History of Ireland: Reference Works

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. For this new edition, all 36,000 lives from the first edition have been completely rewritten or revised-with over 13,500 new biographies added representing all historical periods and including 3,000 new entries on women. Also available in print in the 1st floor reference stacks, at DA 28 .095 2004.

Published in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy, the 9-volume Dictionary of Irish Biography is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical reference work available both in print and online for Ireland. Ellis library has the updated 2009 version, which covers ancient times to 2002.

Covers Irish history and culture from earliest times to present. Contains information on both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, and includes entries on history, politics, economy, geography, anthropology, archaeology, language, literature, and the visual arts. Available online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

A comprehensive overview of Irish history from ancient times to the present. Contains over 1,800 entries, covering all aspects of Irish history, including entries on culture, politics, and society. Also available in print in the reference stacks on !st floor, call # DA912.094 1998.

A wide-ranging compendium of information on Irish history and culture, including entries on history, politics, sports, cinema, and popular culture. Features a large selection of biographical entries, as well as articles on women's history. Includes cross-references and a full index. Available in print in the reference stacks on the 1st floor of Ellis Library.

This book reproduces the texts of the most important documents and speeches in the course of Irish history from 1800 to 1990. Contains 142 documents, from the Act of Union in 1800 to the Republic of Ireland Presidential election results in 1990. An essential reference tool for all students and researchers in modern Irish history.

Hiberno-English is the Irish version of English, as it is spoken in Ireland today.
Ellis Reference has the 1998 version.