Company & Industry Resources - Journalism - Strategic Communication - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Company & Industry Information

BCC Research
Provides access to market research reports and market forecasting in mostly STEM centered areas – advanced materials, plastics, biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, sensors, chemicals, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Over 250 research reports are published annually.
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
IBISWorld
Provides reports for all of the industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). It also includes reports on industries in Australia, Canada, China, Mexico, and the U.K.
Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorial: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/
Mergent Online
Provides immediate access to data on NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *
Mintel
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access.
Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2001-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Automatic
NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records.
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited
SimplyAnalytics
Provides over 100,000 data variables for use in creating thematic maps and tables. Data can be viewed by state, congressional district, city, county, ZIP code, census tract or block group. Note: You are not required to create an account. Click “Sign in as a guest” to access. Only create an account if you want to save your work in the system.

Bloomberg - the Bloomberg terminal is in the northwest corner of the journalism library's main floor. It is a source of in-depth business information and is especially helpful determining suppliers, customers and competitors.

Sources of Journalism industry-related news and information

Compiled by Reuben Stern, Director, New York Program, Missouri School of Journalism

Many of these sites offer free email newsletters. Sign up for multiple newsletters to keep up with developments in your chosen field. Some of the sites that are password protected might be accessible on campus via the MU Journalism Library website.

Industry-related news:

Other resources/organizations aimed at improving journalism: