Prices and Wages by Decade: 1980-1989
Links to government documents and primary sources listing retail prices for products and services, as well as wages for common occupations.
Wages in the United States, 1980-1989
- Minimum wage (federal), 1938-2021Source: US Dept of Labor. Get downloadable data from FRED.
SPECIAL POPULATIONS
Earnings by race, sex and education, 1980-1989
- Median weekly earnings:Source: 1989 Handbook of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept of Labor
- Earnings by race and sex, 1988Table compares mean earnings for white, black, and Hispanic workers by sex for the years 1978 and 1988 (in this source, bottom of p. 6).
- Median income by race, region, and more - 1981-1982This table shows the median yearly money income of families in the US. Different categories are shown broken down by family composition, race, residence, region, and number of earners. Source: Family Economics Reivew 1984 no. 2, pg. 13
EARNINGS by SEX, 1980s
- Women's income and earnings, 1981This chapter on earnings from the 1983 Handbook on women workers extends from pages 81-105. It contains extensive tables show data in a variety of breakouts such as:
- Hourly earnings by sex and race
- Earnings by industry and occupation
- Annual earnings by age
- Income by education
- Families at Work: The Jobs and the PayProvides special analysis of women's contribution to household income, dual-income families, childcare needs, the effect of retirement on family income, etc. Source: BLS Bulletin #2209.
- Women's and men's annual earnings, 1951-1991Covers year-round, full time workers only. "Current dollars" are unadjusted figures. Source: 1993 Handbook on women workers.
- Women who moonlight - Earnings, May 1985This article discusses women workers who hold multiple jobs, page 24 reports median weekly earnings in May 1985 (source).
- Older women workers - Earnings in 1986This article on the employment characteristics of older women discusses their 1986 earnings, table on page 9 shows median annual earnings with breakdowns by sex, age, and years of school completed (source).
- Mean and median annual earnings of women - 1989This article discusses the distribution of wages by gender in the 1980s. See table 1 (p.6) for the mean and median annual earnings of women and men in 1979 and 1989; see table 2 (p.8) for mean annual earnings for men and women by educational attainment for the same years. Please note: data is in 1992 dollars (source).
- Median earnings by detailed occupation and sex, 1983-1988Source: 1989 Handbook of labor statistics
WHITE PERSONS' EARNINGS BY SEX, 1980
Mean hourly and annual earnings reported in the 1980 Census, Special Report: Earnings by Occupation and Education. The Census Bureau also has a digitized copy of this volume available on its website.
- Experienced civilian labor force
- Executive, managerial and administrative occupations
- Executive and administrative occupations
- Includes legislators, chief executives, general administrators, administrators, protective services; financial, personnel and labor relations, purchasing, marketing, advertising, and public relations managers; education and health administrators, property and real estate managers; postmasters and mail superintendents; and funeral directors.
- Management related occupations
- Includes accountants; auditors; financial officers; management analysts; personnel, training, and labor relations specialist; buyers and purchasing agents; business and promotion agents; and inspectors and compliance officers, including construction.
- Professional specialty occupations
- Engineers, architects and surveyors
- Includes architects, aerospace, metallurgical, mining, petroleum, chemical, nuclear, civil, agricultural, electrical and electronic, industrial, mechanical, and marine engineers, naval architects, surveyors, and mapping scientists.
- Mathematical and computer scientists
- Includes computer systems analysts; operations and systems researchers and analysts; actuaries, mathematicians, and statisticians.
- Natural scientists
- Includes physicists, geologists, and chemists, except biochemists; and atmospheric, space, agricultural, biological, forestry, conservation, and medical scientists.
- Health diagnosing occupations
- Includes physicians, dentists, veterinarians, optometrists, and podiatrists.
- Health assessment and treating occupations
- Includes registered nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, therapists, and physicians' assistants.
- Teachers, post-secondary
- Teachers, except post-secondary
- lncludes pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, elementary, and secondary school teachers, but excludes principals and supervisors.
- Librarians, archivists and curators
- Social scientists and urban planners
- Includes economists, psychologists, sociologists, and urban planners.
- Social, recreation and religious workers
- Lawyers and judges
- Writers, artists, entertainers and athletes
- Includes authors, technical writers, designers, musicians and composers, actors and directors, painters, sculptors, craft artists, and artist print makers, photographers, dancers, editors and reporters, public relations specialists, announcers, and athletes.
- Technical, sales and administrative support occupations
- Health technologists and technicians
- Includes clinical laboratory, health record, and radiologic technicians, dental hygienists; and licensed practical nurses.
- Engineering and related technologists and technicians
- Includes electrical, electronic, industrial and mechanical engineering, and survey and mapping technicians; and drafting occupations.
- Science technicians
- Technicians, except health, engineering and science
- Includes airplane pilots and navigators; air traffic controllers; broadcast equipment operators; computer programmers; tool programmers, numerical control; and legal assistants.
- Sales occupations
- Sales representatives, finance and business services
- Includes insurance, real estate, securities, advertising, and other business service sales occupations.
- Sales representatives, commodities, except retail
- Includes sales engineers and sales representatives, mining, manufacturing and wholesale.
- Sales workers, retail and personal services
- Sales related occupations
- Includes demonstrators, promoters, and models; auctioneers, and sales support occupations.
- Administrative support occupations, including clerical
- Supervisors, administrative support occupations
- Computer equipment operators
- Secretaries, stenographers and typists
- Information clerks
- Includes interviewers, hotel clerks, transportation and reservation agents, and receptionists.
- Records processing occupations, except financial
- Includes classified ad, correspondence, order, personnel, library, file, and record clerks.
- Financial records processing occupations
- Includes bookkeepers; accounting, payroll, billing, and cost clerks; and billing and calculating machine operators.
- Duplicating, mail and other office machine operators
- Communications equipment operators
- Includes telephone operators and telegraphers.
- Mail and message distributing occupations
- Includes postal clerks, mail carriers, mail clerks, and messengers.
- Material recording, scheduling and distributing clerks
- Includes dispatchers; production coordinators; traffic shipping, and receiving clerks; stock and inventory clerks; meter readers; weighers, measurers and checkers; samplers; and expediters.
- Adjusters and investigators
- Includes adjusters and investigators, eligibility clerks, social welfare; and bill and account collectors.
- Miscellaneous administrative support occupations
- Includes general office and statistical clerks; book tellers; proofreaders; data-entry keyers; statistical clerks, and teacher's aides.
- Service occupations
- Private household occupations
- Includes launderers, cooks, housekeepers, child care workers, and household cleaners and servants.
- Supervisors, protective service occupations
- Firefighting and fire prevention occupations
- Police and detectives
- Includes police and detectives; sheriffs, bailiffs, and correctional institution officers.
- Guards
- Food preparation and service occupations
- Includes bartenders; cooks; waiters; kitchen, food counter, and fountain workers; and waiters' assistants.
- Health service occupations
- Includes dental assistants; health and nursing aides; orderlies; and attendants.
- Cleaning and building service occupations, except household
- Includes maids and housemen, janitors, elevator operators, and pest control occupations.
- Personal service occupations
- Includes barbers, hairdressers and cosmetologists, recreation and public transportation attendants, guides, ushers, baggage porters, bellhops, welfare service aides, and child care workers.
- Farming, forestry and fishing occupations
- Farm operators and managers
- Farm occupations, except managerial
- Includes farm, marine life cultivation and nursery workers.
- Related agricultural occupations
- Includes groundskeepers and gardeners animal caretakers; and graders, sorters and inspectors, agricultural products.
- Forestry and logging occupations
- Fishers, hunters and trappers
- Precision production, craft and repair occupations
- Mechanics and repairers
- Includes vehicle and mobile equipment, industrial machinery, machinery maintenance, heating, and air conditioning mechanics; electrical and electronic equipment repairers, including telephone and telephone line installers; and camera, watch, musical instrument, office machine, mechanic controls, and valve repairers; locksmiths; elevator installers; and millwrights.
- Construction trades
- Includes brickmasons, stonemasons, tile setters, carpet installers, carpenters, drywall installers, electricians, electrical power installers and repairers, painters, paperhangers, plasterers, plumbers, concrete finishers, glaziers, insulation workers, paving equipment operators, roofers, sheetmetal duct installers, structural metal workers, earth drillers, and construction apprentices.
- Extractive occupations
- Includes oil well drillers, explosives workers, mine and mining machine operators.
- Precision metalworking occupations
- Includes tool and die makers; precision assemblers and grinders; machinists, boilermakers; pattern and model makers lay-out workers; jewelers; engravers; and sheet metal workers.
- Precision woodworking occupations
- Precision textile, apparel and furnishings machine workers
- Precision workers, assorted materials
- Precision food production occupations
- Precision inspectors, tester and related workers
- Plant and system operators
- Operators, fabricators and laborers
- Metalworking and plastic working machine operators
- Metal and plastic processing machine operators
- Woodworking machine operators
- Printing machine operators
- Textile, apparel and furnishings machine operators
- Machine operators, assorted materials
- Fabricators, assemblers and hand working occupations
- Production inspectors, testers, samplers and weighers
- Motor vehicle operators
- Rail transportation occupations
- Water transportation occupations
- Material moving equipment operators
- Handlers, equipment cleaners, helpers and laborers
BLACK PERSONS' EARNINGS BY OCCUPATION AND SEX, 1980
Mean hourly and annual earnings reported in the 1980 Census, Special Report: Earnings by Occupation and Education. The Census Bureau also has a digitized copy of this volume available on its website.
- Experienced civilian labor force
- Executive, managerial and administrative occupations
- Executive and administrative occupations
- Includes legislators, chief executives, general administrators, administrators, protective services; financial, personnel and labor relations, purchasing, marketing, advertising, and public relations managers; education and health administrators, property and real estate managers; postmasters and mail superintendents; and funeral directors.
