Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prices and Wages by Decade: 1970-1979

Links to government documents and primary sources listing retail prices for products and services, as well as wages for common occupations.

Wages in the United States, 1970-1979

INCOME STATISTICS for the 1970s

Earnings by race and sex, 1970-1979

EARNINGS by RACE AND SEX, 1970s

The links below lead to earnings data for race and sex combinations (for example, white women, black men, etc.

EARNINGS by SEX, 1970s

Wages by occupation and industry (A to Z), 1970-1979

  • Airline wages in 1970 and 1975
    • Tells salary and wages for pilots, copilots, flight engineers, flight attendants, aircraft inspectors and mechanics, maintenance crew occupations, dispatchers, airline customer service attendants, office clerical workers, and electronic data processing occupations.  Source: BLS Industry Wage Surveys
  • Appliance repair shop wages19721975, and 1978
    • Tells wages of those who repaired televisions, radios and electrical appliances. Source: BLS Industry Wage Surveys
  • Auto assembly plant wages
    • 1973 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Nov 1974)
  • Auto dealer repair shop wages - 1973
    • Tells wages, incentive pay and earnings for employees of automobile dealership repair shops, including automotive mechanics, car painters, body repairmen, lubrication men, parts men, service salesmen and more. Source: BLS Industry Wage Surveys
  • Banking and life insurance job wages
    • 1971  [Life insurance jobs] - provides earnings data for secretaries, clerks, claims approvers, underwriters, and computer programmers working in this industry.
    • 1973 [Banking jobs] - wages paid to bank tellers, bookkeepers, secretaries, clerks, computer programmers, etc.
    • 1976  [Both banking and life insurance jobs]
  • Baseball players' salaries
    • This article investigates the history of major league baseball players' salaries; table 1 (page 5) shows average and median annual salaries for 1970-1996, table 2 (page 6) shows the average salaries for the highest and lowest playing teams for select years 1980-1995, and table 4 (page 7) shows minimum baseball salaries for 1967-1997 (source).
  • Building trades - union wages by occupation and by city 
    1970-19711971-19721973-1974197519761977
    • Includes asbestos workers, bricklayers, carpenters, electricians, painters, plasterers, plumbers, roofers, sheet metal workers, stonemasons, tile layers, and many more building occupations. Source: BLS Union wages and hours: Building trades.
  • Bus driver wages by city 
    19711972197319741975, 19761978-1979
    Source: BLS Union wages and hours: Local-transit operating employees.

Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.

