Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism - Newspaper Research: Missouri Newspapers

Find primary sources for newspapers, find Missouri newspapers, international newspapers, historical newspapers and info on doing newspaper research.

Using this page

This page contains information about Missouri newspapers, both historical and current.

Library Newspaper Holdings by Location

Daniel Boone Regional Library

The Journalism Library has current issues of:

  • Columbia Daily Tribune
  • Columbia Missourian (online through MerlinOne -- see chart below)
  • St. Louis Post Dispatch
  • microfilm of the Columbia Missourian 1908-present

Missouri Digital Heritage - Digitized Missouri Newspapers organized by newspaper, made available by the Missouri Secretary of State

The State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSM)

  • Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers - Use this tool to search for article citations from the Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers. Most newspapers published articles from papers in other parts of the state and covered events that occurred outside their readership area, however specific locations include Boonville, Columbia, Fayette, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson City, Liberty, St. Louis.
  • Missouri African American Newspapers - SHSMO's newspaper collection contains about thirty African American publications. The St. Louis Advance, perhaps established as early as 1881, is one of the earliest known black newspapers published in Missouri. Most of the state's African-American newspapers have been published in Kansas City and St. Louis, but Caruthersville, Charleston, Hannibal, Jefferson City, Joplin, Sedalia and Sikeston have also served as the home of African American newspapers.
  • Missouri Digital Newspaper Project - The State Historical Society of Missouri is pleased to present a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable.
  • Newspapers on Microfilm at the SHSM - Missouri newspapers document events and public opinion from the state’s rural environs to its largest metropolitan areas. The State Historical Society of Missouri has over 56,000 reels of newspapers on microfilm available to researchers.
  • SHSM's Editorial Cartoon Collection

University of Missouri Periodicals

For unofficial alternative press publications that originated on MU campus, please see the 'Underground Newspaper Collections' tab

Where do I find the Missourian?

 

Years

Format

Edition

Location

Searchable Online?

1908-2014

Microfilm

Print

Journalism Library

N

1908, 1909, 1929

Digital (pdf)

Missourian

Missouri Digital Heritage

Y

1908-1916

Digital (pdf)

University Missourian

Chronicling America – Library of Congress

Y

1916-1917

Digital (pdf)

Daily Missourian

Chronicling America – Library of Congress

Y

1917-1920

Digital (pdf)

Evening Missourian

Chronicling America – Library of Congress

Y

1920-1923

Digital (pdf)

Columbia Evening Missourian

Chronicling America – Library of Congress

Y

1926-1965

Bound

Print

Located off-site in the depository

Please contact the Journalism Librarian for assistance

N

1966-1985

Digital (pdf)

Print

Missouri Digital Heritage

Y

2000 to 2020

Bound

Print

Located off-site in the depository

Please contact the Journalism Librarian for assistance

N

2014 to present

Digital

Online only

Online Missourian Search

Y

2010 to present

Digital (pdf)

Print

http://uom.merlinone.net/mx
Username: merlin
Password: missourian#1 

Y

2008 to present

Digital (jpeg)

Print photos

http://uom.merlinone.net/mx
Username: merlin
Password: missourian#1 

Y

2008 to present

Digital (text)

Online articles only

http://uom.merlinone.net/mx
Username: merlin
Password: missourian#1 

Y

Need Help?

There are lots of ways the libraries can support you!

Get research assistance from the MU Libraries' staff via email, phone, or in person at the library. There's also a searchable list of frequently asked questions. You can chat with a librarian 24 hours a day (M-F) and Saturday and Sundays starting at 10 a.m. You can contact your subject librarian to ask questions or to set up an appointment to meet one-on-one

a small icon Call Us: 573-882-3362  |a small icon Text Us Your Questions: 573-535-6818