- Management related occupations
- Includes accountants; auditors; financial officers; management analysts; personnel, training, and labor relations specialist; buyers and purchasing agents; business and promotion agents; and inspectors and compliance officers, including construction.
- Professional specialty occupations
- Engineers, architects and surveyors
- Includes architects, aerospace, metallurgical, mining, petroleum, chemical, nuclear, civil, agricultural, electrical and electronic, industrial, mechanical, and marine engineers, naval architects, surveyors, and mapping scientists.
- Mathematical and computer scientists
- Includes computer systems analysts; operations and systems researchers and analysts; actuaries, mathematicians, and statisticians.
- Natural scientists
- Includes physicists, geologists, and chemists, except biochemists; and atmospheric, space, agricultural, biological, forestry, conservation, and medical scientists.
- Health diagnosing occupations
- Includes physicians, dentists, veterinarians, optometrists, and podiatrists.
- Health assessment and treating occupations
- Includes registered nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, therapists, and physicians' assistants.
- Teachers, post-secondary
- Teachers, except post-secondary
- lncludes pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, elementary, and secondary school teachers, but excludes principals and supervisors.
- Librarians, archivists and curators
- Social scientists and urban planners
- Includes economists, psychologists, sociologists, and urban planners.
- Social, recreation and religious workers
- Lawyers and judges
- Writers, artists, entertainers and athletes
- Includes authors, technical writers, designers, musicians and composers, actors and directors, painters, sculptors, craft artists, and artist print makers, photographers, dancers, editors and reporters, public relations specialists, announcers, and athletes.
- Technical, sales and administrative support occupations
- Health technologists and technicians
- Includes clinical laboratory, health record, and radiologic technicians, dental hygienists; and licensed practical nurses.
- Engineering and related technologists and technicians
- Includes electrical, electronic, industrial and mechanical engineering, and survey and mapping technicians; and drafting occupations.
- Science technicians
- Technicians, except health, engineering and science
- Includes airplane pilots and navigators; air traffic controllers; broadcast equipment operators; computer programmers; tool programmers, numerical control; and legal assistants.
- Sales occupations
- Sales representatives, finance and business services
- Includes insurance, real estate, securities, advertising, and other business service sales occupations.
- Sales representatives, commodities, except retail
- Includes sales engineers and sales representatives, mining, manufacturing and wholesale.
- Sales workers, retail and personal services
- Sales related occupations
- Includes demonstrators, promoters, and models; auctioneers, and sales support occupations.
- Administrative support occupations, including clerical
- Supervisors, administrative support occupations
- Computer equipment operators
- Secretaries, stenographers and typists
- Information clerks
- Includes interviewers, hotel clerks, transportation and reservation agents, and receptionists.
- Records processing occupations, except financial
- Includes classified ad, correspondence, order, personnel, library, file, and record clerks.
- Financial records processing occupations
- Includes bookkeepers; accounting, payroll, billing, and cost clerks; and billing and calculating machine operators.
- Duplicating, mail and other office machine operators
- Communications equipment operators
- Includes telephone operators and telegraphers.
- Mail and message distributing occupations
- Includes postal clerks, mail carriers, mail clerks, and messengers.
- Material recording, scheduling and distributing clerks
- Includes dispatchers; production coordinators; traffic shipping, and receiving clerks; stock and inventory clerks; meter readers; weighers, measurers and checkers; samplers; and expediters.
- Adjusters and investigators
- Includes adjusters and investigators, eligibility clerks, social welfare; and bill and account collectors.
- Miscellaneous administrative support occupations
- Includes general office and statistical clerks; book tellers; proofreaders; data-entry keyers; statistical clerks, and teacher's aides.
- Service occupations
- Private household occupations
- Includes launderers, cooks, housekeepers, child care workers, and household cleaners and servants.
- Supervisors, protective service occupations
- Firefighting and fire prevention occupations
- Police and detectives
- Includes police and detectives; sheriffs, bailiffs, and correctional institution officers.
- Guards
- Food preparation and service occupations
- Includes bartenders; cooks; waiters; kitchen, food counter, and fountain workers; and waiters' assistants.
- Health service occupations
- Includes dental assistants; health and nursing aides; orderlies; and attendants.
- Cleaning and building service occupations, except household
- Includes maids and housemen, janitors, elevator operators, and pest control occupations.
- Personal service occupations
- Includes barbers, hairdressers and cosmetologists, recreation and public transportation attendants, guides, ushers, baggage porters, bellhops, welfare service aides, and child care workers.
- Farming, forestry and fishing occupations
- Farm operators and managers
- Farm occupations, except managerial
- Includes farm, marine life cultivation and nursery workers.
- Related agricultural occupations
- Includes groundskeepers and gardeners animal caretakers; and graders, sorters and inspectors, agricultural products.
- Forestry and logging occupations
- Fishers, hunters and trappers
- Precision production, craft and repair occupations
- Mechanics and repairers
- Includes vehicle and mobile equipment, industrial machinery, machinery maintenance, heating, and air conditioning mechanics; electrical and electronic equipment repairers, including telephone and telephone line installers; and camera, watch, musical instrument, office machine, mechanic controls, and valve repairers; locksmiths; elevator installers; and millwrights.
- Construction trades
- Includes brickmasons, stonemasons, tile setters, carpet installers, carpenters, drywall installers, electricians, electrical power installers and repairers, painters, paperhangers, plasterers, plumbers, concrete finishers, glaziers, insulation workers, paving equipment operators, roofers, sheetmetal duct installers, structural metal workers, earth drillers, and construction apprentices.
- Extractive occupations
- Includes oil well drillers, explosives workers, mine and mining machine operators.
- Precision metalworking occupations
- Includes tool and die makers; precision assemblers and grinders; machinists, boilermakers; pattern and model makers lay-out workers; jewelers; engravers; and sheet metal workers.
- Precision woodworking occupations
- Precision textile, apparel and furnishings machine workers
- Precision workers, assorted materials
- Precision food production occupations
- Precision inspectors, tester and related workers
- Plant and system operators
- Operators, fabricators and laborers
- Metalworking and plastic working machine operators
- Metal and plastic processing machine operators
- Woodworking machine operators
- Printing machine operators
- Textile, apparel and furnishings machine operators
- Machine operators, assorted materials
- Fabricators, assemblers and hand working occupations
- Production inspectors, testers, samplers and weighers
- Motor vehicle operators
- Rail transportation occupations
- Water transportation occupations
- Material moving equipment operators
- Handlers, equipment cleaners, helpers and laborers
HISPANIC PERSONS' EARNINGS BY OCCUPATION AND SEX, 1980
Mean hourly and annual earnings reported in the 1980 Census, Special Report: Earnings by Occupation and Education. The Census Bureau also has a digitized copy of this volume available on its website.
- Experienced civilian labor force
- Executive, managerial and administrative occupations
- Executive and administrative occupations
- Includes legislators, chief executives, general administrators, administrators, protective services; financial, personnel and labor relations, purchasing, marketing, advertising, and public relations managers; education and health administrators, property and real estate managers; postmasters and mail superintendents; and funeral directors.
- Management related occupations
- Includes accountants; auditors; financial officers; management analysts; personnel, training, and labor relations specialist; buyers and purchasing agents; business and promotion agents; and inspectors and compliance officers, including construction.
- Professional specialty occupations
- Engineers, architects and surveyors
- Includes architects, aerospace, metallurgical, mining, petroleum, chemical, nuclear, civil, agricultural, electrical and electronic, industrial, mechanical, and marine engineers, naval architects, surveyors, and mapping scientists.
- Mathematical and computer scientists
- Includes computer systems analysts; operations and systems researchers and analysts; actuaries, mathematicians, and statisticians.
- Natural scientists
- Includes physicists, geologists, and chemists, except biochemists; and atmospheric, space, agricultural, biological, forestry, conservation, and medical scientists.
- Health diagnosing occupations
- Includes physicians, dentists, veterinarians, optometrists, and podiatrists.
- Health assessment and treating occupations
- Includes registered nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, therapists, and physicians' assistants.
- Teachers, post-secondary
- Teachers, except post-secondary
- Includes pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, elementary, and secondary school teachers, but excludes principals and supervisors.
- Librarians, archivists and curators
- Social scientists and urban planners
- Includes economists, psychologists, sociologists, and urban planners.
- Social, recreation and religious workers
- Lawyers and judges
- Writers, artists, entertainers and athletes
- Includes authors, technical writers, designers, musicians and composers, actors and directors, painters, sculptors, craft artists, and artist print makers, photographers, dancers, editors and reporters, public relations specialists, announcers, and athletes.
- Technical, sales and administrative support occupations
- Health technologists and technicians
- Includes clinical laboratory, health record, and radiologic technicians, dental hygienists; and licensed practical nurses.
- Engineering and related technologists and technicians
- Includes electrical, electronic, industrial and mechanical engineering, and survey and mapping technicians; and drafting occupations.
- Science technicians
- Technicians, except health, engineering and science
- Includes airplane pilots and navigators; air traffic controllers; broadcast equipment operators; computer programmers; tool programmers, numerical control; and legal assistants.
- Sales occupations
- Sales representatives, finance and business services
- Includes insurance, real estate, securities, advertising, and other business service sales occupations.
