, dated 1914, shows the General Reading Room looking east. It appears the room was still being put together. Notice how the light fixtures on the right lack the glass globes of the fixtures on the left. The door at the end of the hall has no handles and is purely decorative. There is a wall behind it at this time. This door would not be opened until the northeast construction to the library was completed in 1958. Today the beautiful original doors, or panels, have been replaced with something more utilitarian.

As the picture shows the coffered ceiling was not painted, nor was the raised wall molding. The General Reading was spruced up in 2003 and the ceiling and walls details were painted at that time. 

East view of Reading Room then and now 

General Reading Room looking west

University Archives. Collection C:20/8/6

This photo is dated 1915. It is looking west. Again, the door/panel in the middle of the room is purely decorative. The door would not be used as a door until 1935 when the west wing was completed. You might notice that the lights all have their glass now.

View of the Reading Room then and now.

General Reading Room looking south

University Archives. Collection C:20/8/6

This photo is dated 1915, and shows the General Reading Room is being used. The current room has a divider between the Reading Room and hallway to the south, but in this picture the room opens up to the hall.  Beyond the pillars you can see the Delivery Room. The windows on the south of the room brings in a nice natural light. The object shinning underneath the window is the circulation desk. This is where you would request books and where you would pick them up. You can see some cases for the card catalog and the picture of some dignitary on the wall. It is hard to make out, but the walls of the room are paneled.

The balcony above shows the third floor corridor. The door to the right of the picture would have led to the cataloging department.

View of the Reading Room then and now.

 

Circulation

University Archives. Collection C:20/8/6

This is a picture of the Delivery Room. It was on the 2nd floor directly south of the General Reading Room. The card catalog is against the wall. Behind the desk are two ranges of shelves and beyond them would be the entrance to the book stacks. Room 213, the Electronic Classroom, currently occupies the space where the circulation desk and shelves were located.

Delivery Room then and now.

State Historical Society of Missouri Reading Room

Photo from State Historical Society of Missouri

The State Historical Society of Missouri has always shared the library building. This is a picture of the Society's reading room. It was on the first floor in a very prominent position next to the north door where Circulation is located today.

Picture of room as it looks today.  (Circulation Desk)

 

Severance

University Archives. Collection C:20/8/6 (enlarged)

I cannot be completely sure, but the person requesting a book at the desk looks very much like the Library Director at the time, Henry Ormal Severance.

Enlarged Picture

 

University Archives. Collection C:20/8/6 (enlarged)

This is an enlargement of the portrait above the card catalog.   We think it might be John Carlton Jones.