  • Carpenters - 1977-1978
  • Cleaning services wages (contract) - 197119741977 
    • Those employed in this industry typically worked at night sweeping floors, emptying wastebaskets and dusting furniture, sometimes mopping, waxing floors or washing windows.  Be sure to look at hours as well, because many people with these jobs worked less than 20 hours per week (see summary for more overview.)  Breakouts for 33 metro areas.  Data broken out by sex.
  • Communications industry wages -
    1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979.
    • Tells average hourly wages for employees working at telephone companies and for Western Union.  Wage data by occupation such as accountants, clerical staff, salespeople, telephone operators, construction/installers, repairmen, and more.
  • Congressional salaries
  • Construction wages (contract) by metro area1972 and 1973 
    • Shows average wages for carpenters, bricklayers, bulldozer operators, back-hoe operators, truck drivers, cement masons, electricians, pipe fitters, plumbers, roofers, sheet metal workers, etc.  Breaks out wages by residential or commercial construction.
  • Dairy industry wages 1973
    • The dairy industry employed route drivers (AKA "milkmen"), stationary engineers, mechanics to maintain company trucks, garage attendants, sanitization workers and more.  Ten years before this report came out, almost all milk was delivered in glass bottles directly to homes.  The introduction of paper cartons brought about changes in the industry that are reflected in this report.
  • Dental hygienists and dental assistants - 1978
    • Salaries of employees in state health departments, reported by state, pp. 17-21 of source.
  • Dentists - 1978
    • Salaries of public health dentists employed by state health departments, reported by state, pp. 9-13 of source.
  • Department store job wages - 1973
    • Shows wages for sales clerks by department (housewares, men's clothing, floor coverings, shoes, sporting goods, etc.) for full-time and part-time workers by city.
  • Doctors, medical - Income, 1971
    • Shows median net income for all medical doctors and for particular specialties: surgeons, obstetricians/gynecologists, internists, general practitioners and pediatricians. Source: U.S. Dept of HEW, Medical care expenditures, prices, and costs: background book.
  • Education, higher - Salaries
    • Report from the U.S. National Center for Education Statistics shows salaries of professors, instructors, lecturers, academic deans, and others for 1971-1973
    • The Illnois Data Book for Higher Education shows average salaries for professors, lecturers, instructors and other faculty for 1974. Find data for additional years in other editions of this source.
  • Electric and gas utilities job wages - 1972 and 1978 
    • Wages for workers in plants that generated electricity by burning fossil fuel, or in nuclear power plants, hydroelectric power plants, etc. and workers at utilities that distributed natural gas.  Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
  • Electricians - 1977-1978
  • Farm labor wages1930-present
    • The USDA periodical Farm Labor has been in publication for nearly 90 years.  Wages are listed in each issue.  Use the "Filter by date" feature to help navigate.
    • Farm wage rates, 1970-1979
      Shows figures with and without board. Source: USDA Agricultural Statistics. 1970 (Includes geographical divisions), 1971 (Includes geographical divisions), 19721973197419751976197719781979
  • Fertilizer plant wages
    • 1971 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Aug 1972)
  • Flour and grain mill products industry wages - 1972
    • Occupations in the flour and grain mill industry included millwrights, mechanics, oilers, packers, bolters, forklift operators and more. Other parts of this report tell about job benefits, etc. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
  • Foundries, iron and steel job wages 1973 and 1979
  • Foundries, nonferrous metals job wages 1970 and 1975
  • Government employee salaries and wages at the city level - 1970s
    This source lists pay for firefighters, police, sanitation workers, building inspectors, surveyors, carpenters, painters, plumbers, groundskeepers, computer technicians, typists, librarians, library clerks and assistants, etc. in Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Columbus, Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas CityLos Angeles, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Phoenix, San Francisco, St. Paul, Wichita, and more.  Additional cities (such as St. Louis) are available in the library's print collection.  Source: Municipal Government Wage Survey.
  • Government employee compensation at the state level 1972 
  • Grain mill product industry wages1977
  • Grocery stores - Union wages and hours by city - 1971, 1973, 1975
    • Wage rates for cashiers, bakers, dairy workers, baggers, meat men, produce stockers, porters, and more.  68 cities included. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
  • Hotel and motel job wages - 1973 and 1978
    • Shows wages for food service workers, bartenders, waiters and waitresses, porters, elevator operators, room clerks, hotel maids, cooks, dishwashers, pantry workers, security guards, and maintenance crew mechanics.  Hourly wage averages are broken out for 24 major American cities. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
    • 1970 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, July 1970)

Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.

Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.

  • Manufacturing job wages- see box below for manufacturing wages by industry.
  • Meat products industry job wages - 1974 and 1979
    • Reports average wages in meatpacking and slaughtering plants, mainly hogs and cattle.
  • Metal industry (fabricated structural) job wages1974 and 1979​ 
  • Mining industry job wages - 1972 and 1977
  • Military pay charts (U.S.)
    • 1790s-present - This website does a good job of organizing a complex topic.
    • July 1976 - This chart breaks down pay for various levels of enlisted members and commissioned officers.
  • Millwork job wages - 1979 
  • Musician - 1979 
  • Oil and gas extraction job wages - 1977 

Medical and health industries 

  • Physicians, dentists and other health workers' median incomes, 1970-1976
  • Physicians fees (includes median earnings by specialty) - 1970s
  • Nurses (registered) employed in physician offices - Average salary - 1973 (source, p. 40)
  • Health services industry - All wage and salary workers - 1970-1978 (source)
  • Hospital job wages in 21 major cities - 1972 and 1975-1976
    • Shows average hourly wages for nurse supervisors, head nurses and general duty nurses, LPNs (licensed practical nurses), nursing aides, ward clerks, radiologic (x-ray) technicians, surgical technicians, kitchen helpers, switchboard operators, maids and porters.
  • Hospital and nursing home job wages - 1978
    • Shows average hourly wage for nurse supervisors, head nurses and general duty nurses, LPNs, nursing aides, ward clerks, laboratory technicians, medical technologists, physical therapists, radiologic technicians, respiratory therapists, surgical technicians, food service helpers and cleaning crews.  Data is reported for 22 major cities in the United States. 
  • Nursing home job wages - 1973 and 1976
  • Veterans Administration hospital personnel - Salaries and wages - 1974
    Source: "Salaries of physicians in the V.A. hospital system : hearings before the Subcommittee on Hospitals of the Committee on Veterans' Affairs" covers more personnel than physicians.  For example, see...
  • Dental personnel salaries in state health departments - 1978

Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.

