Library Guides: Native American/Indigenous Studies: Rural Sociology

Keywords & Subject Terms

Keywords:

Native American
American Indian
Indian
First Nations
Indigenous
Specific Tribe Name. e.g. Osage, Cherokee, Apache, etc.

Library of Congress Subject Terms:

Indigenous Peoples
Indians of North America
Indian
Indians
Name of specific tribe
Name of specific war or conflict
Whites--Relations with Indians

Search Tips:

Keep in mind that Native American names may be spelled differently in different databases, especially Native Alaskan Names, e.g. Tivi Etok or Tivi Etook
Native American Names may not have the last name, first name structure, e.g. Rain-in-the-Face
Native American authors may have more than one name, e.g. Nanyehi OR Nancy Ward
Tribe names may be differently spelled, e.g. Kwakwaka'wakw OR Kwagiutl OR Kwakiutl

Online Resources

CABI Digital Library
Covers an array of scientific disciplines such as forestry, human health & nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, recreation, and leisure.
Includes access to CAB Archives.

Date Coverage: 1900-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://www.cabdirect.org/help/index.html?from=homePage

Help: https://www.cabidigitallibrary.org/faq
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
AGRICOLA
A database produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library that provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife.
Date Coverage: 1970-present

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Plurals: +;Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

User's Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/Agricola

Print Resources

Roots of Our Renewal by Clint Carroll
Call Number: E99.C5 C226 2015
ISBN: 9780816690893
Publication Date: 2015-05-30
In Roots of Our Renewal, Clint Carroll tells how Cherokee people have developed material, spiritual, and political ties with the lands they have inhabited since removal from their homelands in the southeastern United States. Although the forced relocation of the late 1830s had devastating consequences for Cherokee society, Carroll shows that the reconstituted Cherokee Nation west of the Mississippi eventually cultivated a special connection to the new land--a connection that is reflected in its management of natural resources.
Subsistence Economies of Indigenous North American Societies by Bruce Smith (Ed.)
Call Number: E98.S7 S83 2011
ISBN: 9781935623014
Publication Date: 2011-04-16
Biodiversity and Native America by Paul E. Minnis (Editor); Wayne J. Elisens (Editor)
Call Number: E98.B54 B56 2000
ISBN: 9780806132327
Publication Date: 2000-07-15
Exploring the relationship between Native Americans and the natural world, Biodiversity and Native America questions the widespread view that indigenous peoples had minimal ecological impact in North America. Introducing a variety of perspectives - ethnopharmacological, ethnographic, archaeological, and biological - this volume shows that Native Americans were active managers of natural ecological systems.