You've been given a topic on which to write a story. If it is a localized story, you should search the local news archives to see what was written about the same topic in the past. Not only will the results of the search provide more context, but it may also provide important facts and even valuable contacts useful in creating your own story.
If you want to localize a global, national or regional story, use the MU licensed databases to search for stories on the same subject. An example might be how drought affects the local economy. You might search for stories about drought and the global economy or its effect on a particular country.
Columbia Missourian (digital web version)
Columbia Missourian Digital Print Archive (collection of print newspapers only)
Columbia Daily Tribune (digital web version - requires a subscription, but you get three free articles per month)
Internet Archive's TV News Archive - is a free service provided as a way to enhance the capabilities of journalists, scholars, teachers, librarians, civic organizations and other engaged citizens. It repurposes closed captioning to enable users to search, quote and borrow from the Internet Archive’s collection of 500,000+ US TV news broadcasts aired since 2009.
Contains newspapers, trade journals, general interest periodicals, blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe. Users can also access international, national, and regional news.
Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).
