Skip to main content

Education: Dissertations

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Search for Dissertations

There are several methods for finding dissertations on a topic.

  1. MU dissertations written since 1995 are available full-text online through the database Current Research @ MU.  Search by author, advisor or keyword.  This database also provides citations for pre-1995 MU dissertations.
  2. Dissertations not available full-text in Current Research @ MU are available in paper at the UM Libraries Depository.  To find these dissertations, go to the MERLIN Online Catalog.  If you have the citation information from the record in Current Research @ MU,  search by author or title.  Use the Request Item function to borrow a dissertation and have it delivered to your local academic institution. 
  3. The MU Graduate School offers a searchable and browseable listing of MU dissertations and theses.  
  4. To find information about dissertations written at other institutions, search the Dissertation Abstracts database.  Search by keyword, author, advisor, institution and many other fields.  If you identify dissertations not available via MERLIN or MOBIUS, submit a dissertation interlibrary loan request for the complete dissertation.
  5. WorldCat Dissertations is another database that provides information about dissertations written at other institutions.
  6. Two sites offer some dissertations full-text online free of charge: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations and Theses Canada.

Databases

Current Research@MU Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Bookmark and share
Also Known as: Dissertations@MU
  Current Research@MU indexes MU dissertations from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN.
Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Bookmark and share
Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
  Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
MERLIN Dissertation and Theses Search Bookmark and share
  Theses and dissertations completed at MU are listed in the MERLIN Catalog. Browse the list of departments or search by author or title. Most MU dissertations written before 1995 will be in the UM Library Depository. Use the Request button to have it delivered to the library to check out. Many dissertations written since 1995 are available online. 
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Bookmark and share
  The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Theses Canada Bookmark and share
  This free site provides indexing of Canadian theses from 1965 to date. Full-text is available from 1998-2002.
WorldCat Dissertations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Bookmark and share
  WorldCat Dissertations is a database of all dissertations and theses listed in WorldCat.