  • Oil and gas extraction job wages - 1977 
  • Petroleum engineering - 1977-1978
  • Petroleum refining job wages 1971 and 1976 
  • Petroleum (crude) and natural gas production job wages1972
    • Shows wages for gasmen, derrickmen, oil field welders, roustabouts, drillers, pumpers, and more.
  • Philanthropic sector earnings - 1972 (source)
  • Plastics industry job wages1974 and 1979
  • Plumbers1977-1978
  • Printing trades - Union wages and hours - 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1977
  • Private nonagricultural employment - Annual earnings -  1970, 1971-19721973-1975
    • This multi-volume source tells worker earnings in what seems every industry except agriculture.  It provides data for jobs not found elsewhere on this page, such as jobs in religious organizations, deep sea transportation, mail order houses, gasoline service stations, shoe stores, savings and loan associations, photography studios, hair salons and barber shops, motion picture theaters, museums and zoos, charitable organizations and more.  Reports nationwide figures by race and sex of employee.
  • Private nonfarm economy - Employee compensation - 1970, 1972, 1974

  • Pulp, paper, and paperboard mill job wages - 1972 and 1977 

Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.

  • Restaurant and hotel wages and tips1970
    • Wages for bartenders, waiters and waitresses, bus boys and bus girls, bellmen, and chambermaids.
  • Shipbuilding and repair wages - 1976 
  • Student jobs - 1977
    • This chart from page 19 of the May 1977 issue of The Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times shows the pay range and average pay for jobs recommended to college students such as cashier, tutor, gardener, and more. Page 18 also shows earnings for different times of year by university.
  • Telephone & telegraph industry wages - 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979.
    • Wage data by occupation such as accountants, clerical staff, salespeople, telephone operators, construction/installers, repairmen, and more.
  • Textile dyeing and finishing job wages - 1970 and 1976 
  • Truck drivers and helpers - Union wages and hours - 1970s

Manufacturing wages, 1970-1979

  • Chemical (industrial) manufacturing job wages  - 1971 and 1976
  • Drug manufacturing - 1978
    • Occupations in this industry include production workers and professionals such as biologists, chemists, engineers, and science technicians.
  • Fertilizer industry job wages by state - 1971
    • Occupations in the fertilizer industry included baggers, truckers, forklift operators, mixers, weighers, watchmen, etc.  This report tells the average wages for each of these occupations by state.  

Clothing, apparel and footwear manufacturing wages

  • Footwear manufacturing wages - 1971 and 1975 
  • Hosiery manufacturing wages - 197019731976 
  • Men’s and boys’ trouser manufacturing wages - 19711974 
  • Men’s and boys’ shirts and nightwear manufacturing wages - 19711974 
  • Men’s and boys’ suits and coats manufacturing wages - 1970197319761979 
  • Men's shirts and trousers manufacturing wages - 1978 
  • Women’s and misses’ coats and suits manufacturing wages - 1970 
  • Women’s and misses’ dress manufacturing wages - 197119741977 
  • Work clothing manufacturing industry - Wages and demographic characteristics - 1972 

 

WAGES in MANUFACTURING, 1970s

Unless otherwise noted, the following are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.

  • Box manufacturing - 1970 and 1976
    • Tells wages of those who worked in factories making boxes
  • Candy making and confectionery industry job wages - 1970 and 1975
  • Cigar manufacturing job wages - 1972 
  • Cigarette manufacturing job wages - 1971 and 1976 
  • Furniture manufacture, (wooden household) wages - 197119741979
    • Wages in upholstered vs. wooden compared, 1979 (source)
  • Glass and glassware manufacturing job wages 1970, 1975
  • Machinery manufacturing job wages - 1970-197119731974-19751978 
  • Motor vehicles and parts manufacturing wages - 1973 and 1974 
  • Paints and varnish manufacturing job wages - 1970 and 1976 
  • Semiconductor manufacturing wages - 1977
  • Structural clay products industry job wages 1975 
  • Synthetic fiber industry job wages - 1970 and 1976 
  • Textile manufacturing job wages - 1971 and 1975

Wages by metro area (selected occupations), 1970-1979

Click on a state tab above to see cities and metro areas.  These are U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys that show pay for occupations such as secretary, stenographer, typist, messenger, file clerk, bookkeeper, payroll clerk, keypunch operator, computer systems analyst, computer programmer, registered nurse, carpenter, electrician, painter, machinist, mechanic, pipefitter, toot and die maker, janitor, porter, cleaner, and laborer and more.

