Journalism - Information Gathering Resources

Twitter Tools:

• Tweetdeck a social media dashboard application for management of Twitter accounts.
• New York Times' Daniel Victor shares - The One Word Journalists Should Add to their Twitter Searches in Breaking News
• Twitter Analytics provides Twitter analytics
• Twitonomy analyzes Twitter account activity
• Search Snap Bird Tweet archive
• Trendsmap  maps real time Twitter trends across the globe
• BackTweets search for links on Twitter
• Buffer schedules the release of your tweets
• ManageFlitter optimizes tweet releases and provides analytics
• Tweriod provides info on the best times to tweet based on followers
• Tweepi helps manage Twitter followers
• Twilert provides alerts for Twitter

Google Search Tools:

• Google Search Features (operators, filters, etc.)
• Google Trends - current search trends
  • A part of Google Trends, Google Correlate allows you to look at search trends over time.
• The Google Public Data Explorer makes large data sets easy to explore, visualize and communicate.
• Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your choice of query or topic.
• Google News archive search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives.
• Create charts with Google Charts.
• Google's Ngram Viewer lets you search keywords in millions of books over the span of half a millennium, a useful tool for finding trends over time.
• Find local businesses, view maps and get driving directions in Google Maps
• Google Earth is a computer program that renders a 3D representation of Earth based on satellite imagery.

Facebook Search Tools:

• Facebook graph searching
  • 1Intelligence Facebook graph search
  • Net Boot Camp's Facebook Search Assistant
  • Graph tips by Henk van Ess
  • Social Media Examiner's: How to use Facebook graph searching to improve your marketing

YouTube Search Tools:

• Google YouTube search support
• How to find almost anything on YouTube (Gizmodo)
• YouTube keyword SEO tools (Tubics)

Other Real Time Search Tools

• BuzzSumo searches the most shared content across the four main social networks namely Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook and Google+.
• YouTube Trends, Map & Blog Dashboard
• Popurls provides an overview of what is happening on the Internet and social web today.
• SocialMention is a real time social media search that quantifies your results by sentiment, strength, passion & reach.
• Boardreader searches across forums and other sites.
• BuzzFeed  aggregates social trending content.

Social Data Sites

• Data.gov searches government data.

Verification Tools

• Verification Junkie is a directory of tools for verifying, fact checking and assessing the validity of social media and user generated content.

Geosocial/ Location-based Tools

• GeoSocial Footprint  - analyze your geosocial footprint for risk
• Echosec - Location based meta-data in digital publications allows you to search physical regions for messages, images, videos and more.

Image Search

• TinEye - Reverse image search using image or image url
• Google Images - Use the image or image url to search for images across networks