Library Guides: Martin Luther in Early Modern Germany: Home

Reference Books

These reference books are shelved on the first floor of Ellis Library in the Reference Books area.

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: CB5.D52

ISBN: 0684313774
Historical Dictionary of the Renaissance
Call Number: CB361 .N35 2004

ISBN: 0810848678
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by (available as book or e-book)
Call Number: CB361.E52 1999

ISBN: 0813336708
New Catholic Encyclopedia by (available as book or e-book)
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2003

ISBN: 0787640042
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: D114 .O94 2010
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: BR302.8 .O93 1996

ISBN: 9780195064933

Also available in print.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: B51.R68 1998

ISBN: 0415073103

Online Reference Works

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.

more... less...

Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: 2-5

Truncation:
Automatic

Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Project Wittenberg
works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans, from short quotations to commentaries, hymns to statements of faith, theological treatises to biographies

more... less...

created by Concordia Theologicla Seminary
Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachbereich erschienenen Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts (VD 16)
Online index to 16th century prints in German language, maintained by the Bavarian State Library.

Background Readings on Martin Luther

Catholic Encyclopedia (1917) entry on Martin Luther
Compare this entry with the Luther entry in the New Catholic Encyclopedia linked at left.
Important Historical People of Our Time: Martin Luther
Theologian George Wolfgang Forell gives a good synopsis of Luther's life, describes the main aspects of Luther's theology, and lists some of Luther's important writings.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy entry on Martin Luther
Another good encyclopedia entry with a helpful bibliography.
Funeral Sermon for Martin Luther (1546)
Bible of Martin Luther (original page images)
Cornell University has reproduced digitally the pages of Luther's Bible, in the original German of course.
The Trial of Martin Luther: Links and Bibliography
This site focuses almost exclusively on Luther's appearance before the Diet of Worms. A short bibliography is provided as well as a link to a video clip from the 1953 film Martin Luther that featured his trial.

Search Reference Works in Gale Virtual Reference Library

What titles am I searching?

Librarian

Rachel Brekhus

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

168 Ellis Library

(Mon and Fri only). I work from home by default Tuesdays and Thursdays, but come to campus for in-person classes and meetings as needed.

MU faculty and staff can reach me quickly in Teams chat.

Students can reach me using the Email Me and Student Appointments buttons above.

Subjects: Behavioral & Social Sciences, History, Humanities, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Policy, Sociology