Alaska

Alabama

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Arizona

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Arkansas

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

California

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:


California Labor Market Bulletin - Statistical Supplements
Shows earnings and hours of labor by industry and by city or metro area.

  • 1972 -- monthly issues bound in one volume
  • 1976 -- monthly issues bound in one volume

Colorado

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Connecticut

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

District of Columbia

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Delaware

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Delaware State Planning Office, Social and Economic Analysis Section:

Florida

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Georgia

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Idaho

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Illinois

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Indiana

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Iowa

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Kansas

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Wichita Municipal Government Wage Survey

  • 1973 edition shows mean and median monthly earnings for a wide variety of occupations, such as police, fire fighters, computer programmers, refuse collectors, librarians, accountants, engineers, social workers and more.

Kentucky

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Louisiana

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Maine

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Maryland

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Massachusetts

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Michigan

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Minnesota

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Mississippi

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Missouri

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Montana

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Nebraska

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

New Hampshire

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

New Jersey

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

New Mexico

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

New York

These bulletins are part of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys unless otherwise noted.

North Carolina

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Ohio

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Oklahoma

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Oregon

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Pennsylvania

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Rhode Island

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

South Carolina

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

South Dakota

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Tennessee

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Texas

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Utah

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Vermont

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Virginia

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Washington

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

West Virginia

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

In addition to the above, there is also a Hospital Wage Survey for Selected Occupations covering West Virginia only.  It was published in 1973.

Wisconsin

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:

Non-wage sources of income, 1970-1979

Foreign wages by country, 1970-1979

Prices in the United States, 1970-1979

PRICES for FOOD and ALCOHOL, 1970s

PRICES for CLOTHING, 1970s

The source Average Retail Prices of Selected Commodities and Services, Fall 1971 provides prices for various articles of clothing in each of the 56 American urban areas that constituted the Consumer Price Index "city sample," and included nationwide averages.  Direct links to the latter are below.

PRICES for COMMON HOUSEHOLD ITEMS, 1970s

COST of a COLLEGE EDUCATION, 1970s

In 1970, 34% of people aged 18-21 were enrolled in college and 11% of people aged 25 years or older had completed 4 years (source: U.S. Census, Table A-2).

1972 typewriterIn 1972, a full year's college tuition ($480) cost 3 times more than a typewriter ($160)

COLLEGE COST DETAIL BY YEAR:

  • 1970-1971 --  Tuition and expenses in health fields
    Shows average school expenses, room and board reported by students of osteopathy, dentistry, optometry, pharmacy, podiatry and veterinary medicine (source, p. 19).
  • 1971-1972 -- Average college costs
    Simple chart shows nationwide average for tuition, fees, room and board (all combined) to attend college in 1971-1972.
  • 1972-1973 -- Higher education: Basic student charges (source)
  • 1974-1975
  • 1978-1979 -- Higher education: Basic student charges (source)
    • Lists tuition, fees, room and board for each institution of higher education in the United States. Breaks out tuition by graduate and undergraduate rates.

ENTERTAINMENT PRICES, 1970s

COMMUNICATION PRICES, 1970s

GASOLINE PRICES, 1970s

  • 1949-2011
    Shows the nominal price (amount paid by customer at time of transaction) for leaded regular gasoline from 1949-1990 and unleaded regular gas from 1976-2011.  Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration.
  • 1973-1974 and 1976-1979 gasoline prices. Source: U.S. EPA.
  • 1978-2020 gasoline and diesel prices, shows annual averages including tax. Source: Transportation energy data book (2021), Table 11.6. Data is downloadable in Excel format.
  • Gasoline prices worldwide (link jumps down on this same page)

GAS MILEAGE PER GALLON

ENERGY PRICES, 1970s

MISCELLANEOUS PRICES, 1970s

For HOUSING, TRANSPORTATION and HEALTH, see below.