- Sales representatives, commodities, except retail
- Sales workers, retail and personal services
- Sales related occupations
- Administrative support occupations, including clerical
- Supervisors, administrative support occupations
- Computer equipment operators
- Secretaries, stenographers and typists
- Information clerks
- Records processing occupations, except financial
- Financial records processing occupations
- Duplicating, mail and other office machine operators
- Communications equipment operators
- Mail and message distributing occupations
- Material recording, scheduling and distributing clerks
- Adjusters and investigators
- Miscellaneous administrative support occupations
- Service occupations
- Private household occupations
- Supervisors, protective service occupations
- Firefighting and fire prevention occupations
- Police and detectives
- Guards
- Food preparation and service occupations
- Health service occupations
- Cleaning and building service occupations, except household
- Personal service occupations
- Farming, forestry and fishing occupations
- Farm operators and managers
- Farm occupations, except managerial
- Related agricultural occupations
- Forestry and logging occupations
- Fishers, hunters and trappers
- Precision production, craft and repair occupations
- Mechanics and repairers
- Construction trades
- Contractive occupations
- Precision metalworking occupations
- Precision woodworking occupations
- Precision textile, apparel and furnishings machine workers
- Precision workers, assorted materials
- Precision food production occupations
- Precision inspectors, tester and related workers
- Plant and system operators
- Operators, fabricators and laborers
- Metalworking and plastic working machine operators
- Metal and plastic processing machine operators
- Woodworking machine operators
- Printing machine operators
- Textile, apparel and furnishings machine operators
- Machine operators, assorted materials
- Fabricators, assemblers and hand working occupations
- Production inspectors, testers, samplers and weighers
- Motor vehicle operators
- Rail transportation occupations
- Water transportation occupations
- Material moving equipment operators
- Handlers, equipment cleaners, helpers and laborers
ASIAN AND PACIFIC ISLANDER EARNINGS BY OCCUPATION AND SEX, 1980
Mean hourly and annual earnings reported in the 1980 Census, Special Report: Earnings by Occupation and Education. The Census Bureau also has a digitized copy of this volume available on its website.
- Experienced civilian labor force
- Executive, managerial and administrative occupations
- Executive and administrative occupations
- Includes legislators, chief executives, general administrators, administrators, protective services; financial, personnel and labor relations, purchasing, marketing, advertising, and public relations managers; education and health administrators, property and real estate managers; postmasters and mail superintendents; and funeral directors.
- Management related occupations
- Includes accountants; auditors; financial officers; management analysts; personnel, training, and labor relations specialists; buyers and purchasing agents; business and promotion agents; and inspectors and compliance officers, including construction.
- Professional specialty occupations
- Engineers, architects and surveyors
- Includes architects, aerospace, metallurgical, mining, petroleum, chemical, nuclear, civil, agricultural, electrical and electronic, industrial, mechanical, and marine engineers, naval architects, surveyors, and mapping scientists.
- Mathematical and computer scientists
- Includes computer systems analysts; operations and systems researchers and analysts; actuaries, mathematicians, and statisticians.
- Natural scientists
- Includes physicists, geologists, and chemists, except biochemists; and atmospheric, space, agricultural, biological, forestry, conservation, and medical scientists.
- Health diagnosing occupations
- Includes physicians, dentists, veterinarians, optometrists, and podiatrists.
- Health assessment and treating occupations
- Includes registered nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, therapists, and physicians' assistants.
- Teachers, post-secondary
- Teachers, except post-secondary
- Includes pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, elementary, and secondary school teachers, but excludes principals and supervisors.
- Librarians, archivists and curators
- Social scientists and urban planners
- Includes economists, psychologists, sociologists, and urban planners.
- Social, recreation and religious workers
- Lawyers and judges
- Writers, artists, entertainers and athletes
- Includes authors, technical writers, designers, musicians and composers, actors and directors, painters, sculptors, craft artists, and artist print makers, photographers, dancers, editors and reporters, public relations specialists, announcers, and athletes.
- Technical, sales and administrative support occupations
- Health technologists and technicians
- Includes clinical laboratory, health record, and radiologic technicians, dental hygienists; and licensed practical nurses.
- Engineering and related technologists and technicians
- Includes electrical, electronic, industrial and mechanical engineering, and survey and mapping technicians; and drafting occupations.
- Science technicians
- Technicians, except health, engineering and science
- Includes airplane pilots and navigators; air traffic controllers; broadcast equipment operators; computer programmers; tool programmers, numerical control; and legal assistants.
- Sales occupations
- Sales representatives, finance and business services
- Includes insurance, real estate, securities, advertising, and other business service sales occupations.
- Sales representatives, commodities, except retail
- Includes sales engineers and sales representatives, mining, manufacturing and wholesale.
- Sales workers, retail and personal services
- Includes sales workers, commodities; sales counter clerks, cashiers, street and door-to-door sales workers; and news vendors.
- Sales related occupations
- Includes demonstrators, promoters, and models; auctioneers, and sales support occupations.
- Administrative support occupations, including clerical
- Supervisors, administrative support occupations
- Computer equipment operators
- Secretaries, stenographers and typists
- Information clerks
- Includes interviewers, hotel clerks, transportation and reservation agents, and receptionists.
- Records processing occupations, except financial
- Includes classified ad, correspondence, order, personnel, library, file, and record clerks.
- Financial records processing occupations
- Includes bookkeepers; accounting, payroll, billing, and cost clerks; and billing and calculating machine operators.
- Duplicating, mail and other office machine operators
- Communications equipment operators
- Includes telephone operators and telegraphers.
- Mail and message distributing occupations
- Includes postal clerks, mail carriers, mail clerks, and messengers.
- Material recording, scheduling and distributing clerks
- Includes dispatchers; production coordinators; traffic shipping, and receiving clerks; stock and inventory clerks; meter readers; weighers, measurers and checkers; samplers; and expediters.
- Adjusters and investigators
- Includes adjusters and investigators, eligibility clerks, social welfare; and bill and account collectors.
- Miscellaneous administrative support occupations
- Includes general office and statistical clerks; book tellers; proofreaders; data-entry keyers; statistical clerks, and teacher's aides.
- Service occupations
- Private household occupations
- Includes launderers, cooks, housekeepers, child care workers, and household cleaners and servants.
- Supervisors, protective service occupations
- Firefighting and fire prevention occupations
- Police and detectives
- Includes police and detectives; sheriffs, bailiffs, and correctional institution officers.
- Guards
- Food preparation and service occupations
- Includes bartenders; cooks; waiters; kitchen, food counter, and fountain workers; and waiters' assistants.
- Health service occupations
- Includes dental assistants; health and nursing aides; orderlies; and attendants.
- Cleaning and building service occupations, except household
- Includes maids and housemen, janitors, elevator operators, and pest control occupations.
- Personal service occupations
- Includes barbers, hairdressers and cosmetologists, recreation and public transportation attendants, guides, ushers, baggage porters, bellhops, welfare service aides, and child care workers.
- Farming, forestry and fishing occupations
- Farm operators and managers
- Farm occupations, except managerial
- Includes farm, marine life cultivation and nursery workers.
- Related agricultural occupations
- Includes groundskeepers and gardeners animal caretakers; and graders, sorters and inspectors, agricultural products.
- Forestry and logging occupations
- Fishers, hunters and trappers
- Precision production, craft and repair occupations
- Mechanics and repairers
- Includes vehicle and mobile equipment, industrial machinery, machinery maintenance, heating, and air conditioning mechanics; electrical and electronic equipment repairers, including telephone and telephone line installers; and camera, watch, musical instrument, office machine, mechanic controls, and valve repairers; locksmiths; elevator installers; and millwrights.
- Construction trades
- Contractive occupations
- Precision metalworking occupations
- Precision woodworking occupations
- Precision textile, apparel and furnishings machine workers
- Precision workers, assorted materials
- Precision food production occupations
- Precision inspectors, tester and related workers
- Plant and system operators
- Operators, fabricators and laborers
- Metalworking and plastic working machine operators
- Metal and plastic processing machine operators
- Woodworking machine operators
- Printing machine operators
- Textile, apparel and furnishings machine operators
- Machine operators, assorted materials
- Fabricators, assemblers and hand working occupations
- Motor vehicle operators
- Rail transportation occupations
- Water transportation occupations
- Material moving equipment operators
- Handlers, equipment cleaners, helpers and laborers
AMERICAN INDIAN, ESKIMO AND ALEUT EARNINGS BY SEX, 1980
Mean hourly and annual earnings reported in the 1980 Census, Special Report: Earnings by Occupation and Education. The Census Bureau also has a digitized copy of this volume available on its website.
- Experienced civilian labor force
- Executive, managerial and administrative occupations
- Executive and administrative occupations
- Includes legislators, chief executives, general administrators, administrators, protective services; financial, personnel and labor relations, purchasing, marketing, advertising, and public relations managers; education and health administrators, property and real estate managers; postmasters and mail superintendents; and funeral directors.
- Management related occupations
- Includes accountants; auditors; financial officers; management analysts; personnel, training, and labor relations specialist; buyers and purchasing agents; business and promotion agents; and inspectors and compliance officers, including construction.
- Professional specialty occupations
- Engineers, architects and surveyors
- Includes architects, aerospace, metallurgical, mining, petroleum, chemical, nuclear, civil, agricultural, electrical and electronic, industrial, mechanical, and marine engineers, naval architects, surveyors, and mapping scientists.
- Mathematical and computer scientists
- Includes computer systems analysts; operations and systems researchers and analysts; actuaries, mathematicians, and statisticians.
- Natural scientists
- Includes physicists, geologists, and chemists, except biochemists; and atmospheric, space, agricultural, biological, forestry, conservation, and medical scientists.
- Health diagnosing occupations
- Includes physicians, dentists, veterinarians, optometrists, and podiatrists.
- Health assessment and treating occupations
- Includes registered nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, therapists, and physicians' assistants.
- Teachers, post-secondary
- Teachers, except post-secondary
- lncludes pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, elementary, and secondary school teachers, but excludes principals and supervisors.
- Librarians, archivists and curators
- Social scientists and urban planners
- Includes economists, psychologists, sociologists, and urban planners.
