Skip to Main Content

Government Documents by Type: Federal

Government Information

Reference Service

Reference service is available
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Government Documents Department
106B Ellis Library (1st Floor East)
University of Missouri

Marie Concannon (573) 882-0748
concannonm@missouri.edu

Agency Seals

Presidential Seal

House of Representatives Seal

Senate Seal

Department of Agriculture Seal

Department of Defense Seal

Department of Commerce Seal

Department of Justice Seal

Department of the Treasury Seal

Department of Energy Seal

 

Documents by Type - Federal

There are many types of government information. From agency reports to appropriations, census data to Supreme Court decisions, it comes in many formats and covers almost every topic. This list is arranged alphabetically by document type.  For more information on federal, state or local government information, use links in the left navigation bar.

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri This icon indicates the resource is restricted to students, faculty, and staff at the University of Missouri.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - L - M - N - O - P - R - S - T - W

     A
Analysis of government programs 1923-current (incomplete) ..... General Accountabilty Office (GAO) reports
1973-current .......................... Print and fiche GAO reports are filed under the GA 1.13 call number.
1989-2008 ............................. GAO Reports at GovInfo.gov
Aerial photographs 1920s-current ........................ Where to find Aerial Photographs

B

    

Bills, congressional

(See also guide to bill versions)

 1994-current........................ GovInfo.gov
Coverage dates.......................... Congress.gov has full text of bills and legislative action.
1979-2000.................................

The MU Law Library has House and Senate bills on microfiche for the 96th-106th congresses.  Ask Law Library staff for assistance.
1933-1988................................. The University of Arizona has a complete set of this time period. This set is microform - request through interlibrary loan. For interlibrary loan purposes the official title is Congressional bills, resolutions, and laws.

1801-1829, 1861-1899...........

 House and Senate Bills and Resolutions on microfilm in MU Law Library. Filmed by the Library of Congress.
1789-1933................................ Center for Research Libraries (microform - request through ILL)
1789-1921................................. The University of Washington has an incomplete set on microform - request through interlibrary loan. For ILL purposes the official title is Congressional bills, resolutions, and laws.
Varies.......................................... Law Librarians' Society of Washington DC
  1799-1873................................... Library of Congress
Bills, summary and status Coverage dates....................... Congress.gov shows legislative action on bills.
Bills, history of 1983-current.............................. GovInfo.gov History of Bills
The History of Bills lists legislative actions on bills that were reported in the Congressional Record. In print it is part of the Congressional Record Index, but on GovInfo it is a separate collection.
1929-2015................................ ProQuest Legislative Insight Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Budget of the U.S. Government 1996-current................................. GovInfo.gov
1921-current................................. Federal Reserve Archive

C

 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 1938-current................................ Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1996-current................................... GovInfo.gov
Current ....................................... Electronic CFR
Code, U.S. 1994-current................................... GovInfo.gov
1925-current................................... Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Congressional Record

 
1789-current................................ Sources for the Congressional Record
1897-current................................. Congressional Record (bound) 1873-2016; Congressional Record (Daily) 1994 to present; Congressional Record Index (Daily) 1983 to present

1873-current.................................

 Congress.gov
   
   
Congressional Record, Daily Digest 1989-current................................... Congress.gov
CRS Reports 1916-current................................... Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Various........................................... Archive-It (list of links to various sources)
Various............................................ Law Librarian's Society of Washington D. C.
  Various............................................ EveryCRSReport.com
     

D

 
Debates, presidential 1960, 1976-current .......... American Presidency Project
Debt, public 1869-current ................... U.S. Treasury fiscal data 
Declassified documents Any dates Declassified Documents Guide

E

    
Election returns, presidential    
1789-2008 ................... National Archives
1789-2012 ................... NationalAtlas.gov (printable maps)
1956-2014 ................... America Votes
     
Executive orders, presidential    
1996-current ................ Code of Federal Regulations, Title 3 (online)
1826-current ................ American Presidency Project
   

F - G

   F           (return to top)

