Our Collections - Journalism - Resources for Journalism Graduate Students - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Collections

For a more in depth look at our collections, please visit the Collections Research Guide where there is a tab for each collection.

Newspapers:

The Journalism Library subscribes to both domestic and international print newspapers. Domestic papers are arranged alphabetically by city and international papers by country in the newspaper display cabinet across from the public services desk. Access to digital newspapers and newswires is available to journalism library customers through aggregated databases.

Print Journals/Magazines/Periodicals:

Most academic journals are now available online via the online catalog (MERLIN), but many professional and trade journals are still available only in print. Print journals are displayed on the southeast wall of the library’s main floor, visible when entering the library.

Reference Collection:

The journalism library has a small print reference collection on the main level. Many classic print titles are now available online.

Reserve Materials:

While the journalism library still has a number of print titles, especially photojournalism books on reserve behind the circulation desk, many items are accessible through the electronic reserves (Eres) system providing 24/7 access for students on or off campus.

Other items on reserve for checkout are: cameras, video cameras, tripods, microphones, laptop computers, laptop accessories, digital audio recorders, headphones, iPads, etc. See all of the equipment available for check out at the journalism library.

Technology:

The journalism library has 22 computers (17 iMacs and 5 MacBook laptops) with a full suite of multimedia software, 1 flatbed color scanner, a Kic book scanner, black & white and color laser printers, 5-52” flat screen TVs.

Masters Projects/Masters Theses/Dissertations

Books/eBooks/Collections:

The journalism library has an on-site collection of over 30,000 print books. It includes the working collection of journalism, communication, and strategic communication books as well as the Betty Winfield Political Communication and Mass Media History Collection, and a growing 4000-volume journalism fiction collection. The Steve Weinberg Journalism Fiction Collection, named for journalist and author, Steve Weinberg, is a collection of novels with primary characters depicted as journalists. These books are housed in state-of-the-art compact shelving with one-touch electronic movement and passive laser safety system.

Students and faculty also have access to a growing e-book collection, including reference titles.

The library also houses a large academic photojournalism collection which includes photojournalism books from the Jack and Dorothy Fields, Pictures of the Year International, and the Angus and Betty McDougall Photojournalism collection. This is only fitting since Photojournalism as an academic subject was born at the Missouri School of Journalism.

In addition to these collections, the journalism library has a substantial historical collection of typography books. Since the journalism library collection is over 100 years old, several thousand books and periodicals are either in the MU Libraries’ Special Collections or safely stored in off-site storage where temperature and humidity levels are closely monitored.