- Social, recreation and religious workers
- Lawyers and judges
- Writers, artists, entertainers and athletes
- Includes authors, technical writers, designers, musicians and composers, actors and directors, painters, sculptors, craft artists, and artist print makers, photographers, dancers, editors and reporters, public relations specialists, announcers, and athletes.
- Technical, sales and administrative support occupations
- Health technologists and technicians
- Includes clinical laboratory, health record, and radiologic technicians, dental hygienists; and licensed practical nurses.
- Engineering and related technologists and technicians
- Includes electrical, electronic, industrial and mechanical engineering, and survey and mapping technicians; and drafting occupations.
- Science technicians
- Technicians, except health, engineering and science
- Includes airplane pilots and navigators; air traffic controllers; broadcast equipment operators; computer programmers; tool programmers, numerical control; and legal assistants.
- Sales occupations
- Sales representatives, finance and business services
- Includes insurance, real estate, securities, advertising, and other business service sales occupations.
- Sales representatives, commodities, except retail
- Includes sales engineers and sales representatives, mining, manufacturing and wholesale.
- Sales workers, retail and personal services
- Includes sales workers, commodities; sales counter clerks, cashiers, street and door-to-door sales workers; and news vendors.
- Sales related occupations
- Includes demonstrators, promoters, and models; auctioneers, and sales support occupations.
- Administrative support occupations, including clerical
- Supervisors, administrative support occupations
- Computer equipment operators
- Secretaries, stenographers and typists
- Information clerks
- Includes interviewers, hotel clerks, transportation and reservation agents, and receptionists.
- Records processing occupations, except financial
- Includes classified ad, correspondence, order, personnel, library, file, and record clerks.
- Financial records processing occupations
- Includes bookkeepers; accounting, payroll, billing, and cost clerks; and billing and calculating machine operators.
- Duplicating, mail and other office machine operators
- Communications equipment operators
- Includes telephone operators and telegraphers.
- Mail and message distributing occupations
- Includes postal clerks, mail carriers, mail clerks, and messengers.
- Material recording, scheduling and distributing clerks
- Includes dispatchers; production coordinators; traffic shipping, and receiving clerks; stock and inventory clerks; meter readers; weighers, measurers and checkers; samplers; and expediters.
- Adjusters and investigators
- Includes adjusters and investigators, eligibility clerks, social welfare; and bill and account collectors.
- Miscellaneous administrative support occupations
- Includes general office and statistical clerks; book tellers; proofreaders; data-entry keyers; statistical clerks, and teacher's aides.
- Service occupations
- Private household occupations
- Includes launderers, cooks, housekeepers, child care workers, and household cleaners and servants.
- Supervisors, protective service occupations
- Firefighting and fire prevention occupations
- Police and detectives
- Includes police and detectives; sheriffs, bailiffs, and correctional institution officers.
- Guards
- Food preparation and service occupations
- Includes bartenders; cooks; waiters; kitchen, food counter, and fountain workers; and waiters' assistants.
- Health service occupations
- Includes dental assistants; health and nursing aides; orderlies; and attendants.
- Cleaning and building service occupations, except household
- Includes maids and housemen, janitors, elevator operators, and pest control occupations.
- Personal service occupations
- Includes barbers, hairdressers and cosmetologists, recreation and public transportation attendants, guides, ushers, baggage porters, bellhops, welfare service aides, and child care workers.
- Farming, forestry and fishing occupations
- Farm operators and managers
- Farm occupations, except managerial
- Includes farm, marine life cultivation and nursery workers.
- Related agricultural occupations
- Includes groundskeepers and gardeners animal caretakers; and graders, sorters and inspectors, agricultural products.
- Forestry and logging occupations
- Fishers, hunters and trappers
- Precision production, craft and repair occupations
- Mechanics and repairers
- Includes vehicle and mobile equipment, industrial machinery, machinery maintenance, heating, and air conditioning mechanics; electrical and electronic equipment repairers, including telephone and telephone line installers; and camera, watch, musical instrument, office machine, mechanic controls, and valve repairers; locksmiths; elevator installers; and millwrights.
- Construction trades
- Includes brickmasons, stonemasons, tile setters, carpet installers, carpenters, drywall installers, electricians, electrical power installers and repairers, painters, paperhangers, plasterers, plumbers, concrete finishers, glaziers, insulation workers, paving equipment operators, roofers, sheetmetal duct installers, structural metal workers, earth drillers, and construction apprentices.
- Extractive occupations
- Includes oil well drillers, explosives workers, mine and mining machine operators.
- Precision metalworking occupations
- Includes tool and die makers; precision assemblers and grinders; machinists, boilermakers; pattern and model makers lay-out workers; jewelers; engravers; and sheet metal workers.
- Precision woodworking occupations
- Precision textile, apparel and furnishings machine workers
- Precision workers, assorted materials
- Precision food production occupations
- Precision inspectors, tester and related workers
- Plant and system operators
- Operators, fabricators and laborers
- Metalworking and plastic working machine operators
- Metal and plastic processing machine operators
- Woodworking machine operators
- Printing machine operators
- Textile, apparel and furnishings machine operators
- Machine operators, assorted materials
- Fabricators, assemblers and hand working occupations
- Production inspectors, testers, samplers and weighers
- Motor vehicle operators
- Rail transportation occupations
- Water transportation occupations
- Material moving equipment operators
- Handlers, equipment cleaners, helpers and laborers
- College and high school graduates - Wages & earnings, 1989This article investigates the economic value of a college education. Table 2 (p.20) shows mean annual earnings of college graduates by cohort in 1979 and 1989, table 3 (p.21) compares annual earnings and hourly wages of college versus high school graduates those same years. Please note: data given in 1990 dollars (source).
Wages by occupation (A-Z), 1980-1989
- Weekly and annual earnings - 1981Two BLS Monthly Labor Review articles: one on the weekly earnings in 1981 by age, race, occupation, and educational attainment, and the other compares the weekly and annual earnings of workers by occupation in 1981 (separate tables for male and female workers).
- Union and non-union wages compared, May 1980Source: BLS Bulletin no. 2105.
- Hundreds of occupations - Expected earnings, 1980sThe annual Occupational Outlook Handbook discusses each occupation in a short chapter. Many of these include a section for "Earnings." Click for the 1980-1981 edition, 1982-1983 edition, 1984-1985 edition, 1986-1987 edition, 1988-1989 edition.
- Employment and wages - Annual averages, 1980s-2000sSource: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Agriculture - farm labor wages
- March 1981 earnings of hired farm workers (source)
- 1982 wages of California farmers (source)
- 1930-present
- The USDA periodical Farm Labor has been in publication for nearly 90 years and lists wages in each issue. Drill down to desired year, or access this title through the Hathi Trust digital library.
- Air carrier job wages
- September 1980 (Bulletin 2129)
- June 1984 (Bulletin 2241)
- January 1989 (Bulletin 2356)
- Apparel manufacturing
- Men's and boys'
- Suits and coats
- Shirts and nightwear
- June 1987 (Bulletin 2304)
- Women's dresses
- August 1982 (Bulletin 2187)
- Men's and boys'
- Appliance repair job wages
- November 1981 (Bulletin 2177)
- Armed forces
- Auto dealer repair shops
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Banking job wages
- Banking jobs
Occupational earnings in selected metro areas, 1985
Lists the average weekly earnings of bank employees in 14 cities by specific occupation such as accounting clerk, stenographer, loan officer, etc. - Building trades - Union wages and hours,
- July 1980 (Bulletin 2091)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Chemical (industrial) manufacturing job wages
- Cigarette manufacturing job wages
- Coal industry job wages
- Communications industry job wages
- October-December 1981 (Bulletin 2188)
- Computer and data processing service job wages
- October 1982 (source)
- 1987 (Bulletin 2318)
- Congress, Members of - Salaries
- See Salaries of Members of Congress: Recent Actions and Historical Tables, page 16 (page 20 of the pdf)
- Contract cleaning service job wages
- July 1981 (Bulletin 2152)
- August 1986 (Bulletin 2299)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Deep sea freighters wages
- Deep sea tankers wages
- Department store job wages
- August 1986 (Bulletin 2311)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Education - School teacher salaries
- 1981-82 teacher salaries in 23 states plus Guam are listed in ERIC document 213678. Source: American Federation of Teachers data.
- 1982-1983 Illinois teacher salaries. Source: Illinois State Board of Education, Planning, Research, and Evaluation.
- Electric and gas utility job wages
- October 1982 (Bulletin 2218)
- February 1988 (Bulletin 2338)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Farming
- Farm wage rates by work type, 1980-1989
Shows figures with and without board. Source: USDA Agricultural Statistics. 1980, 1981, 1982 (Lacks worker type), 1983 (Lacks worker type), 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989 - March 1981 earnings of hired farm workers (source)
- 1982 wages of California farmers (source)
- 1930-present
- The USDA periodical Farm Labor has been in publication for nearly 90 years and lists wages in each issue. Drill down to desired year, or access this title through the Hathi Trust digital library.
- Farm wage rates by work type, 1980-1989
- Fire fighters
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 80-116 of source
- 1983 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 74-110 of source
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Footwear manufacturing job wages
- October 1986 (Bulletin 2291)
- October 1986 (Bulletin 2291)
- Glass and glassware manufacturing job wages
- Government
- Congress persons' salaries
- Local government employee salaries by function
- 1980-1989 - salaries for city government leadership positions are in the Municipal Yearbook. See sample page and contact us for a lookup for any particular city.
