Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism - A Guide to Resources: Multidisciplinary

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Multidisciplinary Databases- Look here first!

Additional Multidisciplinary Databases

Here are some more general databases you can search if you aren't having luck with the subject databases provided here or in the other tabs of this guide. If you have trouble accessing them, try searching through the Discover @ MU tab on the MU Libraries website - your affiliation with MU grants you permissions that the general public doesn't have

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for an abundance of journals, covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.

Features: Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles; PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals; and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
primarily covers 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Helpful resources for Academic Search Premier: How to use Database Search Alerts

Gale Virtual Reference Library (also sometimes called Gale eBooks) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Features: can be linked to Google or Microsoft accounts to quickly save entries; covers a wide range of dates, depending on publication

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar may also be useful for your research. It provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. 

  • Features: it is extremely broad and interdisciplinary and it can help you keep track of your references; the results can be chaotic and hard to control

Think of Google Scholar not as a replacement for but rather a complement to the libraries databases. Please see the Google Scholar & Findit@MU guide for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.

Image links to JSTOR

JSTOR is a highly regarded scholarly resource for journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources in the arts and sciences. Specifically, it contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.

Features: numerous database-authored supports and guides for most effectively using JSTOR; "Citation Locator" allows you to search with part or all of a citation to find an article; extensive collection date coverage; articles are academic or scholarly and journals are largely peer-reviewedcurrent issues of certain journals are not available immediately upon publishing (JSTOR seems to be working on shortening or removing that 'moving wall' for many publications); holding subjects are limited to arts and sciences

Helpful resources from JSTOR:

logo_scopus :   Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Scopus is a database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.

Features: you can save searches and set up alerts for new search results, document citation, or author citation; offers authorship profiles that can help with finding related publications; date coverage is 1970-present (there is selected access back to 1823)

Helpful resources for Scopus:

Need Help?

There are lots of ways the libraries can support you!

Get research assistance from the MU Libraries' staff via email, phone, or in person at the library. There's also a searchable list of frequently asked questions. You can chat with a librarian 24 hours a day (M-F) and Saturday and Sundays starting at 10 a.m. You can contact your subject librarian to ask questions or to set up an appointment to meet one-on-one

a small icon Call Us: 573-882-3362  |a small icon Text Us Your Questions: 573-535-6818