Skip to main content

Education: Articles

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Three Ways to Find Articles

If you are looking for ARTICLES on your topic, you have three options:

1. Databases: Search one of the Library's 350+ databases (Preferred way!)

2. Discover @ MU

3. Google Scholar

Discover@MU Search

Search Discover @ MU for articles, books, and more!

Remote Access to Databases

Accessing electronic resources (databases and electronic journals) from off-campus is relatively easy.  Remote access is available to currently enrolled MU students.  Access is authenticated by the user's username (myZou username and password). If you are trying to access from a work computer (especially in a school district), you may experience access problems related to the firewall installed on your network.  In these cases, you can try to download and install the Virtual Private Network client provided by MU. If this does not work, contact Rhonda Whithaus, Electronic Resources Coordinator, at 573-882-9164 or WhithausR@missouri.edu.  Additional information on accessing our electronic resources from off-campus can be found here.

Linking from Databases to Full-text

The databases listed above will lead you to scholarly articles. If you do not find the html or pdf full-text of the article in the database, just click Find it @ MUnext to the article citation.  The article will display if available electronically.  If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog. If the article is not available online or in print, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Databases

Use a database to find article information on your topic. After retrieving article citations, use Findit@MU to determine whether the article(s) is available fulltext online or in print.  Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain copies of articles from other libraries.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

 

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

 

TOO MANY hits:  AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

 

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word. 

 

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic.  If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval. 
 
Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.  Instructions for setting up Auto Alerts/RSS feeds for many databases can be found here.

Education Journals