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 80-116 of source
- 1983 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 74-110 of source
- Civilian job pay schedule (Kiplinger Magazine)
- Grain mill product industry job wages
- September 1987 (Bulletin 2325)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- High technology industry job wages
- Hosiery manufacturing industry job wages
- August 1981 (Bulletin 2151)
- August 1987 (Bulletin 2321)
- Hospital job wages
- August 1984 (Bulletin 2204)
- March 1989 (Bulletin 2364)
- Hotel and motel job wages
Includes occupations such as bell boys, porters, housekeepers / maids, waiters and waitresses, bartenders, cooks, dishwashers, checkout cashiers, maintenance workers and stationary engineers. Reports pay by metro areas, including Atlantic city, Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Dallas, Houston, Miami, New Orleans, Washington DC, Chicago, Detroit, Kansas City, Denver, Los Angeles, Oakland CA, San Diego and San Francisco.- July-September 1983 (Bulletin 2227)
- June-July 1988 (Bulletin 2335)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Iron and steel foundry job wages
- October 1986 (Bulletin 2291)
- Iron and steel industry job wages
- August 1983 (Bulletin 2221)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 2346)
- Lawyer fees
- February 1980 (The Kiplinger Magazine)
- Librarian salaries at research institutions - 1982, 1983, 1984.
- Source: Association of Research Libraries.
- Life and health insurance job wages
- July 1986 (Bulletin 2293)
- Life insurance job wages
Earnings of actuaries, claim approvers, underwriters, etc.- February 1980 (Bulletin 2119)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Machinery manufacturing job wages
- January 1981 (Bulletin 2124)
- November 1983 (Bulletin 2229)
- Meat products
- June 1984 (Bulletin 2247)
- Military pay charts, U.S.
This website does a good job of organizing a complex topic. - Motor vehicles and parts manufacturing job wages
- May 1983 (Bulletin 2223)
- June & August 1989 (Bulletin 2384)
- Moving and storage job wages, 1984
- Some reports cover the entire states of Connecticut, Montana, North Dakota, West Virginia, and northern New York state,
- Some reports cover specific cities and counties (listed here alphabetically by state) :
- Phoenix AZ
- Oxnard/Simi Valley/Ventura CA
- Mobile AL/Pensacola FL/Panama City FL
- Topeka KS, and Wichita KS
- Corpus Christi TX and Houston TX and El Paso TX
- Saint Louis MO
- Raleigh-Durham NC
- Alamogordo/Las Cruces NM
- Newark NJ and Middlesex/Monmouth/Ocean County NJ, and Paterson/Clifton/Passaic NJ
- Oklahoma City OK
- Charleston/North Charleston/Walterboro SC
- Richmond VA
- Nonprofit organizations
- Nurse salaries
- Registered nurse salaries, 1988
- Beginning nurse salaries by region, 1987
- Oil and gas extraction job wages
- June 1988 (BLS Bulletin 2334)
- Paper manufacturing job wages
- July 1982 (BLS Bulletin 2180)
- September 1987 (BLS Bulletin 2324)
- Philanthropic sector earnings
- Pharmacists
- 1982 and 1987 (U.S. Health & Human Services agency report)
- Physician assistants
- 1988 (U.S. Health & Human Services agency report)
- Police
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 80-116 of source
- 1983 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 74-110 of source
- 1984 - Average yearly earnings
- Entry level rank on a metropolitan police force (Kiplinger Magazine)
- 1980-1989 - Salaries by city in Municipal Yearbook. See sample page and contact us for a lookup for any particular city.
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Police chief
- 1980-1989 median salary by city in Municipal Yearbook. See sample page and contact us for a lookup for any particular city.
- Printing trades - Union wages and hours,
- September 1980 (BLS Bulletin 2125)
- Municipal wages, 1981Document shows the yearly salaries for police, fire, and waste removal teams in multiple cities across the United States. Source: International City Management Association
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Savings and loan associations job wages
- February 1980 (Bulletin 2106)
- Self-employed
- Shipbuilding and repairing job wages
- October 1986 (Bulletin 2295)
- Sports, professional - Salaries
- Baseball, 1970-1996
- This article investigates the history of major league baseball players' salaries; table 1 (page 5) shows average and median annual salaries for 1970-1996, table 2 (page 6) shows the average salaries for the highest and lowest playing teams for select years 1980-1995, and table 4 (page 7) shows minimum baseball salaries for 1967-1997 (source).
- Team sports, 1984-1997
- This article explores salary caps for basketball, football, baseball, and hockey players.It included tables showing the average salaries for each sport (source).
- Baseball, 1970-1996
- Stockbrokers
- This article from Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times explores, among other things, the income and earnings of stockbrokers in 1984.
- Structural clay product industry job wages
- September 1980 (Bulletin 2139)
- October 1986 (Bulletin 2288)
- Synthetic fiber manufacturing job wages
- August 1981 (Bulletin 2150)
- September 1985 (Bulletin 2268)
Unless otherwise noted, the following listings refer to Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series. Listings followed by a 'source' link are from the BLS Monthly Labor Review.
- Teachers (instructional employees of metropolitan governments)
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 80-116 of source
- 1983 - Average earnings for October
- Across 75 metro areas on page 1 of source
- Each metro area on pages 74-110 of source
- 1981 - Average earnings for October
- Textile mills and textile dying and finishing plant wages
- August 1980 (Bulletin 2122)
- June 1985 (source)
- Wood household furniture manufacturing job wages
- June 1986 (Bulletin 2283)
Wages by state, 1980-1989
Click on a state tab above to see metro area reports. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Survey series for metropolitan areas were published as part of the U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics bulletin series. They show wages and salaries for occupations such as secretary, stenographer, file clerk, messenger, typist, switchboard operator, order clerk, accounting clerk, payroll clerk, key entry operator, computer systems analyst, computer programmer, drafter, electronics technician, registered industrial nurse, maintenance carpenter, electrician, painter, machinist, mechanic, millwright, sheet-metal worker, pipe fitter, truck driver, stationary engineer, guard, janitor, and more.
Wages, salaries and earnings in Alabama --1980s
- Birmingham, Alabama
- Huntsville, Alabama, Metropolitan Area
- February 1980 (Bulletin 3000-14)
- February 1981 (Bulletin 3010-5)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-3)
- Mobile, Alabama, Metropolitan Area
- July 1988 (Bulletin 3045-20)
- Selma, Alabama
Wages, salaries and earnings in Arkansas metro areas -- 1980s
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas-Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-59)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-55)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-56)
Wages, salaries and earnings in California metro areas -- 1980s
- Anaheim-Santa Ana-Garden Grove, California, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-62)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-57)
- October 1984 (Bulletin 3025-58)
- October 1985 (Bulletin 3030-54)
- September 1986 (Bulletin 3035-45)
- Anaheim-Santa Ana, California, Metropolitan Area
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-43)
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-39)
- Fresno, California, Metropolitan Area
- June 1980 (Bulletin 3000-30)
- June 1981 (Bulletin 3010-27)
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-38)
- Los Angeles-Long Beach, California, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-63)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-66)
- October 1982 (Bulletin 3015-62)
- October 1983 (Bulletin 3020-55)
- October 1984 (Bulletin 3025-65)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 3045-49)
- October 1989 (Bulletin 3050-57)
- December 1989 (Bulletin 3050-57/corrected)
- Oakland, California, Metropolitan Area
- February 1988 (Bulletin 3045-4)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-6)
- Riverside-San Bernardino, California, Metropolitan Area
- June 1988 (Bulletin 3045-21)
- Sacramento, California, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-70)
- San Diego, California, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-71)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-68)
- November 1982 (Bulletin 3015-67)
- December 1983 (Bulletin 3020-70)
- December 1984 (Bulletin 3025-62)
- December 1986 (Bulletin 3035-71)
- December 1987 (Bulletin 3040-55)
- December 1989 (Bulletin 3050-58)
- San Francisco-Oakland, California, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-9)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-13)
- San Francisco, California, Metropolitan Area
- March 1989 (Bulletin 3050-9)
- San Jose, California, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-6)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-10)
- March 1988 (Bulletin 3045-13)
- March 1989 (Bulletin 3050-12)
- Visalia-Tulare-Porterville, California, Metropolitan Area
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-29)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Colorado metro areas - 1980s
- Denver-Boulder, Colorado, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-68)
- December 1981 (Bulletin 3010-67)
- December 1982 (Bulletin 3015-68)
- December 1983 (Bulletin 3020-72)
- December 1984 (Bulletin 3025-67)
- December 1985 (Bulletin 3030-67)
- December 1988 (Bulletin 3045-59)
- Denver, Colorado, Metropolitan Area
- December 1989 (Bulletin 3050-52)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Connecticut metro areas -- 1980s
- Danbury, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- July 1989 (Bulletin 3050-18)
- Hartford, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-19)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-21)
- July 1982 (Bulletin 3015-57)
- July 1983 (Bulletin 3020-44)
- July 1984 (Bulletin 3025-35)
- July 1985 (Bulletin 3030-30)
- July 1986 (Bulletin 3035-32)
- July 1988 (Bulletin 3045-25)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Delaware -- 1980s
- Wilmington, Delaware-New Jersey-Maryland, Metropolitan Area
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-45)
Wages, salaries and earnings in the District of Columbia - 1980s
- Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-4)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-6)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Florida metro areas -- 1980s
- Bradenton, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- June 1989 (Bulletin 3050-15)
- Daytona Beach, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-33)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-38)
- Gainesville, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-55)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-45)
- Jacksonville, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-66)
- December 1981 (Bulletin 3010-63)
- Miami, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-51)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-53)
- Miami-Hialeah, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- October 1987 (Bulletin 3040-42)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 3045-47)
- October 1989 (Bulletin 3050-37)
- Orlando, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-41)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Georgia metro areas -- 1980s
- Atlanta, Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- Augusta, Georgia-South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- July 1989 (Bulletin 3050-17)
- Chattanooga, Tennessee-Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-44)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-42)
- September 1982 (Bulletin 3015-43)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-38)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-40)
- September 1985 (Bulletin 3030-40)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Illinois metro areas -- 1980s
- Champaign-Urbana-Rantoul, Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- August 1988 (Bulletin 3045-30)
- Chicago, Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- Davenport-Rock Island-Moline, Iowa-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- February 1980 (Bulletin 3000-5)
- February 1981 (Bulletin 3010-7)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-8)
- Decatur, Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- July 1988 (Bulletin 3045-28)
- Joliet, Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- November 1988 (Bulletin 3045-55)
- St. Louis, Missouri-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-12)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-8)
- March 1982 (Bulletin 3015-11)
- March 1983 (Bulletin 3020-9)
- March 1984 (Bulletin 3025-13)
- March 1985 (Bulletin 3030-14)
- March 1986 (Bulletin 3035-10)
- March 1987 (Bulletin 3040-13)
- March 1988 (Bulletin 3045-11)
- March 1989 (Bulletin 3050-11)
See also Illinois Statewide Wage and Salary Survey of Selected Occupations, September 1980, published by the Illnois Bureau of Employment Security, Research and Analysis. This state-produced source lists wages by region of the state, then by occupation.