Housing & real estate, 1970-1979

Transportation prices, 1970-1979

  • Bus fares, intercity - 1970 

    Tells how much a one-way bus ticket might have cost from New York, Miami, Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles or Montreal to any of 30 other major American cities. For fares between other cities, see this explanation on how bus companies calculated fares.

Health costs to the consumer, 1970-1979

  • Hospitalization, cost per day - 1970 to 1976 

    For the cost per day to stay in a hospital, see column labeled "current dollars," as that refers to the dollar cost at the time. Compares the cost of a hospital stay from 1950 to 1976. See page 31 for a chart showing how much of this cost was paid by insurance.

  • Hospitals - Average cost per patient day by state, 1972-1977 

    Tables compare the average cost per patient day and per case for 1972-1975 in New York, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. See page 1701 for average costs per patient stay and patient day in Vermont and the U.S. for each month from May 1976 to Feb 1977. Source: Congressional hearing: Hospital cost containment act of 1977.

  • Average physicians' fees for selected surgical procedures, 1976 

    Indicates the range of physician fees for mastectomy, tonsillectomy, appendectomy, hernia, vasectomy, hysterectomy, obstetrical services and more. Note that the physician fee may have have been just one part of the total medical bill.

  • Cost to see a doctor in 56 cities, 1971 

    The average U.S. price to visit a general practitioner or internist was $7.98 for an office visit, $13.30 for a house call and $9.24 for patients in hospitals. This source also tells the prices for dental services (fillings, extractions and cleaning) and for eyeglasses (exam, prescription, and eyeglasses). Scroll forward in this source to see doctor visit prices broken out by city. Specifications on how such visits were defined are included.

  • Cost to treat selected medical conditions, 1964 and 1971 

    Table shows average cost to receive maternity care, get treated for appendicitis, breast cancer, heart attack (myocardial infarction), pneumonia, and duodenal ulcer. Also shows the average cost for a child to be treated for a forearm fracture or an ear infection (otitis media). Also shows average length of hospital stay for relevant conditions.

  • Medical service fees for a North Carolina practice, 1977 

    SourceSkyrocketing health care costs, a 1978 congressional investigation.

Inflation and buying power, 1970s

What is the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?

"The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of consumer goods and services" with respect to a given base year with value 100. Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

What is inflation?

As measured with CPI, it is the percent change in the CPI between two different years, showing the "annual percentage change in the cost to the average consumer of acquiring a basket of goods and services". Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

CPI Inflation Formula: CPIx-1-CPIxCPIx*100

What is the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of consumer goods and services, with respect to a given base year with value 100.  Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

Consumer expenditures and analysis, 1970-1979

Foreign prices by country, 1970-1979

Quotable facts for the 1970-1979 decade

In the United States...

  • Minimum wage was $1.60 per hour in 1970.  Source: U.S. Dept of Labor
  • Homes had a median value of $17,000 in 1970. Source: Census Bureau
  • In 1978, "the typical new home buyer is 33 years old, buying at least his second home, and has a combined income (husband and wife) of $21,600." Source: U.S. GAO report, p. 8.
  • Milk cost 66¢ per half gallon in 1970.  Source: U.S. BLS
  • Coffee cost 91¢ per lb. in 1970. Source: U.S. BLS 
  • New cars cost an average of $3,706 in 1970. Source: U.S. BEA
  • The Ford LTD was the top-selling car in 1973, priced at $4,001 new.  Source: Ward's 1973 Automobile Yearbook.
  • Gasoline cost 35¢ per gallon in 1970. It increased to 86¢ by 1979. Source: U.S. EIA
  • Households having 3 or more vehicles rose from 5.5% in 1970 to 21.9% in 2018.   
  • Education at 4-year, public universities cost an average of $1,276 for tuition, fees, room & board in 1970-71. Source: U.S. Dept of Education.
  • Health care costs averaged $297 per person in 1970. Consumer out-of-pocket payments covered 38.8%.  Source: U.S. NCHS
  • Hospital care cost $124.82 per capita in fiscal year 1969-70.  Source: SSA
  • The average price for a prescription in 1970 as around $3.67 to $4.06.  Source: U.S. HEW.

Ask a Question

Reference service is available Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Marie Concannon, Government Information Librarian
Government Documents Department
106B Ellis Library (1st Floor East)
University of Missouri, Columbia
Phone (573) 882-0748