Library Guides: History, 19th Century U.S.: More Guides & Reference

Featured Books

Thinking Historically: Educating Students for the Twenty-First
Call Number: D16.2 .L48 2008
ISBN: 0802092594
Historical Statistics of the United States by (Available online and in print)
Call Number: Ready Reference Shelves, HA202 .H57 2006
ISBN: 0521817919
The Value of a Dollar, 1600-1865 by (Ellis Library Reference Books)
Call Number: HB235.U6 V349 2005
ISBN: 1592370942

MU Libraries Subject and Course Guides Related to History

Government Documents Guide for History 8211
Created by Marie Concannon, last updated August 2010

Council of National Defense Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Cuneiform Tablets in Special Collections
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Daniel Webster Speeches Collection, 1806-1932
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Fourth of July Orations Collection, 1791-1925
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Frank Luther Mott Collection of American Best Sellers, 1662-1945
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
French Revolutionary Tracts Guide
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Gary E. and Janet J. Venable Antiquarian Atlas & Map Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Government Documents as Primary Sources
by Marie Concannon Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 106 views this year
Historic Textbook Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
History
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 757 views this year
History of Ireland
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 266 views this year
History of Professions and Institutions
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 38 views this year
History of the British Empire
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 105 views this year
History, 17th-18th Century U.S.
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 107 views this year
History, 19th Century U.S.
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 284 views this year
History, Recent U.S.
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 416 views this year
History: Primary Sources
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 1381 views this year
Jacques Flach Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Journalism - Historical Research
by Vera Elwood Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 184 views this year
Martin Luther in Early Modern Germany
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 1056 views this year
Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in Special Collections
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Medieval Scandinavia and Vikings
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 539 views this year
Missouri Historical Documents Browser
by Marie Concannon Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 1844 views this year
Modern Manuscripts and Correspondence, ca. 1700-1992
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
National History Day Resources at University of Missouri Libraries
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 34 views this year
Native American/Indigenous Studies
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 4693 views this year
Negro, Black and African-American Census Reports
by Marie Concannon Last Updated Jul 8, 2024 9301 views this year
Pages from the Past Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Parliamentary Papers at MU
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 310 views this year
Plat Books of Missouri Counties Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Poster Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Primary Sources in African-American History
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 2650 views this year
Resources for Medieval Manuscript Studies
by Kelli Hansen Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 54 views this year
Resources on University and Columbia History in Special Collections & Archives
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 9 views this year
Sanborn Maps of Missouri Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attack Collection
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year
Teaching and Researching Comics and Graphic Novels
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 219 views this year
U.S. Civil War in Government Documents
by Marie Concannon Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 93 views this year
United Nations Papers
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 19 views this year
V.T. Hamlin Collections
by Special Collections Reference Account Last Updated Jun 19, 2024 0 views this year

Reference Works Online

Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Oxford English Dictionary Online contains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present.
Date Coverage: 1150-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Single character: ?; Multiple characters: *

Search Reference Works in Gale Virtual Reference Library

What titles am I searching?