Wages, salaries and earnings in Indiana metro areas - 1980s
- Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- Elkhart-Goshen, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- October 1987 (Bulletin 3040-43)
- October 1989 (Bulletin 3050-38)
- Gary-Hammond-East Chicago, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-56)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-59)
- Gary-Hammond, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- December 1989 (Bulletin 3050-55)
- Indianapolis, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-47)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-56)
- Louisville, Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-65)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-60)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-44)
- South Bend, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-36)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-33)
- August 1982 (Bulletin 3015-37)
- August 1983 (Bulletin 3020-33)
- August 1985 (Bulletin 3030-41)
- August 1986 (Bulletin 3035-34)
- August 1987 (Bulletin 3040-27)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Iowa metro areas - 1980s
- Davenport-Rock Island-Moline, Iowa-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- February 1980 (Bulletin 3000-5)
- February 1981 (Bulletin 3010-7)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-8)
- Omaha, Nebraska-Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-57)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-51)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 3045-48)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Kansas metro areas -- 1980s
- Kansas City, Missouri-Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-42)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-47)
- September 1982 (Bulletin 3015-49)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-50)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-45)
- September 1985 (Bulletin 3030-46)
- September 1986 (Bulletin 3035-44)
- September 1987 (Bulletin 3040-37)
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-42)
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-25)
- Wichita, Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- April 1980 (Bulletin 3000-15)
- April 1981 (Bulletin 3010-11)
- April 1982 (Bulletin 3015-13)
- April 1983 (Bulletin 3020-12)
- April 1985 (Bulletin 3030-15)
- April 1986 (Bulletin 3035-17)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Kentucky metro areas -- 1980s
- Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- Louisville, Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-65)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-60)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-44)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Louisiana metro areas -- 1980s
- New Orleans, Louisiana, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-58)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-46)
- October 1982 (Bulletin 3015-47)
- October 1983 (Bulletin 3020-48)
- October 1984 (Bulletin 3025-49)
- October 1985 (Bulletin 3030-49)
- October 1987 (Bulletin 3040-49)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 3045-46)
- October 1989 (Bulletin 3050-36)
- Shreveport, Louisiana, Metropolitan Area
- November 1988 (Bulletin 3045-53)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Maine -- 1980s
- Portland, Maine, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-61)
- December 1981 (Bulletin 3010-64)
- December 1986 (Bulletin 3035-66)
- December 1988 (Bulletin 3045-54)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Maryland metro areas -- 1980s
- Baltimore, Maryland, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-38)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-39)
- August 1982 (Bulletin 3015-39)
- August 1983 (Bulletin 3020-39)
- August 1984 (Bulletin 3025-39)
- August 1985 (Bulletin 3030-35)
- August 1986 (Bulletin 3035-37)
- September 1987 (Bulletin 3040-33)
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-34)
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-40)
- Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-4)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-6)
- Wilmington, Delaware-New Jersey-Maryland, Metropolitan Area
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-45)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Massachusetts metro areas -- 1980s
- Boston, Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-40)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-48)
- August 1982 (Bulletin 3015-55)
- August 1983 (Bulletin 3020-41)
- August 1984 (Bulletin 3025-46)
- August 1985 (Bulletin 3030-39)
- August 1986 (Bulletin 3035-40)
- August 1987 (Bulletin 3040-34)
- August 1988 (Bulletin 3045-31)
- August 1989 (Bulletin 3050-23)
- Providence-Warwick-Pawtucket, Rhode Island-Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- Worcester, Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- April 1980 (Bulletin 3000-25)
- April 1981 (Bulletin 3010-34)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-47)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Michigan metro areas -- 1980s
- Detroit, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-7)
- April 1981 (Bulletin 3010-12)
- April 1988 (Bulletin 3045-14)
- December 1989 (Bulletin 3050-59)
- Saginaw, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-54)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-58)
- Toledo, Ohio-Michigan, Metropolitan Area
Wages, salaries and earnings in Minnesota metro areas -- 1980s
- Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota-Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- January 1980 (Bulletin 3000-1)
- January 1981 (Bulletin 3010-1)
- January 1984 (Bulletin 3025-2)
- February 1988 (Bulletin 3045-6)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-5)
- St. Cloud, Minnesota, Metropolitan Area
- October 1989 (Bulletin 3050-31)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Mississippi metro areas -- 1980s
- Jackson, Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- January 1980 (Bulletin 3000-2)
- January 1981 (Bulletin 3010-4—READEX microfiche, Government Documents, 82-16616)
- January 1982 (Bulletin 3015-1)
- January 1983 (Bulletin 3020-2)
- January 1987 (Bulletin 3040-1)
- January 1989 (Bulletin 3050-1)
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas-Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-59)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-55)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-56)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Missouri metro areas -- 1980s
- Kansas City, Missouri-Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-42)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-47)
- September 1982 (Bulletin 3015-49)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-50)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-45)
- September 1985 (Bulletin 3030-46)
- September 1986 (Bulletin 3035-44)
- September 1987 (Bulletin 3040-37)
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-42)
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-25)
- St. Louis, Missouri-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-12)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-8)
- March 1982 (Bulletin 3015-11)
- March 1983 (Bulletin 3020-9)
- March 1984 (Bulletin 3025-13)
- March 1985 (Bulletin 3030-14)
- March 1986 (Bulletin 3035-10)
- March 1987 (Bulletin 3040-13)
- March 1988 (Bulletin 3045-11)
- March 1989 (Bulletin 3050-11)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Montana -- 1980s
- Billings, Montana, Metropolitan Area
- July 1980 (Bulletin 3000-31)
- July 1981 (Bulletin 3010-25)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-41)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Nebraska -- 1980s
- Omaha, Nebraska-Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-57)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-51)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 3045-48)
Wages, salaries and earnings in New Jersey metro areas -- 1980s
- Bergen-Passaic, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-40)
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-35)
- Monmouth-Ocean, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- January 1989 (Bulletin 3050-2)
- New York, New York-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- Newark, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- January 1980 (Bulletin 3000-8)
- January 1981 (Bulletin 3010-3)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-7)
- Paterson-Clifton-Passaic, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- June 1980 (Bulletin 3000-34)
- June 1981 (Bulletin 3010-35)
- April 1982 (Bulletin 3015-14)
- April 1983 (Bulletin 3020-24)
- June 1984 (Bulletin 3025-38)
- June 1985 (Bulletin 3030-31)
- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-53)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-52)
- Trenton, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-43)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-50)
- November 1988 (Bulletin 3045-51)
- Wilmington, Delaware-New Jersey-Maryland, Metropolitan Area
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-45)
Wages, salaries and earnings in New York metro areas -- 1980s
- Albany-Schenectady-Troy, New York, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-45)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-49)
- September 1982 (Bulletin 3015-46)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-45)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-43)
- Buffalo, New York, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-52)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-61)
- October 1988 (Bulletin 3045-52)
- Nassau-Suffolk, New York, Metropolitan Area
- June 1980 (Bulletin 3000-29)
- June 1981 (Bulletin 3010-31)
- August 1989 (Bulletin 3050-28)
- New York, New York, Metropolitan Area
- June 1989 (Bulletin 3050-32)
- New York, New York-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- Poughkeepsie, New York, Metropolitan Area
- June 1980 (Bulletin 3000-35)
- June 1981 (Bulletin 3010-28)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-52)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-53)
- Poughkeepsie-Kingston-Newburgh, New York Area
- June 1980 (Bulletin 3000-39)
- June 1981 (Bulletin 3010-32)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-60)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-56)
- September 1986 (Bulletin 3035-47)
- Rochester, New York, Metropolitan Area
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-42)
Wages, salaries and earnings in North Carolina -- 1980s
- Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill, North Carolina-South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-39)
- Greensboro-Winston-Salem-High Point, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-50)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-43)
- Norfolk-Virginia Beach-Portsmouth, Virginia-North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
Wages, salaries and earnings in Ohio metro areas -- 1980s
- Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- Cleveland, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-46)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-44)
- September 1982 (Bulletin 3015-45)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-46)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-44)
- September 1985 (Bulletin 3030-45)
- September 1986 (Bulletin 3035-42)
- September 1987 (Bulletin 3040-40)
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-35)
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-33)
- Columbus, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- October 1980 (Bulletin 3000-48)
- October 1981 (Bulletin 3010-54)
- October 1982 (Bulletin 3015-51)
- October 1983 (Bulletin 3020-49)
- October 1984 (Bulletin 3025-50)
