Skip to Main Content

History, 19th Century U.S.: Primary Sources: Government

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Missouri Government

Missouri Historical Documents Browser
Historic serial publications of Missouri state agencies from 1835 to 1933
Missouri Digital Heritage
Many individual collections relating to Missouri's 19th-century history: county & city records, black history, women's history, exploration and settlement, maps, military records, photos, sports, transportation and tourism

Historic Map of Missouri

State of Missouri. Department of the Interior, General Land Office, October 2nd 1866. This image is a part of the David Rumsey Map Collection. (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

U.S. Government

For further information about state and federal government sources, see the guides to Federal Government Documents, Missouri Government Documents, and the Primary Sources By Decade page. For Britain and foreign governments that were part of the British Empire, see the Parliamentary Papers guide.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
A vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more.
Date Coverage: 1817-1980

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
HeinOnline
The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. In addition, includes law and law-related periodicals.
Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force.
Date Coverage: 1925-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1600-1970
Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Access provided by the MU Law Library.
Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources.
Date Coverage: 1800-1926
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Search Guide: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MOML?locID=mizzou_law&ste=24

Courts

Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926
Contains trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York that give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
Date Coverage: 1600-1926
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Search Guide: http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MMLT?locID=mizzou_law&ste=24
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Provides digital images on every page of legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
Date Coverage: 1800-1926
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Search Guide: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MOML?locID=mizzou_law&ste=24

Missouri's Judicial Records
Circuit Court and Probate Court records for pockets of years in the 19th Century (St. Louis, Greene County, Jasper County, St. Charles, New Madrid)
Dred Scott Case
The full case history of the Dred Scott Case, which began in Missouri and became a landmark U.S. Supreme Court case.
Missouri's Union Provost Marshall's Papers, 1861-1866
Contains provost marshal court papers, orders, passes, paroles, oaths of allegiance to the United States, transportation permits, and claims for compensation for property used or destroyed by military forces

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2024 10:05 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/19thcenturyus
Print Page

Subjects: Behavioral & Social Sciences, History, Humanities

Tags: history, social sciences, subject guides, united states