Library Guides: Native American/Indigenous Studies: Art

Keywords & Subject Terms

Keywords:

Native American
American Indian
Indian
First Nations
Indigenous
Specific Tribe Name. e.g. Osage, Cherokee, Apache, etc.
Type of Art. e.g. Basket Weaving, Beadwork, Pottery

Library of Congress Subject Terms:

Search Tips:

Keep in mind that Native American names may be spelled differently in different databases, e.g. Awa Tsireh OR Awatsireh
Native American Names may not have the last name, first name structure, e.g. Dat So La Lee
Native American authors may have more than one name, e.g. Kenojuak OR Kenojuak Ashevak
Tribe names may be differently spelled, e.g. Kwakwaka'wakw OR Kwagiutl OR Kwakiutl

Online Resources

Art Full Text
An art research database containing full-text art journals, books, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. It covers art history, design, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Date Coverage: 1984-date

Maximum Users: 4 pooled users.

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/AFT
Bibliography of the History of Art
Provides a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of art, including art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs and articles from thousands of periodicals in many languages. Encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.
Free access provided by The Getty.

Date Coverage: 1973-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

User's Guide: https://www.getty.edu/research/tools/bha/
International Bibliography of Art
Indexes scholarly literature on art.
Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2008-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
ARTStor
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. Integrated with JSTOR, which includes access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee.

Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: _

User's Guide: https://guides.jstor.org/images

Native Peoples Magazine
Dedicated to the art, history, culture and contemporary "Life Ways" of Native Americans.

Recommended Books

Shapeshifting

Interventions

No Deal!

The Indian Craze

North American Indian Art

Museums

National Museum of the American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian is located in both Washington, D.C. and New York. The museum houses one of the largest and most diverse collection of tribal artifacts with the cooperation of hundreds of tribes throughout the Western hemisphere.
more...less...
Under the head of the Smithsonian Institution.
Gilcrease Museum
The Gilcrease Museum in Tulsa, OK houses the world's largest collection of art and artifacts of the American West as well as an extremely large collection of Native American art and artifacts.
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
Located in Kansas City, MO the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art features over 200 unique items belonging to tribes across the United States.