- October 1985 (Bulletin 3030-51)
- October 1986 (Bulletin 3035-51)
- Dayton, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-64)
- December 1981 (Bulletin 3010-65)
- December 1982 (Bulletin 3015-66)
- December 1983 (Bulletin 3020-66)
- December 1984 (Bulletin 3025-61)
- December 1986 (Bulletin 3035-64)
- Toledo, Ohio-Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- Toledo, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- December 1988 (Bulletin 3045-60)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Oklahoma -- 1980s
- Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-41)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-37)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Oregon -- 1980s
- Portland, Oregon-Washington, Metropolitan Area
- Portland, Oregon, Metropolitan Area
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-48)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Pennsylvania metro areas -- 1980s
- Northeast Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- August 1980 (Bulletin 3000-37)
- August 1981 (Bulletin 3010-40)
- August 1982 (Bulletin 3015-41)
- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-53)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-52)
- Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- January 1980 (Bulletin 3000-3)
- January 1981 (Bulletin 3010-2)
- January 1982 (Bulletin 3015-6)
- January 1983 (Bulletin 3020-3)
- January 1984 (Bulletin 3025-4)
- January 1985 (Bulletin 3030-3)
- January 1986 (Bulletin 3035-4)
- February 1987 (Bulletin 3040-2)
- February 1988 (Bulletin 3045-7)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-4)
- Scranton-Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- August 1988 (Bulletin 3045-36)
- August 1989 (Bulletin 3050-26)
- York, Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- February 1980 (Bulletin 3000-11)
- February 1981 (Bulletin 3010-9)
Wages, salaries and earnings in South Carolina metro areas -- 1980s
- Augusta, Georgia-South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- July 1989 (Bulletin 3050-17)
- Charleston, South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- November 1988 (Bulletin 3045-44)
- Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill, North Carolina-South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- September 1988 (Bulletin 3045-39)
- Greenville-Spartanburg, South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
Wages, salaries and earnings in Tennessee -- 1980s
- Chattanooga, Tennessee-Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- September 1980 (Bulletin 3000-44)
- September 1981 (Bulletin 3010-42)
- September 1982 (Bulletin 3015-43)
- September 1983 (Bulletin 3020-38)
- September 1984 (Bulletin 3025-40)
- September 1985 (Bulletin 3030-40)
- Knoxville, Tennessee
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas-Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-59)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-55)
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-56)
- Nashville, Tennessee, Metropolitan Area
- September 1989 (Bulletin 3050-30)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Texas metro areas -- 1980s
- Austin, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- August 1988 (Bulletin 3045-32)
- Corpus Christi, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-67)
- December 1981 (Bulletin 3010-69)
- December 1982 (Bulletin 3015-65)
- December 1983 (Bulletin 3020-67)
- December 1984 (Bulletin 3025-71)
- December 1985 (Bulletin 3030-66)
- December 1986 (Bulletin 3035-69)
- December 1987 (Bulletin 3040-53)
- December 1988 (Bulletin 3045-58)
- December 1989 (Bulletin 3050-51)
- Houston, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- April 1980 (Bulletin 3000-18)
- May 1981 (Bulletin 3010-14)
- April 1988 (Bulletin 3045-15)
- April 1989 (Bulletin 3050-13)
- San Antonio, Texas, Metropolitan Area
Wages, salaries and earnings in Utah -- 1980s
- Salt Lake City-Ogden, Utah, Metropolitan Area
- November 1980 (Bulletin 3000-60)
- November 1981 (Bulletin 3010-62)
- November 1984 (Bulletin 3025-68)
- November 1988 (Bulletin 3045-56)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Virginia metro areas -- 1980s
- Norfolk-Virginia Beach-Portsmouth, Virginia-North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- Richmond, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- Richmond-Petersburg, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- August 1989 (Bulletin 3050-24)
- Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- March 1980 (Bulletin 3000-4)
- March 1981 (Bulletin 3010-6)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Washington state metro areas -- 1980s
- Portland, Oregon-Washington, Metropolitan Area
- Seattle-Everett, Washington, Metropolitan Area
- December 1980 (Bulletin 3000-69)
- Seattle, Washington, Metropolitan Area
- November 1988 (Bulletin 3045-50)
Wages, salaries and earnings in Wisconsin metro areas -- 1980s
- Appleton-Oshkosh-Neenah, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- November 1989 (Bulletin 3050-43)
- Green Bay, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota-Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- January 1980 (Bulletin 3000-1)
- January 1981 (Bulletin 3010-1)
- January 1984 (Bulletin 3025-2)
- February 1988 (Bulletin 3045-6)
- February 1989 (Bulletin 3050-5)
- Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- Average earnings for selected occupations in metro areas, 1986This source reports the estimated average earnings for selected occupations across 262 metro areas, with breakouts by industry and by each of the four U.S. regions. Includes office, professional, technical occupations as well as custodial, maintenance, tool room, power plant, and material movement occupations. Jump to the edition showing August 1987 data.
- Average annual pay by state, 1984-1985This source clearly shows where people earned the most and least, on average. Page forward to find additional breakouts by industry in each state. Source: Average Annual Pay by State and Industry in BLS News. Find similar data for other years in the 1980s by checking other issues of this series.
Total income and non-wage sources of income, 1980-1989
- Consumer Income Reports, 1944-2018For income data not limited to wages, see the Census Bureau's Current population reports P-60 series, Consumer Income. Click "more..." for direct links.
Foreign wages by country, 1980-1989
- Domestic help - Wages by country, 1979-1998Find the going wage rates for maids, cooks, servants and other domestic help in the Post Report series published by the U.S. Dept of State. Choose a country from the list, then search for the phrase "Domestic Help" within any volume.
Prices in the United States, 1980-1989
- Retail food prices - U.S. city average, 1980-presentPrices for meats, fruits, vegetables, bread, eggs, milk, etc. View data back to 1980 by clicking the green "Historical Data" icon in the rows, then use drop-down boxes near the top of the page to set start and end dates.
Look for these
icons under
links at left
- Food consumption, prices and expendituresThis source gives average retail food prices much as the source above, but it also discusses consumer expenditure patterns, and shows the percent of household disposable income going for food.
- Meat prices, 1981This table shows the retail price per pound as well as the cost of 3 ounces of cooked meat for over 20 meat products including ground beef, bone-in ham, veal cutlets, and more in July 1981. Source: Family Economics Review Winter 1982, pg. 28
- IBM personal computers - List prices, 1988A personal computer (PC) with a 20 MB hard drive cost $2,295. IBM's 70 megabyte hard drive computer was priced at $8,495.
1988 IBM computer (image source) - Apple computer prices, September 1988Prices for Mac Plus, Mac SE, etc. in InfoWorld, 9/19/1988, p. 11.
- High-end personal computer prices, 1988Table shows prices for computers with faster processors. Source: "Product comparison: 20 MHz 386 systems," InfoWorld, May 2, 1988, pp. 39-67. Additional price table on page 63.
- Tandy (brand) computer price, 1988The Tandy computer cost $899 including monitor. Source: Working mother magazine
- Mail order catalogs for Christmas, 1980sThis link leads to WishbookWeb.com, a site that displays complete, historic mail order catalogs in color and offers keyword searching in the full text. Find retail prices for clothing, jewelry, toys, household decor and furnishings, gift items and other merchandise selected for inclusion in Christmas catalogs. Retailers include Sears, JCPenney and Wards.
- Median gross rent by state, 1940-2000Gross rent is defined as "the monthly amount of rent plus the estimated average monthly cost of utilities (electricity, gas, water and sewer) and fuels (oil, coal, kerosene, wood, etc.). This source shows data by state and for the U.S. as a whole. Source: U.S. Census of Housing, choose unadjusted figures.
- Median home values by state, 1940-2000Median home values for states and for the U.S. as a whole. Source: U.S. Census of Housing, choose unadjusted figures.
- New home sale prices by characteristic - 1980sThe U.S. Census Bureau's Characteristics of New Housing series tells average and median sale prices of new homes by number of bedrooms, square feet, and also by region of the country. First choose a report by date, then use the "Search in this Text" feature for the phrase "SALES PRICE," or just "price." See for example this table that shows sales price by square footage and location for 1982-1986.
LAND
- Farm real estate - Average value by state and county, 1982Shows average value for farm land and buildings from 1850-1982. Use the following hyperlinks to see values for AL, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY. See data considerations for explanation. Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture report.
- Farm real estate values in Midwestern states, 1912-2019Includes both land and buildings. Compares to national averages. Source: USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service.
- Medical care costs, 1980sFrom Sourcebook of health insurance data, Health Insurance Institute.
- Cost of having a baby in 1982, 1986
- Hospital room, semi-private - Daily rate in 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984-1985, 1986-1987
- Surgical charges by type of procedure in 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1987
- Physician office visit fees in 1978-1980, 1980-1982, 1984, 1986, 1987
- Dental charges in 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1986
- Average prescription price, 1986Pie chart shows how much of the average prescription price ($14.36) went to the manufacturer, the pharmacy, etc. The following page shows detail on R&D, marketing, cost of product, etc. Source: congressional hearing.
- Health care and drugs - Average annual expenditure, 1987Source: Health, United States (2001), table 119. See also additional detail for Medicare beneficiaries from the National Medical Expenditure Survey.
- Telephone service, residential - Charges and rates
- 1950-1980: Average monthly charges for residential service
- 1983-1991: Average monthly rates for unlimited local calls, taxes, etc.
- 1980: Long distance rates for interstate calls
- 1985: Average prices paid by farmers in rural areas. See additional years.
- Cost to mail a letter or postcard, 1863-presentSource: the Historian of the U.S. Postal Service.
COST of a COLLEGE EDUCATION, 1980s
In 1980, 32% of people aged 18-21 were enrolled in college (U.S. Census) and 17% of people aged 25 years or older had completed at least 4 years (U.S. Census, Table A-2).
- Undergraduate college tuition, fees, room and board, 1963-2022Shows average undergraduate tuition/fees and room/board rates charged for full-time students, with breakouts for public, private, non-profit and for-profit institutions.
