Skip to main content

Missouri State Government Information Conference: 2013

A conference for librarians, archivists and state government specialists who share an interest in state government information

Program

Missouri Government Documents Conference 2013

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Back to the Basics

Federal Depository Management 101Marie Concannon

This session will cover the basics of depository library management, including using online tools to analyze your library’s receipts and adjust selections.  You’ll also learn proper weeding procedures, providing basic reference service and meeting program requirements. 

Concannon bio:  Marie Concannon started out as a Graduate Library Assistant in Ellis Library's Documents office in 1987. In 1989 she was a Reference Specialist at the State Historical Society of Missouri.  She returned to the Documents office in 2000 and has held the Regional Coordinator position since 2008.

The Way We Work Now, Navigating the digital government information landscape – Virtual presentation. David Walls, GPO Preservation Librarian

In a world where an estimated 97% of all government information is digital, is the role of the government information librarian headed toward obsolescence or is it growing toward new significance in a dynamic information environment?  David Walls will discuss how the new world of digital government information offers a significant role for librarians.

Walls bio: David Walls has 18 years’ experience as a preservation librarian preserving both tangible and digital information.  In 2010, he became GPO’s first preservation librarian, where he is responsible for developing preservation initiatives for the Federal Depository Library Program.

Using Government Sources for Business InformationGwen Gray

This session will be a quick tour of sites that offer answers to business-related questions.  Handout.

Gray bio: Gwen is the business, economics, and public policy librarian at the University of Missouri-Columbia Libraries.  She has an M.S. in library science from the University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign.

No access to commercial legal databases? Do not worry; you can still assist non-lawyersTove Klovning, Washington University Law

This presentation will demonstrate how you best can assist non-lawyers when your library does not have access to commercial legal databases.  Several free legal websites, legal portals and research guides will be explored during the presentation. The presenter will also talk about the difference between offering reference help and providing legal advice.

Klovning bio: As the Foreign/Comparative/International Law Librarian & Lecturer in Law, Tove oversees foreign, comparative and international law library services at Washington University School of Law. She also assists with legal research questions relating to the American legal system and oversees the library's US federal government document collection. She is an associate member of the American Bar Association, teaches an American legal research methodology course at Washington University School of Law and has taught in the Global Legal Studies Master Program at the Universidade Catolica Portuguesa in Lisbon, Portugal. Tove often guest lectures on legal research methodologies in seminar classes at Washington University School of Law in St. Louis and has had several speaker engagements in the US and abroad.

Missouri State Plan and other Statewide issues, Marie Concannon

Marie will describe the new Missouri State Plan which came partly as an outgrowth of the State-Focused Action Plan of 2012, review updates in the FDLP, and discuss other issues important to documents service in our state.

Who Moved My Statistics?  Barbara Rehkop, Wash U. Docs and Economics librarian

In the wake of the demise of Statistical Abstracts as a government publication, ProQuest is offering an electronic version of it, as well as a previous product, Statistical Insights.  We will briefly explore both products for comparison.

Rehkop bio: Barbara has been a government documents librarian for almost 18 years, first at St. Louis Public Library and now at Washington University in St. Louis.  The regional-level collection of documents relating to the civil rights movement of the 1950’s through the 1970’s, as well as documents related to the Post Office are held at Wash U. Washington University also serves as the Sub-Regional for the St. Louis metropolitan area and received the 2012 Depository Library of the Year Award from GPO. 

Missouri State Agency Databases, Annie Moots, Missouri State Library

The State Agency Databases web site is a wiki sponsored by ALA’s Government Documents Roundtable and consists of pages of state government sponsored databases for every state.  Annie Moots, of the Missouri State Library, has compiled most of the listings on the Missouri page and will talk about some of the more interesting and helpful entries.

Moots Bio - Annie Moots has been the Government Documents Librarian at the Missouri State Library in Jefferson City for over seven years.  She earned her Master’s degree at the University of Missouri - Columbia School of Information Science and Learning Technologies.

Providing Access to Your Government DocumentsFelicity Dykas

We will review the FDLP requirements for providing access to government documents and discuss ways depositories can meet those requirements via purchase of records, Documents Data Miner, and single-item cataloging.  She will also present information on GPO cataloging tools useful in keeping records up-to-date. 

Dykas bio: Felicity Dykas is Head of the Catalog Department at the University of Missouri—Columbia and is a member of GODORT.