 
Federal Register 1936-current .............. Hein OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Financial disclosures, congressional members    
2008-current ............. Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives
Floor votes, congressional Current ...................  
CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 
Foreign aid (loans, grants, etc.) 1946-1997 ................ Green Book

   

  G     (return to top)
GAO Reports 1989-2008 .................. GovInfo.gov
Grants Current ........................ Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Current ........................ Grants.gov
   

H - I - J

     H     (return to top)
Hearings, scheduled Current ............................ Senate.gov; House.gov
Hearings, Congressional 1824-1979 ...................... Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Up to 1923 ..................... Many historic hearings are now digitized and freely available in HathiTrust.  Tip: use the HathiTrust advanced search feature. Put "Committee" in the author field, "Hearing" in the title field, and limit further by date or words found in full text.
Scattered issues .......... Selected hearings are available in full text on GovInfo. 

L - M

     L     (return to top)
Laws (U.S. Code) 1926-current ................... Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1994-current ................... GovInfo.gov
Current .......................... Cornell University Law School
Laws, Public and Private (slip) 1995-current ................... GovInfo.gov

N - O - P - R

 

 P     (return to top)
Plum Book (policy and positions)            1996-current .................. GovInfo.gov
Presidential documents 1993-current .................. GovInfo.gov
1965-current .................. Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Presidential papers 1790-current .................. American Presidency Project

S

          (return to top)

Serial Set, Congressional
 

Note: The American State Papers, 1789‑1838 was the predecessor set.

  

 
1817.to.1969..........................

Microfiche set available offsite.

1817-present.......................

 

GovInfo.gov FULL TEXT:
1810s-1990s ................... HathiTrust Collection.  This is a free online digital library that includes over 29,000 uploaded volumes.  The Serial Set collection has been sectioned off from the rest of the library so that it can be searched

1983-1998...........................
(finding aid only) 
 

 You can get the Serial Set volume number using only the House Report, House Document, Senate Report or Senate Document number by checking United States Congressional Serial Set Catalog: Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes in Docs stacks under number GP 3.34.  This source is available for the 98th-105th congresses only (1983-1998.)
1981-present .....................

Check microfiche cabinets located to the north of the Documents stacks.  Use the following system to find materials:

  • Senate Documents - Y 1.1/3: [congress-rept#]
  • Senate Treaty Documents- Y 1.1/4: [congress-rept#]
  • Senate Reports - Y 1.1/5: [congress-rept#]
  • Senate Executive Reports - Y 1.1/6: [congress-rept#]
  • House Documents - Y 1.1/7: [congress-rept#]
  • House Reports - Y 1.1/8: [congress-rept#]

We have fiche for all of these starting with the 97th Congress.
   
Soil Surveys 1899-1901 Stored offsite - Dewey number - 631.08 Un31b
1923-1966 MU ELLIS - Library of Congress call number - S 591 .A22
Varies............................... Stored offsite - SuDoc number - A 57.38
Online
State government publications 1700s?-1950 Center for Research Libraries has more than a half million volumes of U. S. state government documents from the earliest periods through 1950. Excluded are internal agency newsletters, agricultural station publications, maps, and state court reports. Most of the collection is not cataloged. To identify resources, try to find state publications checklists, or contact CRL Access Services.  CRL also maintains a collection of legislative journals through 1990.
State of the Union Address, Presidential 1790-current American Presidency Project
1994-current GovInfo.gov
Statistics   USA.gov
2013-2016 Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1878-2012 Statistical Abstract of the United States
  Historical Statistics of the US Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Statutes at Large (session laws) 1951-current GovInfo.gov
1789-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1789-2006 Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

T - U - V - W

     T     (return to top)
Topographic Maps   Inventory of 7.5-minute topographic maps at the Geology Library
National Map - USGS Topo
Treaties with Indian Tribes All Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri choose U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
1778-1883 Indian Affairs. Laws and Treaties (See Vol. 2 of printed set for Treaties)
Or see full text in Hathi Trust
1722-1869 Ratified Indian Treaties, Special Collections, microfilm