- College costs by institution, 1979-1980Lists tuition and required fees, room and board for each major U.S. college and university. Distinguishes between undergraduate and graduate school charges. Source: Digest of Education Statistics, 1981 edition, table 134.
- Average college tuition/fees, room and board rates, 1980sShows average tuition, room and board rates for 2- and 4-year institutions by state. Source: Digest of education statistics.
- Child-care services, 1988This article investigates child care arrangements, including costs, of employed mothers based on data from a survey conducted in 1988 (source).
- Funeral home and burial services, 1980A funeral burial cost an average of $3,000 in 1980 (p. 88) See itemized prices on pp. 90-91. Source: Funeral practices and the elderly, a congressional hearing.
- Hotels and motels - Government rates, 1983Federal publication shows single-occupancy rates for travelers on government business.
- Gasoline, electricity, natural gas and residential energy prices, 1970s-presentTo view monthly data, click the green "Historical Data" icon in the rows. Energy prices are at the bottom of the table, after food items.
Look for these
icons under
links at left
- Gasoline and diesel retail prices by year, 1978-2020Shows average annual prices including tax. Source: Transportation energy data book (2021), Table 11.6.
- Electricity prices paid by farmers, 1985Shows price by kilowatt hour. Data is available for additional years. Source: USDA
- Gasoline, diesel and liquid propane prices paid by farmers, 1985Diesel and gasoline on pp. 127-130. Other years are available as well. Source: USDA
- Utility prices in the US, 1983Shows the mean utility expenditures of American households, covering electricity, telephone service, gas, water, and fuel oil. Source: Family Economics Review Vol. 2, #2, pg. 3.
ENTERTAINMENT PRICES, 1980s
- Walt Disney World ticket prices, 1980-1989Prices for Magic Kingdom, River Country, Discovery Island, etc. Source: AllEars.net
- Music album prices, 1985Billboard magazine article discusses price trends of vinyl records and CDs.
- Video movie cassette prices, 1985Billboard magazine listed prices for top selling movies on VHS and Betamax. This example shows the week of Mar 23, 1985. See more issues of Billboard magazine.
- Toy prices, 1987Toys "R" Us ad shows prices for the 1987 holiday season. Popular toys include a Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) for $137.97, Sega Master System for $99.99, Atari 2600 console, a Walkman with AM/FM radio and cassette player, board games, and RC cars.
- Concert tickets, 1980This page from Billboard Magazine shows the price of the average concert ticket for the summer concert season. Featured acts include Genesis, Bob Seger, John Denver, Jimmy Buffet, the Grateful Dead, and Peter Gabriel.
FARMING NEEDS - PRICES, 1980s
Transportation costs, 1980-1989
- New car average price, 1970-2020
This data is downloadable as an Excel file. Taken from: Transportation energy data book edition 40 (2022), Table 11.13. See more downloadable data from this source. - Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) for...
- Best-selling cars, 1980
Compares list prices of top 5 best-selling domestic and top 5 imports. Source: Congressional Budget Office. - Popular cars, 1981 and 1987
Lists prices of Ford Escort, Toyota Corolla, Honda Accord, Honda Civic and more. Source: U.S. automobile industry monthly report, Jan 1987, table #9. - Price ranges by manufacturer, 1980-1981
Shows high and low prices for new cars. Source: U.S. Intl. Trade Commission report, pp. 64-73. - Any car or truck
On the J.D. Power website, choose a make, year, and body type, then click "Get Base Values."
- Best-selling cars, 1980
- Car loans - Average amount financed, 1971-2011
Downloadable data from the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. - Used car values, 1980-1982
NADA used car guides show average car values by make, model and age of vehicle.
- Gasoline prices by state, 1983-2010
Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) - Gasoline prices, 1949-2011
"Nominal price" was the price paid by the customer at the time of the transaction. This table shows the nominal price of leaded gasoline from 1949-1990 and unleaded gas from 1976-2011. Source: U.S. EIA. - Diesel prices in select countries, 1978-1990
Shows the diesel fuel prices in the US, Canada, as well as in western Europe and Japan between 1978-1990. Also shows the average annual change over this time period in each country. Source: Transportation Energy Data Book, 12th Ed.
- Car insurance, 1985This table shows the cost of vehicle insurance for the average American household as well as for different households varying by income, age of head, household size, race, and region. Source: Family Economics Review vol. 3 no. 1, pg. 8
- Intercity bus fares, 1983
- Fares for Greyhound Bus, Trailways and other similar carriers were regulated and based on mileage. See fare chart in this National Bus Traffic Association publication.
- Fares for Greyhound Bus, Trailways and other similar carriers were regulated and based on mileage. See fare chart in this National Bus Traffic Association publication.
- Rail transit fare - 1980
- Airfare - Government employee rates, 1983
- Shows one-way fares in the U.S between these cities. These are discounted rates contracted for federal employees. See explanation here.
Inflation and buying power, 1980s
- Consumer Price Index (CPI) Inflation CalculatorCalculates buying power of money at different points in history. For example, $1 in December 1985 had the same buying power as $2.50 in August 2021.
- Calculator: Present-day worth of a past amount of moneyThe MeasuringWorth.com website provides online calculators, guides and tutorials to help researchers understand the current-day value of historic money in the United States, Australia, Spain and the United Kingdom.
- Currency converter, 1270–2017This calculator can be used to determine the historical purchasing power of currency in the United Kingdom from 1270 to 2017. Purchasing power is represented in its equivalence in horses, wheat, the yearly wages of a skilled tradesperson, and others.
What is the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?
"The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of consumer goods and services" with respect to a given base year with value 100. Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics
What is inflation?
As measured with CPI, it is the percent change in the CPI between two different years, showing the "annual percentage change in the cost to the average consumer of acquiring a basket of goods and services". Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
CPI Inflation Formula: CPIx-1-CPIx ⁄CPIx*100
- CPI & inflation rate, 1800-2021Shows both average annual CPI and the yearly inflation rate in the US. The base year for CPI is 1967. Note that all CPI before 1913 is a rough estimate. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
- Consumer price index, 1980-1989Shows the average CPI for all items and urban consumers. The base year is 1982-1984. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- Inflation rate, 1980-1989Shows the yearly inflation rate for all consumer prices in the US. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Consumer expenditures, 1980-1989
- Consumer expenditures, 1986 compared to 2010Simple table shows average annual amounts spent on food, housing, apparel, transportation, health care, entertainment, etc. in 1986 and compares these figures to that collected for the year 2010. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- How family spending has changed in the U.S. - 1901 to 1986-87This Monthly Labor Review article discusses expenditure trends, including a table showing consumption expenditures of urban wage earners for 1901 to 1986-87.
- Household expenditures of single and married parents, 1984-1986This profile on the spending patterns of of single and married parents includes tables showing average expenditures of households and of poor single-parent families (source).
- Income and expenditures of the elderly, 1986-87This article looks at the spending patterns of older households; in includes tables showing money incomes (pages 36 and 39) and average annual expenditures of persons aged 62-74 in the year 1986-87 (source).
- Health care expenditures by the elderly, 1977-1988Chart shows average annual out-of-pocket expenditures for health care by the elderly. Source: U.S. congressional hearing "Health Care Costs for America's Elderly, 1977-1988."
- Out-of-pocket spending on health care - Trends, 1980-1992Includes consumer expenditures for health insurance. Source: Monthly Labor Review, December 1995 issue.
Foreign prices by country, 1980-1989
- Travelers' expenses in foreign ports - early 1980sThe U.S. Navy published travel guidebooks for naval personnel who would be visiting ports as tourists. They tell prices for transportation, hotels, meals, etc. as well as monetary rates of exchange. Prices can appear anywhere in these texts; use the tables of contents to find chapters and page numbers.
- Africa (eastern), including Djibouti, Somalia, and Kenya in 1980
- Brazil (southern) in 1982
- Italy -- Napoli in 1982
- Spain: Malaga and Torremolinos in 1986; Rota and Palma de Mallorca in 1982
- School tuition in foreign countries, 1979-1998K-12 school tuition is listed in the Post Report series, published by the U.S. Dept of State for its employees stationed outside the U.S. Choose a country from the list, then search for the word "tuition" in the volume.
- Gasoline, diesel, household kerosene, etc. - Prices, 1981-1989Shows retail prices of petroleum products by country. Source: International Energy Annual. Prices are available for the following years:
Quotable facts for the 1980s
In the United States...
- Minimum wage was $3.10 per hour in 1980. Source: U.S. Dept of Labor
- Homes had a median value of $47,200 in 1980. Source: Census Bureau
- The Social Security benefit for retired people averaged $294.86/mo. in Jan 1980. Source: SSA
- Coffee cost $3.20/lb. in 1980. Source: U.S. BLS (use drop-down box to select year)
- Tuition, fees, room & board at 4-year, public universities cost an average $2,474 for the 1979-80 school year. Source: U.S. Dept of Education
- A carton of cigarettes (10 packs) retailed for $9.78 in 1985. Source: Dept of Commerce
- TRANSPORTATION
- New cars cost an average $7,591 in 1980. Source: U.S. BEA
- The top selling car in America in 1980 was the Oldsmobile Cutlass, which sold for $6,204 new. Source: MMVA Motor Vehicle Facts & Figures '83.
- Gasoline cost an average 86¢ per gallon in 1980. Source: U.S. Energy Info. Admin.
- 17.5% of U.S. households in 1980 had 3 or more vehicles, compared to 2.5% in 1960. Source: U.S. Dept of Energy
- HEALTH CARE PERSONAL EXPENDITURES
Ask a Question
Marie Concannon, Government Information Librarian
Government Documents Department, Ellis Library
University of Missouri, Columbia
Email: concannonm@missouri.edu
Phone (573) 882-0748
